We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of The Soho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Soho Hotel
Ranked #18 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My husband I stayed here for our wedding 5 years ago and loved it so much that we returned for our 5 year anniversary. It's still as great as ever, the decor is amazing, all the rooms are differently decorated but all equally nice. The drawing room and library are excellent spaces to relax and have a drink. The staff are also really helpful and try to accommodate your every need. There were also some nice touches like when they heard it was our anniversary we were given a complimentary bottle of bubbly in the drawing room and a yummy plate of little pastries to enjoy. Only downside this time around is that there was some building work going on nearby which made it very noisy in the room during the day - this started around 08.30 during weekdays so considering what you pay for the rooms you may wish to check in advance if it's still going on. Overall we love the place - it's not cheap but if you fancy a treat this is the place to go. Also great for celeb spotting if that's your thing.

Room Tip: Check for building work
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jlikestravel199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

584 - 590 of 1,496 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

I great hotel, a bit hidden and not easy to access but what a discovery.
The neighborhood is exceptional, lively, very busy but so attractive.
The rooms a tastefully decorated, the bathroom with an aquavision TV is a real treat.
The service is simply the best.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I recently stayed at the Soho with my wife on a business/vacation trip to London. We have stayed at several great hotels in town (the Langham, Cafe Royal, etc.) but this is our new favorite. No grand facade as it sits in an alley in the middle of bustling Soho, but the location is perfect, especially for theater lovers, and the room and service were outstanding. We will return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BALafayette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed in room 311 (deluxe room) for 2 nights. The room was really lovely, with lots of natural light and space. The room was quiet (surprising for the area), the bed was really comfortable and there were block-out curtains, all making for a great night’s sleep.

It was nice to have a good sized cupboard in the room entry that could hide one of our suitcases, maximizing space in the room.

We though it odd that there was no tea and coffee making facility in the room (it was large enough so not sure why it wasn’t provided). We did manage to obtain a couple of cups and a kettle after a couple of phone calls to in-room dining and housekeeping, though.

The large marble bathroom was the best bathroom we’ve seen in a hotel (and at home) for some time. We enjoyed the beautiful fluffy towels, robes, great products (RikRak, exclusive to the hotel chain), excellent shower (more than ample hot water) and roomy bathtub with tv (although for some reason I kept getting a ‘no signal’ error on the tv).

In room wi-fi worked fine (free).

The hotel’s location is very central for shopping, a lot of key London sights, theatre and transport.

Service was OK. We had time to try the bar before it closed on one evening and it was fine. We didn’t have time to try any food in the bar, nor restaurant. We did however have some time to try the honesty bar in the lounge space on the ground floor which was a very nice area in which to relax and plan a night out.

We did enjoy the art work displayed through out the hotel.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay. We did think the hotel was quite expensive though, even for London, and so we’re undecided if we would stay here again when we’re next visiting London.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jon Potter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The staff really made an really great hotel and restaurant, exceptional. The food was good, west end is on your doorstep, a very stylish decor with a fresh feel made my stay feel like home (or a home I'd love to live in!)

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amit J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

No hesitation in recommending this fun hotel. Was in London for 2 nights on work and the place was great especially in the evenings. Plus lots of dining options close by. A bit obscurely located but once you overcome that it's fine.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank MM8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed for a long weekend on our mini honeymoon and what a memorable experience it was. This is a fantastic hotel in a great location made even more fantastic by their excellent staff!! It would be easy to just reel off many superlatives. Our room was lovely, we were greeted by a complimentary bottle of champagne on arrival, every member of staff was attentive, but not intrusive. The cocktail bar and breakfast were both excellent. In fact we could not find fault with anything, which even with this standard of hotel is a rarity.

We will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PennypieceReadingUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#36 of 1,076 in London
2,293 reviews
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#15 of 1,076 in London
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,076 in London
820 reviews
Holborn
Rosewood London
Rosewood London
#16 of 1,076 in London
1,785 reviews
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,076 in London
2,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Soho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Soho Hotel

Address: 4 Richmond Mews, London W1D 3DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in London
#8 Romantic Hotel in London
#18 Luxury Hotel in London
#40 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £309 - £1,558 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Soho Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Soho Hotel has 96 individually designed bedrooms, suites and apartments and is situated on a quiet street in the heart of London's entertainment neighbourhood. The Soho Hotel is situated in a quiet street between Dean and Wardour Streets in the heart of London's entertainment neighbourhood. It is surrounded by some of London's best restaurants and bars, vibrant cafes and most exciting theatre and nightlife. Leafy Soho Square is a one minute walk and the city's business district is within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Soho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing