We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY underated hotel-should be higher in ratings !”
Review of Garden View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Garden View Hotel
Ranked #541 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“VERY underated hotel-should be higher in ratings !”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights with 3 young grandchildren in early June.Reception staff couldn't have been more helpful,welcoming or friendly-Ana was exceptional.

Rooms were great with dark curtains and a window that opened ! With the long daylight hours,dark curtains are a must and have no idea why the Garden View Hotel are the only ones with any common sense in the decorating.And having a window that actually opened was brilliant as it was quite warm in London during our stay and we were so sick of the stifling central heating in other places.

Room serviced daily by very friendly housekeeping staff.The instant coffee in the rooms was THE best coffee I tasted in the whole of the UK but have no idea what brand it was.Everything was very clean and fresh.

The free breakfast,whilst very basic,was certainly enough for the average person ie toast,cereal,juice and tea or coffee.

Very family friendly and would be more than happy to stay here again.

Fast and free wifi in rooms.

Just a few very short blocks to Earls Court train/tube station and very close to several other places of interest.

Multiple choices of food places on main road just 2 streets away-everything from KFC to international food restaurants.

If we had to make any negative comment,it would have been the view from our room was of an alleyway however as we were out most of each day,this was no big deal.

Room Tip: Phone and make your booking instead of using internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NannyBSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    425
    295
    87
    67
See reviews for
219
329
103
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texarkana, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We arrived in London from Paris using Eurostar. We used the tube to Earl's Court.Hotel is just a short walk from tube station. Located in a very safe,quiet neighborhood. Finding a Triple room can be a challenge in Europe GV has them. As others have stated the hotel is dated looking but clean and comfortable. There is a lift if taking stairs is a problem.Breakfast is simple but good enough fotr starting the day.Shower is small but not a problem since we were not large folks.Staff was very nice and helpful in giving directions to nearby sights.We were able to store our bags on the last day. They also arranged for a shuttle to LHR. Cost 12 pounds per person.Also, their is a Tesco grocery down the road if needed. Considering the cost of London Hotels I think this was a nice enough place that was safe and comfortable. Would stay here again. Great choice if you prefer to spend your money seeing sights instead of on a room that you will only be in a little.

Room Tip: Not sure it has AC. We used open windows. London tube system very easy to use. Clean and safe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spencerport, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Our experience was garbage view hotel. No garden in sight, Only the back garbage area. Few amenities. Hotel staff was polite but not very knowledgeable about good restaurants or other nearby attractions. Breakfast was included but very minimal, toast, cereal, juice and instant coffee.
Pay a few bucks more and get a better hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrdave2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasil
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

London is an expensive city, but we found a good price on Garden View Hotel, which included a breakfast, simple but enough to start the day.
The room is old, but correct. The location is very good, the hotel is close to Earls Court Station, which leads straight to Heathrow airport, and is also very easy to go to the main points of the city by subway.
One of the receptionists (sorry I forgot her name) was very friendly and helpful and tried to help us speaking some Portuguese.
I recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ABorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a week as a 3 person family. It was purchased as part of a package on Expedia and we were trying to save money vs. spending money on a fancy hotel with ammendities. Every staff member was friendly. The breakfast was simple but adequate. I would have appreciated a meat option, but saving money on breakfast was important as the rest of our meals in London came to $35 - $80 a piece. Ouch. The hotel did not have air conditioning in our room but the windows were capable of providing us cool air.



I would definitely stay here again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed in the hotel for one night in May 2014. The room was quite small with the bed taking up most of the space. However, given the set up was fine for one night. I think I might have found it claustrophobic had I stayed longer. The hotel did offer all the basic amenities one associates with a good in-room service, such as tea/coffee, toiletries, clean towels, hot shower, a television, etc. The staff at the reception desk were very helpful and cheery. The reason I haven't graded the hotel any higher than 'Average' is because the massive disappointment with the breakfast, which was the worst breakfast I have ever had during my stays at a hotel. The hotel served a choice of tea or coffee, white or brown toast, strawberry jam and butter in sachets, orange juice, and cereal and hot milk... fare that one would expect from a home-run service, not a hotel. A really big disappointment.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank encarva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I had read reviews on this place before booking but didn't realise just how small the room would be. Whilst it's in a great location, so close to Earls Court tube and Earls Court High Rd with all the shops, the room was tiny. It fit a double bed with only a small amount of room at the end, so small that my suitcase had to sit in front of the door because it was the only space it would fit. As I was only staying one night I could put up with it, any longer and I would have been searching for somewhere else to stay.
The only other negative was the heating, it was like a sauna throughout the whole hotel. It wasn't cold outside so I'm not sure why they felt the need to keep the heat so high.
On the positive side, it was clean and tidy and the room had everything you would need, for a basic hotel stay.
Breakfast was pretty standard, cereal & toast, nothing special, but enough to fill you up.
The wifi was pretty hit and miss in my room, not sure about the rest of the hotel.
There is lift access to the floors, but as my room was in-between floors I had to carry my suitcases down a flight of stairs to get to it.
As for value for money, anywhere else in the world and I'd say no way, but it's London so what can you expect.

Room Tip: Don't ask for a single, or get a room in between floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pato2777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#398 of 1,067 in London
162 reviews
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#853 of 1,067 in London
717 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#730 of 1,067 in London
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
London Town Hotel
London Town Hotel
#532 of 1,067 in London
434 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Jim Hotel
Lord Jim Hotel
#693 of 1,067 in London
270 reviews
Earls Court
Twenty Nevern Square
Twenty Nevern Square
#567 of 1,067 in London
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden View Hotel

Property: Garden View Hotel
Address: 29-31 Nevern Square, London SW5 9PE, England (Formerly Terstan Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #541 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden View Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Garden View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Garden View
Garden View London
Garden View Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing