We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Soho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Soho Hotel
Ranked #22 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 26 January 2011

Perfect. Great rooms and beds are the most comfortable I have every stayed in. This hotel is hip but very plush and comfortable - nothing stiff or not functional. Staff is great and helpful. Would stay again and again. Refuel is also great as is their staff - I was sick the first night and they brought me over a pot of tea:)

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golfnut0618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,176
    182
    31
    9
    8
See reviews for
189
676
85
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herts, England
Level Contributor
83 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2011

Just spent two nights at the Soho Hotel - our second visit. The previous reviews say it all. Once again we had a great stay. When we arrived the room we had requested wasn't quite ready. But we were offered coffee in the library and had complimentary champagne later. Our room was ready about half an hour later and as the pictures show was stunning. Would definitely make the Soho our choice of hotel for a stay in London.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mulherin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2011

Have stayed in many 5 star hotels in London including Claridges and The Berkeley- had an overnight stay at The Soho Hotel last night- it was 5 star in every sense. The staff are very warm and nothing is too much trouble- I got the timing wrong for a spa treatment and they were fully booked- without telling me they managed to get a therapist to come in just for my treatment - just rang up to my room and said it was all sorted- it was only when I questioned the lady ( who was brilliant) that I realised what they had done. The rooms are comfortable and beautifully decorated and the public areas are vibrant and have a 'buzz'- particularly the cocktail bar- wonderful. Have already booked our next visit!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LA1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2011

My spouse and I stayed at the Soho Hotel London for Christmas and New Years (13 days) and I have to say it was the best experience I have ever had at a hotel. I have been to London many times and have stayed in all levels of accommodations. With this being the holidays we decided to treat ourselves and stay at The Soho. I am so glad we made that choice. From the minute we arrived we were made to feel like the most special guests they had ever had. Neither of us are posh, but it did not matter, everyone is treated as if they were. The nice thing is it does not come off as arrogant or elitist. I watched how they treated others and the level of service was across the board superb for all guests. The concierge service was the best I have seen. They joked they would get you whatever you needed as long as it was legal...and they did! They had suggestions, maps, reservations and would even walk you to nearby places. With so many things closed for Christmas they were still able to find the things we needed. Top notch!
The accommodations were some of the best I have seen. We stayed in a deluxe room and it was very large for London. The bed was wonderful and we joked that we could not lay on it because we would fall asleep and miss dinner. The bathroom was huge and had all the amenities you would ever need. Service was wonderful from cleaning to turn down service and the extra touch of little surprise gifts left in your room from time to time.
We also used Refuel the onsite restaurant throughout our stay. Kyla was our hostess most days and was a treasure. She remembered what tables we liked and was really kind and friendly to us. Refuel is used by many people in the area and was busy many nights. It had a fun atmosphere at the bar, but they always were able to get you a table if they knew you were a guest of the hotel. We felt bad when we stayed at Refuel some nights instead of going out because it was an event on to itself.
I could go on and on. The bottom line is The Soho is more expensive than some accommodations in London, if you can budget/save and stay there it is so good you might have a hard time going to another hotel on your next trip. That is high praise indeed.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank getaway389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazil
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2011

The Soho is a great, young and lively hotel, yet luxurious and with great service. We were supposed to arrive before Christmas but at the very last minute were not able to show because of the snow storms in the UK. We contacted the hotel that immediately rearranged our stay. We stayed in a junior suite: very spacious, great bathroom, beautifully decorated.The hotel is in a live area, with lots of pubs, restaurants and bars. And most of the London gay community. Across the street from refuel is a brasserie/boulangerie that should not be missed. The Refuel rest/bar in the hotel is great, and visited by nice people from all ages. The bar is quite hype and has great cocktails. The hotel also has a spa (I didnt use it), a small but very nice fitness room, projection rooms... and all the areas are VERY nicely decorated. We arrived there after staying in a Ritz-Carlon and a Firmdale hotels in the previous days... so we were quite spoiled and yet were not disappointed AT ALL. If there is anything to improve, the internet connection in the rooms is not great.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MV2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

Lovely place for a break in London. Hotel great location, room big and gorgeous, quiet setting and very helpful concierge.

Downside - we were disappointed that the "guest only" areas as advertised on the hotel website seemed to be open to anyone and everyone who needed a seat. Especially if the bar was full in the evening or afternoon tea was oversubscribed. This meant that we found it impossible to get a seat to avail of the honesty bar and the ambiance. If an area is advertised as being for guests only it should be for guests only?

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sue2334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2011

We stayed one night at the Soho Hotel for my birthday, from the second we arrived we felt so welcomed, the staff are so so genuinely friendly.

We went to the theatre on the second day of our stay the staff lent us umbrellas, gave directions, ushered taxis, suggested restaurants, if only every where had the level of service The Soho did.

Our room was so spacious, huge bed and fully equipped with everything you could possibly need, we forgot our toothbrushes (silly!) and they had two sets sent up straight away.

The room service was amazing, everything was so yummy!! We wished we would have just stayed in rather than make reservations out.

Our only qualm was we were charged £86 for a bottle of wine we did not drink from the honesty bar we did not step foot in. So just be careful you check all your charges thoroughly because unfortunately some members of the public are rather cheeky...Everything was resolved..after a few weeks of ''investigating''

If you are staying in London you simply must stay here. It's the perfect location, service is outstanding, rooms are simple and cosy, its just wonderful!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1dayIwillFlyAWAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#32 of 1,088 in London
2,080 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#13 of 1,088 in London
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,088 in London
768 reviews
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,088 in London
2,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Soho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Soho Hotel

Property: The Soho Hotel
Address: 4 Richmond Mews, London W1D 3DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in London
#8 Romantic Hotel in London
#22 Luxury Hotel in London
#40 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Soho Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Soho Hotel has 96 individually designed bedrooms, suites and apartments and is situated on a quiet street in the heart of London's entertainment neighbourhood. The Soho Hotel is situated in a quiet street between Dean and Wardour Streets in the heart of London's entertainment neighbourhood. It is surrounded by some of London's best restaurants and bars, vibrant cafes and most exciting theatre and nightlife. Leafy Soho Square is a one minute walk and the city's business district is within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, World Independent Hotel Promotion, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Soho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing