We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“False advertising & burnt breakfast!”
Review of Cafe Verona

Cafe Verona
Ranked #7,436 of 22,853 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Italian
Neighbourhood: Covent Garden
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Covent Garden
UK
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“False advertising & burnt breakfast!”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

We were staying at the Travelodge across the way and saw that Cafe Verona did a 10% student discount so we decided to have breakfast there.

A full cooked breakfast was £5.95. This was beans, 1 x sausage, 1 x bacon rasher, 1 x fried egg and toast. The breakfast was burnt and I didn't eat the egg or bacon.

When we came to pay we were told that the sign that read "10% student discount" in the window was only for local schools during the week.

This is pretty rubbish advertising and the woman was very rude when telling us and made us feel cheeky! Don't advertise it if you don't mean it!

Rip off and false advertising! I'd avoid! There are plenty of other places for food in the area!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eva1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    16
    4
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Nice Little Spot”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed in Travel Lodge, Covent Garden, across the street is The Cafe Verona, it is quite small but the service was great, very helpful, lots of choice, hot meals, sandwiches etc. had the full english, it was very good, big portion, very tasty, very reasonably priced, if I am ever back in Covent Garden will be stopping in, highly recommend!!!!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank butch447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“brilliant”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

we stayed at travel lodge covent garden and this was a nice little cafe just across the road. the staff are very polite and friendly. we just popped in to get a quick sandwich they also do hot meals aswell and they is alot of choice. we ordered our food and the lady said go sit u can pay when u have finished which i thought was quite nice for a cafe. its not a big cafe but it is nice and i would go again

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank carla w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Value Cafe opposite Travelodge Covent Garden”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I have just returned from a 3 night stay at Travelodge Covent Garden. We were a group of 5 and were immediately welcomed and tables pushed together for us. We had lunch on our arrival, breakfast and a final lunch. We even called in for coffee it was so good. We had pasta, chilli with rice, paninis, jacket potato, full breakfast, bacon butties, smoked salmon and scrambled egg. All the food is home cooked. Eat in breakfast and coffee is just £5.95 and main courses £4.50 to £5. Considering we had fussy eaters in our party they did well to please everyone. For a simple cafe the service was excellent and I fully recomend a visit

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

I visited this modern little cafe whilst wasting some time in the West End. A great selection of sandwich fillings on show plus a good range of hot food on the counter. The staff were interested and helpful with suggestions.

Ended up choosing a bap with egg mayo, chicken and ham and a coffee. Seating area was buzzy but not so close you're sharing lunch with a stranger. Food nicely served and an all in all really good lunchtime.

Helpful?
Thank SuggyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Verona also viewed

 
London, England
 
London, England
 

Been to Cafe Verona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing