We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Budget, adequate ?? ... I'm still not sure about that !!”
Review of Garden View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Garden View Hotel
Ranked #524 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Budget, adequate ?? ... I'm still not sure about that !!”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Small, as in shoe-box ... claustrophobic if that's what budget gets you in London. I'd say pay a bit more and get a 'real hotel'. The bathroom was the size of a closet with bi-fold doors on it. Toilet on left, sink in middle, shower on right and yes, it did have bi-fold doors on it. You had to move away from the toilet to the shower to do the necessary with the tissue as just no space, and we are not large people at all. It was absolutely necessary to keep the window open for air all the time as it was difficult to breathe otherwise as it was very warm in London at the time. Wi-fi was a hit and miss. If you like a place you can go back to for an hour to freshen up and relax before heading out to dinner, this is not the place for you. We knew it would be small, but this place is mico small.

I have to say the staff were polite except in the breakfast room where they refused to give me a cup of coffee to start my day even though it was 10 mins before they should be closing !!

Our room was clean and the bed fairly comfortable, so for that we were thankful. It was a good location Sadly, 'we' won't be making a return visit.

Room Tip: Can't imagine there being a good room in this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    424
    291
    82
    65
See reviews for
214
324
101
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Clean quiet budget hotel situated on quiet sqare behind the hustle and bustle of Earls Court....I had 1st floor balcony single room with tea + coffee, strong power shower, safe....room and bathroom clean comfortable and well decorated....bed a little soft....could open balcony windows at night-time for air....would stay here again....safe, quiet budget hotel for single lady....

Room Tip: Bed a little soft.....but otherwise clean, bright and well decorated....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights and staff at front desk were very helpful. The rooms are small but you are only in them to sleep. The ensuite was basic but clean and had recently been updated although the shower curtains are a nuisance as they allow the bathroom floor to get very wet. The rooms were too warm but the window opened onto the park which was a great view.
The breakfast is very basic, no frills but enough to start the day - Cereal, toast, juice, tea and coffee. The lift is extremely small and there is only one which makes getting out in the morning difficult if you are mobility challenged.
Underground station a 5 minute walk away and it was easy to get to the sights of London. Earl's Court road has shops with restaurants, a couple of pubs and everyday items. Only one stop to the hop on hop off bus.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the park. View great and the windows open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny2602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This hotel was cheap and with the promise of free wifi and a continental breakfast included in the price we thought we'd give it a go. We were "lucky" enough to get a garden view room meaning we had to either bake in our room, or put up with a lot of noise and cigarette smoke as there is no AC and London has been very hot. There seem to be crowds of people who hang around at night and as our room was almost right above the entrance, we had to put up with smokers sitting on the steps. The windows aren't double glazed so even with the windows closed we could still smell the smoke.
The breakfast was NOT a continental breakfast. Rice crispies, cornflakes or museli and toast, is not a continental breakfast. The milk tasted off as did the butter.
I also did not like or understand why we had to leave our key at reception when we left the hotel. There are safes in the room but it still felt very unsecure. The bathroom was tiny and the shower space was laughable. The toilet roll was the cheapest money can buy and almost not fit for purpose. The wifi is hit and miss too which isn't particularly helpful.
The staff are very polite and friendly, and the curtains are black out ones which helps somewhat, but other than that, I have nothing good to say about it. It certainly isn't worth the price we paid (on arrival?). The hotel is also very clean (aside from the opened condom packet that was on our balcony which we aren't allowed on).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catavich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I've been to London many times over many years and for this trip it was perfect and I would stay there again in a heartbeat: I was there solo one night while traveling through London. Very low cost for one of the better boroughs, and a great location close to underground, grocery, restaurants and pubs. Sure it was tiny and nothing fancy, but it had WiFi, an in-room safe, very courteous staff. While I was worried about no AC, the window opens widely and the street is quiet.

If you're in London on a budget or a short stay, this is a great choice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldWanderingMateo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Where do I start, while I was having a shower the water went cold and I had only just washed my hair, toilet roll was cheap as your fingers kept going through, the size of the shower room was tiny the shower curtain got stuck to you while showering.
The television signal was rubbish, only got 1 chanel as the rest froze when you tried to watch, we just had it on for some background noise at night but even though it was free view it foze.
The coffee facilities were not the best, for 2 adults staying all we had were 2 coffee, 2 milk and 2 teabags, I take 2 milk in my coffee so the milk was finished after 1 cup, I did ask the first day for more and got a few more but for a couple of adults staying a few days we thought we would have been left more than 2 every morning.
The hotel was close to Earls Court tube station which was great and was open 24 hours so it did not matter when you came back, there was also free wi-fi but as we were 3 floors up the signal was poor.

Room Tip: I would spend a little more for a better hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights with 3 young grandchildren in early June.Reception staff couldn't have been more helpful,welcoming or friendly-Ana was exceptional.

Rooms were great with dark curtains and a window that opened ! With the long daylight hours,dark curtains are a must and have no idea why the Garden View Hotel are the only ones with any common sense in the decorating.And having a window that actually opened was brilliant as it was quite warm in London during our stay and we were so sick of the stifling central heating in other places.

Room serviced daily by very friendly housekeeping staff.The instant coffee in the rooms was THE best coffee I tasted in the whole of the UK but have no idea what brand it was.Everything was very clean and fresh.

The free breakfast,whilst very basic,was certainly enough for the average person ie toast,cereal,juice and tea or coffee.

Very family friendly and would be more than happy to stay here again.

Fast and free wifi in rooms.

Just a few very short blocks to Earls Court train/tube station and very close to several other places of interest.

Multiple choices of food places on main road just 2 streets away-everything from KFC to international food restaurants.

If we had to make any negative comment,it would have been the view from our room was of an alleyway however as we were out most of each day,this was no big deal.

Room Tip: Phone and make your booking instead of using internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NannyBSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#422 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#834 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Earls Court
London Town Hotel
London Town Hotel
#511 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#734 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Earls Court
Twenty Nevern Square
Twenty Nevern Square
#551 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Jim Hotel
Lord Jim Hotel
#689 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden View Hotel

Property: Garden View Hotel
Address: 29-31 Nevern Square, London SW5 9PE, England (Formerly Terstan Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #524 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden View Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Garden View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Garden View
Garden View London
Garden View Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing