We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Style over substance...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Soho Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Soho Hotel
Ranked #18 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Style over substance...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at the Soho's sister hotel on Charlotte street several times and loved it, so when the opportunity arose to book a room at the Soho I jumped at it. Unfortunately the whole experience was somewhat of a let down. Yes the place is beautiful and the rooms are well appointed, but I'm slowly beginning to tire of Kit Kemp's design ethos. Is it boho chic or borderline Cath Kidston?

That's a matter of personal taste obviously, what really disappointed me was the service. After a long days travelling I just wanted a quiet cuppa in my room, not too difficult a request for such a quintessentially British hotel surely? Wrong! I tried every which way to contact room service but my room phone couldn't connect, I then contacted reception and they got room service to contact me. After asking if I could be provided with tea making facilities or would I have to order a pot of tea I was told that yes they could provide a kettle etc. I was never once informed that there would be a charge for this. I then waited 45 minutes to get a kettle and some teabags sent to my room, but when they arrived there was no milk. An hour and half after first calling reception I finally got everything I needed to make my tea.

This may sound incredibly nit picking but at £370 for the night (with breakfast) I'm not sure it's a reasonable waiting time. Adding insult to injury, the following morning I discovered I'd been charged £11 for the privilege! It made me realise that however lovely the hotel, it's got the basics wrong. Yes, there's Krug fizz and fancy popcorn in the mini-bar but God forbid they provide a kettle, tea & a couple of biscuits...

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
9 Thank Robertsdesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,162
    176
    31
    9
    8
See reviews for
187
668
85
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Visited here for Afternoon tea, with my Husband Back in December. I need gluten free & this has to be the tastiest GF food I've had in a long time! Really happy with the service, they were very attentive without overdoing it & interrupting you.
The Sandwich plate was refilled (which is what you want as they are dainty little finger sandwiches). My husbands 'normal' food scored extremely well with him & looked awesome. Highly recommend this afternoon tea to everyone (although i'd rather keep it my secret!!)

Decor was Fantastic, very clean & tidy.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katrina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

London was our first stop from Australia
We arrived at the soho and were so incredibly surprised with the magnificent rooms
They are so comfortable and spacious
The hotels staff are fantastic especially the concierges
We loved it and wouldn't stay anywhere else
Best breakfast in Europe
Thanks for starting our trip off with the best we could have imagined
It was a superb experience

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Feral23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Our room was massive by London standards, and the service was second to none. Did a bit of celebrity spotting. Very cool place to stay. It's not cheap by any standard but would highly recommend if you want to push the boat out.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2,026 reviews
188 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3,797 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Stayed at this very nice hotel, mid week on business. Great decor, friendly service, well appointed room & great breakfast. Really great location in the middle of Soho, but still very quiet.
Would happily return on a weekend with my wife.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leedsaway67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

In the middle of SoHo and yet very peaceful. I am fan of all Firmdale hotels and this one is no exception. Stayed on the third floor, no view, but the room was gorgeous.

The breakfast was great, but there were some unlucky details. The kitchen is open, they offered salmon that morning as a special and I stank of fish afterwards, had to change my clothes.

The breakfast room is rather noisy, and the vibe is very lively, not much for my liking.

Still, I recommend the hotel for it's comfort, interior, luxury toiletries, good service and good food. And most of all for it's location.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heroneya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

We have had a marvellous weekend at this hotel! From the minute we stepped out of the taxi we could not fault this wonderful hotel.The staff are friendly polite and efficient, the bar is brilliant,the rooms are beautiful and the bed is the best we've ever slept in! The decor is wonderful too. Breakfast was excellent too.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank cathiesavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#30 of 1,086 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,050 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#13 of 1,086 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,086 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,650 reviews
Soho
Ham Yard Hotel
Ham Yard Hotel
#33 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Soho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Soho Hotel

Property: The Soho Hotel
Address: 4 Richmond Mews, London W1D 3DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in London
#8 Romantic Hotel in London
#18 Luxury Hotel in London
#40 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Soho Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Soho Hotel has 96 individually designed bedrooms, suites and apartments and is situated on a quiet street in the heart of London's entertainment neighbourhood. The Soho Hotel is situated in a quiet street between Dean and Wardour Streets in the heart of London's entertainment neighbourhood. It is surrounded by some of London's best restaurants and bars, vibrant cafes and most exciting theatre and nightlife. Leafy Soho Square is a one minute walk and the city's business district is within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Soho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing