We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inspirationally Good”
Review of The Soho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Soho Hotel
Ranked #22 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Inspirationally Good”
Reviewed 24 August 2009

I booked just one nights stay on the Sunday night / movie package for my first years wedding aniversary. On arrival we were upgraded from the suit I had booked to their headline "Soho Suite". Aside from the epic views from the enormous and beautiful rooms, I actually couldn't believe how well they managed to balance the attentive and freindly service with the infromality of staying at a friends house.

Tasteful, elegant and very relaxing. I can't recomend this place highly enough......GO and STAY!!!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lotuspunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,194
    186
    31
    9
    9
See reviews for
189
689
87
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2009

Absolutely brilliant, cannot say enough good things about this hotel. Had drank in the bar previously and wanted to stay the next time we visited London which is what we did.

It lived up to all expectations, we got upgraded when we arrived to a luxury double which was a very large room for London which was spotlessly clean and the bathroom was gleaming. There was a turndown service at night too and towels we had used before going out for the evening were all changed by the time we got back.

The "Refuel" bar/restaurant has a great atmosphere with extremely attentive staff. Although this hotel is 5 star, the staff are extremely laid back and very nice.

Cannot recommend this hotel enough and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slessor24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
361 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2009

I love this hotel, and we stay here whenever we go to London. Previously we use to stay at One Aldwich, but it needed an update so we tried the Soho.

The location is great, walking distance to numerous attractions, including Soho, Leicester Square, Trafalgar Square, Theatre district, Covent Garden etc. It hard to believe the building used to be a car park, the hotel is beautiful, the rooms are great and the bar area is popular in its own right. Its certainly not cheap, but worth every penny. The cocktails in the hotel bar are great and the bar staff friendly, reception are always happy to help and there’s a private lounge for hotel guests if the bar is a bit full

The hotel restaurant is not very popular, so I’d recommend eating elsewhere for some atmosphere (plenty of places nearby). We have had room service and breakfast at the hotel and it’s always been superb, so not sure why the restaurant never seems to be busy - maybe it’s not a weekend place

Anyways, love this hotel! If you are happy with the room rates and you want a quality, friendly well located hotel in London, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riddler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2009

We travelled to London and stayed at the Soho for 4 nights. The check-in procedure was quick/hassle-free and the staff were extremely friendly/efficient/courteous. We stayed in a luxury double room with a balcony overlooking soho/london-eye/roof-tops. Great view of Soho and the room was beautifully decorated with an awesome bathroom. Lots of wonderful ammenities offered with the room as well.
We can't say enough about the service we received at this particular hotel. We have stayed in many 5-star hotels all over the world and the staff at this one were attentive, friendly and outstanding! Had the room service menu once, a late-night snack in the library on another night and then drinks/coffee/dessert in the refuel bar area on another occasion. The food was always fresh and delicious and perfectly prepared. We will be planning another trip into London in the next year or two and will definitely return to this hotel.

Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank G C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2009

Probably the best hotel I've stayed at, and by very far the best in London.

- service is outstanding, always perfect but not stuck up
- everyone seems proud and happy to work there, which is the rarest thing
- rooms are huge by London standards
- decor is cosy and trendy
- breakfast is delicious
- LOCATION
- good gym

Minor issues : wifi is very pricey (they comped half of it spontaneously) and our aircon broke down. The staff really tried everything to fix it late at night.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fabriceleparc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
108 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2009

When I lived in London I used to use the bar here as a quiet little bolt hole from the Soho madness. This hotel really is right in the heart of town, yet somehow not known about so is a great escape. Stayed here for one night on a trip home and I was really delighted by it - the rooms very comfortable (and by London standards huge), the staff couldn't be more helpful, the lounge very cosy for tea. I didn't want to leave really. It is expensive but also characterful, and has none of the snooty condescension that these places sometimes do. Looking forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fikoukla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2009

My husband booked us in at the Soho for our wedding Anniversary. It was wonderful from the start. Our room was not available upon our arrival so we were offered a complimentary tea or coffee in the lounge with which we obliged. The room was very nice and quiet. We had a sunday movie package and were treated to a wonderful night in the cinema. It was a very good package that offered very good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joyfuljo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#30 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,118 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Soho
Ham Yard Hotel
Ham Yard Hotel
#35 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#13 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#9 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#4 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Soho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Soho Hotel

Property: The Soho Hotel
Address: 4 Richmond Mews, London W1D 3DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in London
#8 Romantic Hotel in London
#22 Luxury Hotel in London
#40 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Soho Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Soho Hotel has 96 individually designed bedrooms, suites and apartments and is situated on a quiet street in the heart of London's entertainment neighbourhood. The Soho Hotel is situated in a quiet street between Dean and Wardour Streets in the heart of London's entertainment neighbourhood. It is surrounded by some of London's best restaurants and bars, vibrant cafes and most exciting theatre and nightlife. Leafy Soho Square is a one minute walk and the city's business district is within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Soho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing