We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great evening”

Ghostsigns Walking Tours
Ranked #84 of 716 Tours in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Whispers of advertising past are the focus of these walking tours through Stoke Newington (North London) and Bankside (South London), taking in some of London's best ghostsigns (painted signs, fading on walls). These are used to explore local, craft and advertising history through their unique stories and survival against the odds. Described as 'fascinating' by Londonist, the tour will inspire you to start spotting ghostsigns everywhere you go with an appreciation of their history and place in contemporary urban streetscapes. The tour is led by ghostsigns expert and local resident, Sam Roberts, curator of the History of Advertising Trust Ghostsigns Archive and author of numerous articles and book contributions on the topic.
Reviewed 18 August 2014

a great evening spent looking at the rich history that's right in front of us. We even made a new discovery. Highly recommended

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank AdrianRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghostsigns, Owner at Ghostsigns Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thanks and a bonus point for discovering something new on the tour. As with many of these signs it was 'hidden in plain sight'.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 147 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Sam is easygoing and welcoming and full of knowledge about his subject. This tour will permanently change the way you look at urban environments, and I can't imagine a more fascinating way to spend an afternoon in London--for both tourists and residents!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
2  Thank plantastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghostsigns, Owner at Ghostsigns Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thanks, the signs are a truly global phenomenon and I hope you spot many more on your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Having done no research about ghost signs or even seen that many in my life I didn't really know what to expect from the tour. What i got was a very fun, informal AND informative tour about the ghost signs of Stoke Newington, it's amazing how many there are and how they suddenly start to pop out at you once you've seen one.
Sam was an excellent tour guide and provided so many useful facts and stories behind each sign.
I recommend this to anyone, any age, any background, any profession!

2  Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghostsigns, Owner at Ghostsigns Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thanks, it sounds like the tour has been successful in inspiring you to look for ghostsigns elsewhere. Keep spotting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Sam's walking tour of the ghost signs around Stoke Newington was thoroughly enjoyable, filled with fascinating local and social history and brought to life with historic archive photography. Sam has clearly devoted a significant amount of his time to researching each and every ghost sign and relates its history with an infectious enthusiasm. These fading signs have an important place in London's rich heritage. I cannot recommend this tour highly enough.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
3  Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghostsigns, Owner at Ghostsigns Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thanks, I hope that the tours will gradually increase appreciation of these heritage artefacts and help them to survive for the next hundred years...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I have Jack the Rippered, Real Aled and James Bonded my way around London and this walk was by far the most interesting. The tour lasted two hours and was really laid back whilst remaining very enlightening and jam packed. Sam talks about the history, social relevance, and future of Ghost Signs and the area with such excitement. Having stomped my way daily around Stoke Newington for 2 years it was fantastic to see it through fresh eyes and the tour will definitely give you the tools to find Ghost Signs for yourself elsewhere. A really unusual London activity and much more interesting dinner conversation fodder than your standard Ghostbus Tours (which was awful). Well done Ghost Signs 5 stars.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
3  Thank watchglee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghostsigns, Owner at Ghostsigns Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thanks for the feedback, great to be compared favourably to other London tours and I wish you many riveting ghostsign-related dinner conversations in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ghostsigns Walking Tours also viewed

 

Been to Ghostsigns Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing