We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish, fun, and so luxurious - the Soho Hotel”
Review of The Soho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Soho Hotel
Ranked #17 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2007

Just stayed at the magnificent Soho Hotel as a treat for our 8th wedding anniversary. We live in London, but still wanted somewhere fab to escape to without a long drive, and settled on this hotel. We were so excited, and were not dissappointed. The sitting room is very stylish - a huge room with huge furniture, beautifully designed, every detail thought of. We loved the honesty bar - such an array of choice, everything you could wish for. Games for you to play - chess even, try this after a glass of champagne - a challenge!! The bar was wonderful - we had a cocktail or two of course! The bedrooms are just awesome to use an Americanism! The bed was the most comfortable ever. We had a juniour suite - flat screen, huge bathroom, huge room, sofa, 3 chairs, curtains that block our all daylight. Just perfect in every way. Minibar - again stocked with the best of everything, candles, perfume...even a thong if you had forgotton yours!! The 2 screening rooms in the basement are stunning, Sunday films at 3pm - what a great idea! I would recommend this hotel in every way. I have nothing negative to say at all, breakfast was a treat also. A life experience to remember!

1  Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,512)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,298 - 1,304 of 1,512 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2007

After reading the reviews on here, we decided to book this hotel for a 2 night weekend break. And we weren't disappointed. It manages to have a very cosmopolitan, individual, upmarket feel, but not in the least bit stuffy.

The staff were very pleasant, helpful and efficient. We had a junior suite which was a really good size. Extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean.

Breakfast was good - great choice and quick service. We ate in the restaurant one night too, which was also very good.

The location is different, right in the heart of Soho, but its good to get away from all the touristy spots and there are some excellent bars and restaurants to choose from.

The Soho Hotel will be hard to beat and not sure I would want to stay anywhere else next time we visit London.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rupert25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2007

As other reviewers have stated, the Soho Hotel is incredibly upscale and cosmopolitan without being pretentious. The decor is fun and whimsical, especially the two drawing rooms and the restaurant/bar. We had a lovely double room that had ample space to lounge in. Overall it was very comfortable and chic.

The reception staff is friendly and helpful and they go out of their way to help. The concierge was good, but we were expecting more from a hotel of this caliber. When asked about theater recommendations and music venues in the area, they seemed at a loss for suggestions, which was disappointing, particularly for a hotel in the theater district. Also, upon checking out, we noticed that they had significantly overcharged us for internet usage and laundry services. They took care of it, however, and all was settled.

The location can't be beat--I walked to most places I wanted to visit and when it was too far, I found nearby tube stops. Definitely a prime hotel for visiting London.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank ciaobellaBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2007

From the moment we arrived, we felt that we were valued as customers. All members of staff were extremely helpful, friendly and made you feel very welcome to the hotel. It was noticeable that they all enjoyed working at this particular hotel.

We found this hotel to be extremely comfortable without being overwhelming, as one may find in some larger hotels. There is a relaxed friendly atmosphere, whilst the surroundings are classy and elegant. The lounges had a feeling of intimacy; people were laid-back and relaxing with their feet up and you felt that you were in someone’s country home for the week-end. As the hotel is right in the heart of Soho, it probably has this lovely friendly feeling, because of the association with the media/film industries.

There is some much attention to detail. The flower/plant arrangements were all beautifully arranged and fresh. Whenever seats in the lounge were vacated, a member of staff would clear the table of glasses/crockery and plump up the cushions on the sofas. Nothing was too much trouble for them.

We felt that this was the most relaxing and friendly hotel we have stayed in and that this is due to not only the beautiful surroundings, but also to top-class staff from the front desk right through to the behind the scenes people. We felt so well cared for. Well done – it was a fantastic stay.

David & Anne Watson

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank anneanddavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2007

It was our first stay at The soho Hotel, and we stayed in a Junior Suite. The room was really spacious, and decorated to a very high standard. The bathroom again was huge and really user friendly, all marble etc.. I was a bit disappointed with the lobby area, but the lounge & Library rooms were nice.
The thing that lets this hotel down is the service unfortunately. We never got what we asked for, Ie- we ordered Freshly squeezed juices in our room before breakfast, but it took several phone calls and complaints to actually get them, the tea we ordered, never arrived, Breakfast was incredibly slow, 40 mins to get a bowl of porridge, no toast being offered even though it was included.(although breakfast is very very good here) Its a real shame, as this aspect really lets the hotel down. The location is fantastic, we walked to the Theatres every night and it was an easy walk to both Regent St and Covent Garden & Leicester Square.
If they improve the staff training and maybe employ a few more English speaking staff it has the makings to be a top hotel, however our teenage daughter was in heaven, with all the Celeb spotting!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Swifts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2007

The Soho has definitely become our favorite hotel in London. The quality of the staff, it’s modern, well appointed rooms, the good location close to Trafalgar Square and several Underground stations, continue to make for a perfect stay when we are in London.

We one day plan to stay in the nearby, recently opened Firmdale, but with each perfect stay at the Soho, changing locations just because seem pointless. We love the Soho!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Member in Philadelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2007

We stayed 6 nights at the Soho in early July. We had a wonderful experience. The staff gave us great restaurants and treated us as if we were the most important guest they had. The location was fun as there was alsways something happenning. The room was beautiful and very comfortable. This is the place to stay in London. Concierge staff was great.

Stayed: July 2007
3  Thank JGEsq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#40 of 1,078 in London
2,360 reviews
Holborn
Rosewood London
Rosewood London
#19 of 1,078 in London
1,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,078 in London
2,880 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#13 of 1,078 in London
2,609 reviews
Marylebone
The Langham, London
The Langham, London
#16 of 1,078 in London
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Soho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Soho Hotel

Address: 4 Richmond Mews, London W1D 3DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in London
#17 Luxury Hotel in London
#40 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £325 - £1,429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Soho Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Soho Hotel has 96 individually designed bedrooms, suites and apartments and is situated on a quiet street in the heart of London's entertainment neighbourhood. The Soho Hotel is situated in a quiet street between Dean and Wardour Streets in the heart of London's entertainment neighbourhood. It is surrounded by some of London's best restaurants and bars, vibrant cafes and most exciting theatre and nightlife. Leafy Soho Square is a one minute walk and the city's business district is within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Soho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing