We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location poor hotel!”
Review of Hotel Olympia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Olympia
Ranked #1,007 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We were in room B4 which was literally in the basement. The room was very hot with no way of controlling the heat, there were 4 little windows that went directly onto the street. They could be opened but you were looking at peoples feet as they walked past! The noise from the street was loud all night with cars and people walking past so with the added heat and uncomfortable bed I got about 3hrs sleep!
The room had 2 double and 1 single bed crammed in it with a small wardrobe, a set of draws with an old TV with no reception at all?
The bedding was clean and there were clean towels. The carpets were ripped all over the place with some parts taped down, on one wall was writing in 6" letters spelling I.R.A. There were stain marks on the roof from an upstairs leek and the door wasn't very secure.
It is in a great location for the Earls Court Centre and tube literally 100mts from both but that is it. It reminded me of a bail hostile. The girls on reception were nice and helpful but I bet they get some stick of the costumers.

Room Tip: It would be a bed for a bunch of lads on the booze for football or a gig but that's all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NeilNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 122 of 418 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

The hotel is pretty much what you can expect in London when on a budget. The staff was friendly enough and my small ( really ? in London ? ) room was ok if you only need it for a couple of nights of sleep. Streetnoise and other nuisances were at a minimum, as my room did not face the main road.
Good location, conveniently situated near Earl's Court ( Underground )

Room Tip: Best to try and get a room off the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lombert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

The rooms were VERY cramped. We couldn't even use the wardrobes or drawers as there wasn't room to open them. The central heating was on very high. It was stifling. No plug for the sink, no glasses or teacups just plastic cups although the bedding seemed clean there was only one pillow on a double bed. We kept asking for more but never got any. The hairdryer was also broken. The whole place was a bit naff and dirty.I'm surprised my wife didn't pack up and book somewhere else. Walking from the tube all the buildings looked nice and clean till we got to the Olympia. The paint was peeling off the walls. Only upside is its close to the tubestation. I definitely would not book here again. Far too basic and far too expensive !

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Batmansixtyfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Where do you start - The outside of the building run down and on the verge of being slum looking. The room was filthy, décor drab, condensation pouring down the window, a huge crack in window, plastic cup/spoons, old fashion TV took ages to get to work. Kettle had to be filled with a cup because it was too big to fit under sink tap. Breakfast....what a joke! Continental only offered cereal, juice, toast.
Staff throwing black bin bag rubbish over the wall onto a huge pile of rubbish!
So So bad - thank goodness it was only one night, extremely disappointed and upset as this was a surprise 'treat' booking for my hubby!!

Room Tip: Do not go by star ratings this is NO WAY a 3 star!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeanetteMPyrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
1  Thank Mr T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed here for one night and it was vile.the floor and windows were filthy. The bed had marks on it and was very uncomfortable not to mention the state of the matress. Never stayed in a hotel so disgusting and dirty in my life!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CharlieAEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We spent there 4 nights, but each occasion to enter the room we smelt smoke. The room was too small, and the bed was terrible, definitely not a "double" bed, maximum 1,5!!! Bathroom was OK, towels were changed each day.

Room Tip: This kind of room is not for 2 persons, but 1!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
1  Thank Mester M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Venture Hostels
#710 of 1,081 in London
144 reviews
Pasha Hotel
#914 of 1,081 in London
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Windsor House Hotel
Windsor House Hotel
#981 of 1,081 in London
594 reviews
East End / East London
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#640 of 1,081 in London
600 reviews
Viking Hotel
#802 of 1,081 in London
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Olympia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olympia

Address: 49 Earl's Court Square, London SW5 9BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,007 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Price Range: £36 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Olympia 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Olympia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympia Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing