We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay, clean but No A/C in Room”
Review of Garden View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Garden View Hotel
Ranked #574 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Nice clean stay, pleasant, good location but no A/c in room which made it uncomfortable if staying in the summer time when it is hot and humid, however nice reception, breakfast, clean and pleasant short stay...

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary05uc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,039)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 1,039 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2013

I was traveling to London with a friend on a limited budget, and after reading the mixed reviews we really were expecting the worst- but Garden View Hotel actually was very good, especially for London and for the price. The location is swell- 5 minute walk from the tube station, area feels safe even at night, and the rooms were not that small (the other reviewers seem to be used to American hotels. This is Europe- we have small beds and our hotels are generally tiny). The hotel was very clean and the beds quite comfortable. Wi-fi was working and we thought the breakfast was fine. The only drawback was that since we traveled in the middle of winter, the rooms got quite cold during the night, and the first two nights we had to sleep with our recently bought fleece onesies. We got it fixed the third night without problems. Despite the cold, the general atmosphere was quite cosy, and there was a kettle and tea cups in the room which was very nice after a long day freezing your butt off in February. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

This hotel is in a very good position near the tube and the neighborhood is very quiet.
The staff is friendly and the rooms are clean but really really small.
Breakfast is ok but very basic (cereal & toast).

Room Tip: Ask for first floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiryMillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

The hotel is very nice situated. Rooms are clean and nice. Breakfast is terrible! Only white bread (toast) with almost nothing to put on..... That's something that they can improve to make the stay of the customers even more pleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

The location is good and the staff are friendly and helpful, bur I think this hotel is quite overpriced for what you get. Our room was basic, bit reasonably clean and the bathroom was nice, although we certainly didn't get much of a "garden view". There is no ventilation, but as long as you can keep the windows wide open that is ok. The worst thing was that the radiator was making a loud noise all night, every day of our stay. They could not or would not do anything about it, nor did they have any alternative rooms or could offer any discount off the price. The breakfast was not much to shout about, just toast with jam or cereal + instant coffee. All in all, I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dokness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Booked two rooms for four nights for a family trip. We don´t need anything luxury, just basic, clean rooms. Read reviews from this web page and thought that´s what we`ll get. The small rooms would be ok, because the location is so good.
The first room was quite was expected, though a little too warm.
The other room was not that good. The floors were in a very bad conditons as well as the bathroom, which wasn´t even so well cleaned.
No kind of air ventilation in the room.
The worst thing was the awful smell in the room, a smell of mould or wet.
I complained and wanted a new room, but was not allowed.
It turned out that there had been a water leakage from upstairs about two weeks before. Obviously the room hadn´t been dried as it should had been.
Luckily it was summer and we could keep the window open all the time.
When I came back home, I had to keep my bathroom accesories for two days in the balcony, because the smell had stained.
I thought that a modest breakfast would be ok, but this "breakfast" showed a total disregard for guests. Luckily again, there is some delis quite near.
Was not worth the price paid. Can´t recommend and would not stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikaR66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

First off the location for this hotel is phenomenal, short walk to the tube and enough close by establishments to get the essentials. Very friendly and helpful staff. However the rooms were not the best, small and in need of a tidying refit. Breakfast was minimal but did the job. I would stay here again on the account of the location and how polite and helpful the staff where.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank MarkMN88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#400 of 1,077 in London
188 reviews
Earls Court
London Town Hotel
London Town Hotel
#559 of 1,077 in London
451 reviews
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#798 of 1,077 in London
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Hotel Rushmore
Hotel Rushmore
#577 of 1,077 in London
476 reviews
Earls Court
Mowbray Court Hotel
Mowbray Court Hotel
#458 of 1,077 in London
382 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#731 of 1,077 in London
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden View Hotel

Address: 29-31 Nevern Square, London SW5 9PE, England (Formerly Terstan Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #574 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £43 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden View Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Garden View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Garden View
Garden View London
Garden View Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing