We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always consistent!”
Review of The Soho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Soho Hotel
Ranked #22 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always consistent!”
Reviewed 25 March 2008

after many stays there over the past couple of years... it's definitely time to post my thoughts.

have stayed for both biz & pleasure - both and all stays being an absolute pleasure.

LOCATION
perfect. walking distance to a lot of central destinations, restaurants, shops, etc. VERY centrally located...love that it's somewhat in a high traffic area...but thankfully "tucked away" off the main road too.

SERVICE
i can't say enough about the fantastic service...A+++. extremely friendly, personal, attentive & accommodating.

ROOMS
rooms are spacious and comfortable. beds are AMAZING. toiletry products are good.

FOOD
only thing i can "complain" about. very exhaustive menu & options, but menu can be confusing and could perhaps be streamlined? some standout dishes...some not so much.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYorkTravelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,191
    186
    31
    9
    9
See reviews for
189
687
86
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lostwithiel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2008

Tucked away at the end of a quiet lane right in the heart of Soho, the three nights here were more than I had expected. From the prompt and friendly check-in, through wonderful food in the restaurant, the Soho lives up to its ratings on Trip Advisor. The style is boutique, and the laid back atmosphere is a perfect antidote to the bustle on nearby Shaftesbury Avenue. Room was very well equipped, spotlessly clean and the room-service breakfast was as good as any I've ever had. Would definitely return.

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2008

The Soho Hotel is fantastic. We stayed here with our three children (7, 6 and 4) and had a wonderful time. I recommend this hotel for anyone, but especially for those with small children. My husband and I loved the attitude of this hotel - we had an early dinner and the children asked for something to draw with. About 10 minutes later they arrived with new crayons they had obviously bought just for the purpose. The junior suite was spacious and immaculate and everything was geared towards making this a wonderful holiday for me and my husband as well as the children. I used to stay at the Pelham Hotel, years ago when I was single and working, and now I really love that the Soho Hotel (also a part of this wonderful hotel group) has got every detail just right. I highly recommend the Soho Hotel,

  • Liked — Wonderful in every respect!
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsBrissenden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2008

The Soho lives up to its reputation as No. 1 hotel in London! Now I see why. The luxury junior suite was comfortable, spacious and very well appointed. The marble bathroom was amazingly roomy with both a shower and deep tub. The service was courteous and professional, as well as friendly. It's expensive, but well worth it!

Helpful?
2 Thank tmhmimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2008

My wife and I spent a few days in London on a "romantic getaway" (i.e. left the kiddies with the in-laws). We could not have asked for a better hotel experience. The head concierge, Sandro, was fantastic, as was the rest of the staff. The rooms were of good size, modern (yet comfortable) and, most importantly, very clean. Flat screen T.V. Room service (available 24 hours) was fantastic -- prompt and responsive. Geat location as well. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Negatives? Not many -- a larger clock in the room would have been helpful. Also, the cordless phone seemed a bit quirky (but I've had similar experiences in other hotels). Bed was a bit firm for my taste. Of course, all of this is nitpicking.

Overall, one of the best hotel experiences I've had in a long time.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigredhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2008

The hotel was everything we expected.

When we arrived at the hotel we was guided to our room that was prepared already.

The hotel was clean and modern.

We was in London for a romantic getaway and Soho hotel is perfect for that.

The location was perfect in the middle of Soho but still in a quiet street.

Me and my girlfriend are lazy and like to spend many hours at the hotelroom. The hotel keeps a large collection of DVD movies that you can easily rent. We did not pay anything to rent movies.

  • Liked — Nice room when compared to what is common in London
  • Disliked — Free DVD rentals
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank visitorfromnorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2008

Stayed at The Soho Hotel based on the recommendations on this website and we were not disappointed. It is a real luxury hotel and our junior suite was fantastic. The room was huge, immaculately clean and very comfortable. It had a big seating area and a lovely bathroom with twin basins and a seperate shower. The bed was really comfortable and we both slept very well. It is in a great location and close to Covent Garden, Leicester Square and Oxford Street. The only tiny criticism is that there weren't tea and coffee making facilities in the room - although we got complimentary chocolates and water.
We would fully recommend this hotel and want to go back already.

  • Liked — Large luxury room
  • Disliked — No tea and coffee making facilities in the room
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amber29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#31 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,116 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Soho
Ham Yard Hotel
Ham Yard Hotel
#36 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#13 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#4 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Soho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Soho Hotel

Property: The Soho Hotel
Address: 4 Richmond Mews, London W1D 3DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in London
#8 Romantic Hotel in London
#22 Luxury Hotel in London
#40 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Soho Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Soho Hotel has 96 individually designed bedrooms, suites and apartments and is situated on a quiet street in the heart of London's entertainment neighbourhood. The Soho Hotel is situated in a quiet street between Dean and Wardour Streets in the heart of London's entertainment neighbourhood. It is surrounded by some of London's best restaurants and bars, vibrant cafes and most exciting theatre and nightlife. Leafy Soho Square is a one minute walk and the city's business district is within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Soho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing