We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Restaurant”
Review of The Soho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Soho Hotel
Ranked #22 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hotel Restaurant”
Reviewed 18 December 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Very good food and great restaurant/bar ambience in a convenient and very cental London location.
Staff warm and friendly.
Good list of cocktails.
Highly recommended.
I have eaten solo there and still amazing!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank DrChristos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,194
    186
    31
    9
    9
See reviews for
189
689
87
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kranj, Slovenia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We stayed for three nights in a deluxe room on the top floor with great views over rooftops towards London Eye and the Shard. Room was beautiful with modern English decor by Kit Kemp whose work you just have to love. They offer a huge selection of free movie DVDs, free wi-fi, complimentary bottle of water with turn down service. Bathroom was impeccably clean with separate shower and great selection of Miller Harris toiletries. All the staff were very friendly, helpful and attentive which made our stay even more enjoyable. Probably the best hotel staff I ever encountered. The food at Refuel bar & restaurant whether it's breakfast or dinner is excellent and not to be missed. The location in Soho might be a problem for guests looking for airy, clean neighborhood but don't let location distract you. If you have a chance to stay in the Soho hotel and it's within your budget - do it!!!

Room Tip: Room 510 on the top floor with a small terrace and nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viki4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed in an apartment in September. The room itself was as nice as any place we've stayed at in the past except that for the price, there is ablsolutely no view worth opening your curtains for other than to get some light. The room was 2200 pounds per night which is $3500 US per night. We've stayed at almost exactly the same level of property elsewhere for around $700 night .... tops. And we've had magnificent views to boot. That said, the room layout was fantastic, the beds perhaps the best we've ever slept in and the staff as profesional, friendly and helpful as you'll ever find. It's hard to believe you could possibly spend much more per night that this, even, in spendy London. I had since checked the Ritz's on Piccadilla prices and they're much less. The hotel is also located in the heart of the Soho district in an area that we found to be pretty filthy and difficult to comfortably stroll because of the crowd s of younger partiers. Who largely all smoked as you past them which is annoying. So I'd love to rate this 5 star but the price to vlaue drags it down and the location is not, shall we say, in the nicest part of London. Expect nothing for a view but warhouses, an ally, and nearby comml buildings.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chablis28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Excellent!! Great location!! Great boutique rooms!

All three above are so true, so if you do have the opportunity and it's within budget go for it!

Due to location DO NOT have a hire car until you're leaving this area, it's just no point or parking from what I remember.




Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HkLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I can only say thank you for a totally amazing room upgrade, the champagne and as always the service, we checked in on Sunday evening, my intention was to stay 1 night while my GF was staying for 2 nights with business meetings Monday and Tuesday.

Upon arrival we were informed we had been upgraded to a two bed/two bath apartment for both nights! I went to work back in Surrey Monday morning and soon found an excuse to leave early and head back into London to enjoy this room for another night!

I will continue to stay here whenever in town.

Thanks again to all the team, the upgrade was excellent, but that aside service never slips anywhere in this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rohas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Without question this is a good hotel - the junior suite we had was very well appointed and maintained with a spacious bathroom and high quality amenities. The public areas and very pleasant with two quiet drawing rooms which contrast very nicely with the permanently buzzing bar and restaurant.
The location is fabulous with access to dozens of restaurants and bars plus Mayfair, Oxford Street, Regent Street and Shaftsbury Avenue only minutes walk away. It is also surprisingly quiet for a hotel in the middle of Soho. The reception staff are also very attentive and friendly.
What's not so good are the prices. I appreciate it's central London but in all of my reviews if the price is right for what you get I have said so. And those reviews include London hotels like the Berkeley and many high-end restaurants. To be more specific: a junior suite of the size we had at £650 per night is toppy, especially given the lack of view (I can only speak for the room we were in clearly, but given the location and how built up it is I doubt any room has what you would call a view. And yes I knew this when I booked it). I've never met anyone who said they thought mini-bar prices were reasonable and the Soho is no exception. Unfortunately with no tea and coffee making facilities in the room it's either the mini-bar or the very expensive room service. I have no problem with paying a premium for room service breakfast and of course expect there to be a service charge. However, £69.60 for breakfast for 2 again seems pretty toppy. Don't get me wrong, its a decent breakfast but we could have walked out of the hotel onto Wardour Street and had breakfast in Cote at half the price for the same quality.
In summary, a very good hotel but could be better value-for-money.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G7YNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We only stayed one night at the Soho hotel for a special event in London. It is a lovely hotel, the rooms are spacious and so comfortable. The staff cannot do enough for you. We would love to go back and stay for longer. Go on treat yourself!

Room Tip: Go for deluxe if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCLEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#31 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,118 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Soho
Ham Yard Hotel
Ham Yard Hotel
#34 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#13 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#9 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#4 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Soho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Soho Hotel

Property: The Soho Hotel
Address: 4 Richmond Mews, London W1D 3DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in London
#8 Romantic Hotel in London
#22 Luxury Hotel in London
#40 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Soho Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Soho Hotel has 96 individually designed bedrooms, suites and apartments and is situated on a quiet street in the heart of London's entertainment neighbourhood. The Soho Hotel is situated in a quiet street between Dean and Wardour Streets in the heart of London's entertainment neighbourhood. It is surrounded by some of London's best restaurants and bars, vibrant cafes and most exciting theatre and nightlife. Leafy Soho Square is a one minute walk and the city's business district is within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Soho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing