We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here!”
Review of Hotel Olympia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Olympia
Ranked #999 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Of all the places I`ve traveled around the world this has to be by far the most shocking!
Everything was wrong about it from broken beds to exposed carpet nails (see pictures)
The pillows were like rocks, bathroom was tiny and the walls slimy, I`d rather sleep in the tube station than stay in this armpit of London!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sionmatthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

127 - 133 of 414 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2013

Room very clean but definatly too small for two people. No lift and no air con. Very uncomfortable if you are staying in a really hot day, like us. It's cheap, ok for one night in London .
Location was good,only a few minutes walk to station.
Pillows were quite hard and making tea in the thin plastic cups didn't taste too good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mara402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

The romm is in basement. This is my first time to stay in basement room in a hotel. It is definitely not three star hotel. The sidewalk is just beside the small above ground window. You can see people’s feet walking by through the little windon. It is nosiy and hot. The hotel should tell people they will stay in basement room when they book the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnyang88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

On the positive side, the location is great, close to the tube, on the corner of a leafy square & near a clutch of shops, pubs & restaurants. The room was clean, with en suite, hair dryer, soap, clean towels & bed linen & the room cleaned daily. The staff were good & the cost cheap for London. However, there is a reason for the lower price, the room was very shabby & TINY with just a strip of floor space at the bottom & one side of the bed. (The other side of the bed was against the wall.) the furniture was cheap & ricketty & the paintwork grubby. No air conditioning meant it was extremely uncomfortable in the heat, though it did have a radiator so presumably it'd be warm in winter. If you're on a tight budget & can put up with cramped, shabby conditions then it's fine, but if you want a bit more comfort look elsewhere but be prepared to pay a lot more.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5Reddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

The staff here, particularly Disha and Valy, should be working in a 5 star hotel - they are the best hotel staff we have ever come across! They couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome, and were so helpful at all times.
The room was pretty dreadful. Drab and way too hot (no air conditioning), dirty curtains, stained carpet and the tiny loo stank of stale cigarette smoke.
The bed was comfy, though there were strange paint stains on the covers.
There are no tea and coffee making facilities in the room, but a hot drink dispenser is in reception. However, you get 'whitener' to put in your drink which is foul stuff, and should be thrown to the back of Room 101 forever more!!
I really feel for the staff because they are truly exceptional. If it wasn't for them, we wouldn't have stayed for more than 5 minutes, but because of them, we stuck it out for two nights.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I stayed here for one night on a leisure trip to London. I have had my share of bad, smelly hotels in London and in other places, but this one really takes the cake! I was almost afraid to touche the bed and the smell of new paint and mold made my throat dry.

That said, the place is cheap and in a really convenient location, so it can be used as a place to crash for a night, if you don't mind sleeping with your clothes on.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enrico S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

I was travelling in London and booked a budget hotel, which appeared to be Olympia Hotel at Earls Court Square. The building itself was already a big disappointment the closer I was getting to it. The small reception had few staff in it, all gents but in spite of that I had to carry my suitcase on my own to climb the stairs. The room was tiny, TV didn't work, it definitely needed refurbishing and bed had torn mattress on the side and it looked as if it was burnt. Shower was the best part though. Would never book a room there if knew what was going to expect me there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frostedpalace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Venture Hostels
#711 of 1,077 in London
143 reviews
Earls Court
Windsor House Hotel
Windsor House Hotel
#978 of 1,077 in London
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Viking Hotel
#764 of 1,077 in London
696 reviews
Pasha Hotel
#905 of 1,077 in London
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Olympia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olympia

Address: 49 Earl's Court Square, London SW5 9BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #999 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £34 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Olympia 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Olympia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympia Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing