We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool, calm and stylish. London's best small hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Soho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Soho Hotel
Ranked #21 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cool, calm and stylish. London's best small hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

I love this hotel, great location, great style, great service.

Stayed this time on business and booked two rooms for myself and a colleague. Both rooms booked as last minute and they kindly included breakfast when asked.

Arrived early and left bags with the conceige and had a quick drink in the beautiful and relaxing lounge. The honesty bar is well stocked and the waiter/waitress service was friendly and competent.

After a meeting returned back and were shown up to our rooms by the concierge. My room as always was brilliant. Very spacious, huge bed that was so comfortable I didn't want to get out of and a great sense of space, with a sofa, chairs and desk area.

Floor to ceiling windows bring in the light and a well appointed bathroom with amazingly powerful shower, deep bath which I relaxed in whilst watching the in bathroom TV!, and good quality toiletries.

A litte gift and hand written welcome back note from the manager was a perfect touch as is the night time turn down service where they leave a litte spray bottle of relaxing scent on your pillow.

Free wifi and the breakfast was great. Quick service and a huge choice of al a carte options plus tasty fruit, yogurt and fresh bread/pastries. They also bring around a signature smoothy of the day to wake you up.

The bar is always buzzing here although they manage to keep the other public areas calm and serene, so a great mixture.

This was my third visit to the hotel and it always lives up to expectations just like the other Firmdale hotels.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Uktraveller2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,180
    183
    31
    9
    8
See reviews for
189
678
86
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Crendon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Great mews location in the heart of Soho. Front of house quick, responsive and friendly and no snooty-nose staff (well, we met none!)

The room was fabulous, spotlessly clean, spacious and well appointed with a dream mini-bar selection! It is without doubt the best nights sleep I have had in London as the bed was amazing and no noise from other rooms or the outside. Bathroom luxurious and nice extras.

We stay in London a lot, mostly this area and we will stay again.

Thanks guys!

Room Tip: 4th floor was quiet. But really, you can't go wrong here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

My partner treated me to a big birthday surprise in London and he decided that we would stay at the Soho Hotel. Not having stayed there before, I immediately thought stuck in the middle of Soho it would be a small gloomy and drab hotel but at least the location was good.
You can imagine my surprise when I arrived and was warmly welcomed at this superb hotel, it’s simply outstanding!
From the moment we arrived until the time that we left the staff were always extremely courteous and caring, and the bedrooms are stunning with some really lovely quirky features. Although quite expensive to stay, you definitely get what you pay for and this goes right to the top of my list of places to stay and can’t wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

First time in London, we stayed had the Soho hotel for 6 nights. We could not have made a better choice. The room (we were given un upgrade), was large well organised and very comfortable. The staff was welcoming and helpful, but not intrusive.
Upon arrival, our flight was landing really early, we had requested a picnic hamper which was beautifully organised, complete with real glasses, and absolutely delicious food. Thanks to Indre and her team.
We had dinner at the restaurant and the quality of the food and service was excellent.
The location of the hotel was perfect as we were close to everything we wanted to do but at the same time the neighbourhood felt out of the tourist route. Many great restaurants and coffe shops close to the hotel too .

Room Tip: Our room was facing a local pub, but it was never a problem, no noise after 10h00.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie-JoseeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Had the most fantastic stay. The best hotel in London. Decor, comfort, ambiance all to die for. Service is impeccable - staff so helpful, polite and welcoming. You really feel special when you stay hear. Beds so comfortable - had a brilliant nights sleep. Loved the Miller Harris amenities and the mini bar was stocked with out of the ordinary treats. Body oil gift delivered to the room was a nice touch. There is a real buzz about this place. In a great location in the middle of Soho. You absolutely must stay here. Oh and get a soho sensation cocktail at the bar ..........

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo_Fitz_Liv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed this weekend for our anniversary and it was one of the best hotel experiences i have had and definitely the best in London.
The hotel is down a very quiet mews in the heart of Soho just off Dean street. If you want a hotel in the West End it doesn't get any more central than this but the mews itself is very quiet. A perfect location.
As soon as we checked in we were made welcome. We were offered 2 complimentary glasses of champagne (which i must admit i forgot to take up!) and a room upgrade as we were celebrating. The hotel itself was very cool and relaxed and the decor unique and quirky. I am normally a classic hotel person but this place has really converted me to the "Boutiques".
The room was a very good size and again uniquely decorated. The bed was huge and so comfortable that i could have spent the whole weekend in it! The bathroom was also large and very modern. I believe all the rooms are decorated slightly differently which does make the whole experience more special.
We didn't really use the facilities aside from the bar. I was saw the peaceful drawing room and the clever idea of the "honesty bar". I didn't get around to visiting the gym or the cinema but would expect a high standard if the rest of the hotel is anything to go by.
I loved the bar in the hotel. It seemed popular with non residents and i can see why. A wide variety of drinks choices and cocktails and friendly bar staff. Seating around the bar can be hard to come by on a Friday or Saturday evening but it did add to a cool atmosphere.
Breakfast was pleasant, large helpings and plenty of choice. We didn't have any bar snacks but they looked good as well.
All in all a fantastic stay. I am the sort of person who like to try new hotels and never really visits the same one twice but i am sure i will make an exception for this one.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kunal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
173 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

Full disclosure: we are regulars at this hotel but for good reason. The hotel is exquisitely decorated with bright colorful accessories with perfect mix of rustic and modern. The result is relaxation. The reception is pleasant and helpful but the concierge is first class. Hard to get tickets or reservations will be acquired. The various common spaces are also nice with honor bar to living room. You can have tea ther as well. Breakfast in the restaurant is made to order and flexible. The exercise room is small but useful. The screening rooms are great on Sunday afternoon cinema club. See relatively new release in this setting is priceless. The rooms are large and again nicely appointed. The beds are extremely comfortable ( frete?). The bathroom has walk in shower and separate tub. Generally all rooms have a bidet. Given the location, the rooms are extremely quiet. The air-conditioning is also up to USA standards. The staff cannot do enough for you. They could change bath amenities from Miller Harris to something more exclusive. Highly recommend. My only hotel in London hotel.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Johnanddon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#32 of 1,090 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,084 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Soho
Ham Yard Hotel
Ham Yard Hotel
#36 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#14 of 1,090 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,090 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#7 of 1,090 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Soho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Soho Hotel

Property: The Soho Hotel
Address: 4 Richmond Mews, London W1D 3DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in London
#8 Romantic Hotel in London
#21 Luxury Hotel in London
#40 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Soho Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Soho Hotel has 96 individually designed bedrooms, suites and apartments and is situated on a quiet street in the heart of London's entertainment neighbourhood. The Soho Hotel is situated in a quiet street between Dean and Wardour Streets in the heart of London's entertainment neighbourhood. It is surrounded by some of London's best restaurants and bars, vibrant cafes and most exciting theatre and nightlife. Leafy Soho Square is a one minute walk and the city's business district is within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Soho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing