We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Garden View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Garden View Hotel
Ranked #531 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Hvar, Croatia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Nice location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Great location,just few minutes to the Earls Court station which is not hard to find.The staff were very pleasant,receptionist bring to us first night extra towel. Housekeepers serviced our room every day . Poor breakfast. Missing a fridge in the room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonija2201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    420
    287
    82
    65
See reviews for
211
322
99
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Pros: a double bed for me to stretch out in; right beside Earl's Court tube station; not overly expensive (£180 for two nights); handy for shops, pubs and restaurants on the Earl's Court Rd; breakfast included; off the main road and facing a small park so very quiet; room, bathroom and linen were all clean; lift.
Cons: my room was in the basement so there were no view; the room was long and narrow with the bed at one end and the bathroom at the other and the whole thing smelt of camphor (moth balls); breakfast was limited - fruit juice, cereal and toast; lift was small, holding only two people at a time.
If you could guarantee a room other than in the basement this hotel might well be OK.
I doubt I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Do not accept a room in the basement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chocolate_teapot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

This hotel is in a great location in the Earl's Court neighborhood. Short walk to bars, restaurants, market, laundry, etc. The hotel is across from a garden, a locked garden you have no access to. The bed was comfortable and the room was large. The bathroom was an awful design and the shower water got EVERYWHERE. Housekeeping was seriously lacking, being the weary travelers we were, we got "take away" for dinner and ate at the hotel. We got food on the top sheet and it wasn't even changed over the next TWO days. Also, I split some juice on the coffee/tea tray and it was never cleaned up. I really don't expect much, but this seems like basic housekeeping. The breakfast was truly a joke. There were THREE girls standing around looking at their nails and gossiping as opposed to keeping the breakfast space clean which literally had cereal all over the floors. The other thing about the breakfast was it was literally; three kinds of cereal, white bread to toast, freeze dried coffee, juice, milk, water. Not kidding. My expectations are pretty low, and this place failed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Stayed at Garden View Hotel for 4 nights in August. The rooms are really small,but we were almost out sightseeing the entire day so it was not much of a problem. First we did not get the garden view room, but when checked with the front desk we got a room with a garden view on a higher floor. The room and bathroom were clean and the bed was also comfortable. The breakfast was included in the price and was not a big spread but pretty good to start the day. There is an electric kettle,tea and coffee supplies in the room and they replenish it everyday. The staff is friendly and helpful.
Let me now come to the very important point and that is the location of the hotel. It is conveniently located very near to the picadilly line tube station.You could even take buses to the main attractions from here (I would highly recommend taking a bus as you can see everything from the upper deck of the double decker and dont have to walk much). At the Earls court tube station,take the Earl's court exhibition center exit(on warwick road) and the hotel will be just a 5 min walk. The hotel is in a quiet residential area and surrounded with restaurants and supermarkets all in a walking distance. There is a Barclays ATM just across the earl's court tube station on earls court road.
You can also walk or take a bus to Kensington Palace, Imperial college, Victoria And Albert Museum,Museum of Natural History, Royal Albert Hall ,science museum.
I would highly recommend staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor room,most of the rooms have a garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nandini G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Because of our heavy suitcases, we wanted a hotel on a direct tube line from Heathrow Airport. This hotel is just a few minutes walk from Earl's Court tube station, on the Piccadilly line. Also has free wifi and breakfast. All this for $100 per night (booked on Agoda).

Although the room was tiny, with barely enough room to put our bags, it seemed quite clean. Also I think it's recently been renovated, with new bathroom (though it was tiny too). The breakfast was ok - unlimited cups of tea, toast and cereals.

From the hotel, we walked to Kensington High St, Victoria & Albert Museum, and Hyde Park etc. Also there are lots of restaurants and supermarkets near Earl's Court tube.

I would definitely stay there again, because of its handy location and reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

My friend and I stayed at Garden View for one night and had a triple occupancy to ourselves. The room was a fine size, much different from other hotels I had stayed at in the area. The walls were rather thin, so bring earplugs or ear buds as you can hear people walking in and out and down the halls. We did not have a Garden View room, but one in the basement. It was cheap, a 5 minute walk to Earl Court's tube station, and the breakfast was full of carbs as most London BnBs are. (Think cornflakes and toast) All in all, a decent place for a small amount of money.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krainone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

The desk clerk kept changing the lock code on my room so I couldn't get into it. Then when I would go down to see her she would make up some story like the bath mat was stained or a coffee cup had been chipped and she would then demand I pay her 30 pounds -- cash right then and there!

The staff tried this twice! I demanded to speak to the manager but the cowardly weasel kept ducking me.

Don't stay at the Gardenview. The staff were thieving buffoons!

Room Tip: Thieving Staff ruin stay. Book elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Curt6511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#440 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#842 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Earls Court
London Town Hotel
London Town Hotel
#495 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#744 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Earls Court
Twenty Nevern Square
Twenty Nevern Square
#557 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Jim Hotel
Lord Jim Hotel
#695 of 1,088 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden View Hotel

Property: Garden View Hotel
Address: 29-31 Nevern Square, London SW5 9PE, England (Formerly Terstan Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #531 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden View Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Garden View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Garden View
Garden View London
Garden View Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing