We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It'll do if you are there just to sleep”
Review of Elysee Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Elysee Hotel
Ranked #603 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Guam, Mariana Islands
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“It'll do if you are there just to sleep”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

If you plan on just finding a place to sleep at night, this "motel" will be
Ok. There is nothing else good about this place. Better off at Lancaster hotel down the street for an extra 8 pounds. Glad I wasn't in the room that much. Internet is pretty bad. You had to pay for each device you had. So for example, you had your phone and a pc, you got charged twice. There's a lovely bar across the street that has free wifi that you can use, plus the bartenders are very nice (and pretty). The doors were barely big enough for my luggage to fit in. I did not get a chance to Try the breakfast and the receptionist was not that friendly. The view from my room was staring at a wall of another building.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sterling E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    257
    174
    53
    47
See reviews for
160
209
60
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

A nice older and small Bayswater hotel. Near bus to Victoria station (no 148) although a taxi from/to Victoria is below 15gbp, near Lancaster gate on central line(great for shopping/theatre), just outside entry to Kensington Garden/Hyde park.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank robmars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Unkept carpets, tiny tiny areas- room, reception, lobby, it's just overall like a very average to below average experience. The location and free wifi is the only thing good about it!

In addition- My room was a little higher than road facing and a single woman with a room at that level, one had to be a little extra careful for privacy.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johncey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This is a very nice little hotel in Bayswater. The rooms are very small but clean and well kept. The hotel has a great breakfast for only 5 pounds. Be sure to get your tickets at the front desk before going to the breakfast room. The rates are very reasonable. The hotel is close to Hyde Park and to the tube. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ludwig K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

If you are looking for an affordable place near Hyde Park, close to Tube (with no need to switch lines to get to center of the city!) and bus stop, car rental station, a few good restaurants which have nice and helpful staff this could work for you.
Small hotel, sure not 4-5 star service, but good for those who came to London to be in London, but not the hotel.
Rooms are small, a bit outdated, but clean, have comfortable beds and private bathrooms (very small, but was good for me as I am not a big person). Air-conditioned. Room had a small TV, wi-fi. Note - Wi-fi is limited to 3 devices.
If you have a lot of baggage or need to store it prior to check-in or for a while after you are out - baggage room is available free of charge.
Breakfast in the morning - choices are limited but good.
Special thanks to very helpful staff!
Overall experience - Very Good! And most important - Good Value for the money if you are coming for business or to see the city rather than stay in your room.
I Would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eandys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This hotel gives you a nice deal for it's location (central-ish London). It's a minute walk away from Lancaster Gate Station and Hyde park (the northern part.) Walking through Hyde Park (about 10 minutes) will take you to South Kensington (museums, Imperial College, Royal Albert Hall...) It's about a 10-minutes walk away from Oxford Street (the shopping area). I'd advise taking the Tube if you've got a lot of shopping to bring back though.

I stayed here for 3 nights in a double room that was somewhat small. The bed itself took up around 60% of the room space and my luggage took up most of the remaining free floor space, which meant that I had to get on my bed to access my clothes hanging in the closet. The toilet was rather small as well, but it didn't affect me very much. Nighttime noise from the pub across the road could be heard quite clearly (loudly) despite closing the windows and curtains fully - if you're sleepy enough, the comfortable beds should be of help though!

One last thing to note - wi-fi is FREE but rather slow (as a gauge I tried to write my review in my room on the last day before checking out but I couldn't load the page successfully - I'm not going to be unfair and base my judgement on watching movies or playing games and downloading lots of pictures - all of which I didn't try to do!) *For comparison, I reviewed 2 hotels using their in-room wi-fi in Dorset and the Tripadvisor page loaded smoothly and I could submit the reviews.

Room Tip: Perhaps away from the pub, or higher up
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cngjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, NV
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The only time I've ever done a negative review on a hotel is when we stayed in a hotel in Oklahoma. We had our cat with us, and we put some cat food in a dish for her. Soon, we saw the cat food marching across the rug, carried by large ants headed for the front door. As such, there was the negative review.

The Elysee Hotel in London is a pretty nice place. Clean lobby, clean room, clean breakfast area, and the breakfast buffet was very good for 5 Pounds. My room was a single, with a twin bed that was fairly accessible, but no points off for that because I'm a big guy. Mattress was perfect and I had some good night's sleep on it. Location is great, almost across the street from Hyde Park/Kensington Gardens. There is a pub across the street, and another one, The Swan, which we frequented a couple of times, and it was wonderful. There was even a little grocery store across the street. Bathroom was clean, and the shower was small but clean also. Then why the negative rating? Because the moment you enter the door at the Elysee hotel in London, it is you against the boys behind the desk who are supposed to help you. The attitude is as negative as humanly possible, and you can smell the "Us Against Them (the customer) environment immediately. The "free" wi-fi was free, but only for a certain time. I had three devices, but was told that I could only use one. It was a good connection in the lobby, but on the third floor, it was, at best, in and out. At one point, I could not get the internet for a long period of time, so I went to the lobby to state my case and take my punishment. I tried one device in the lobby with no connection. I then asked the service person at the desk if there was a problem, and was instantly told that yes, there was a problem, and it was with my device. I had another with me, and asked if I could please try that one to see if it would connect. I was told yes, and tried to connect that device, and it did not connect either. My service person proceeded to tell me that there was a problem with BOTH of my devices. I told him that he was wrong, and he said there was nothing he could do. I asked his first name, because this opposing team on the other side of the desk does not wear name tags of any sort. He of course, refused to give it to me. I had had quite enough, and I asked him if I could take his picture for identification to report him to hotel management above him. He said that if I took his picture, he would sue me. That was enough for me. I apologized to him for taking up his time, went up to my room and went to sleep. Take my word. I am not a jerk. I am respectful, and easy to please, and usually try to see things from the other point of view. This hotel is nice. The location, cleanliness, access to the Underground are great. Prior reviews told me that the staff was friendly and helpful. I spent much time in the lobby of this hotel connected to the internet because that was the best connection. I did not see friendly and helpful staff. One thing I noticed was the directions. I don't care if you were trying to get to the sun or the moon, the directions were always the same when someone asked. "Take a right out the door, and then another right, and it is right there", was told to people over and over again. Thing is, I liked this hotel. If they promised new staff, or a staff that has been retrained, I would go back. Oh well!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank djr_nh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
MStay 27 Paddington Hotel
#548 of 1,068 in London
301 reviews
Best Western Mornington Hotel
#419 of 1,068 in London
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rhodes Hotel
#318 of 1,068 in London
1,420 reviews
The Columbia
#530 of 1,068 in London
851 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
The Byron Hotel
The Byron Hotel
#522 of 1,068 in London
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elysee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysee Hotel

Property: Elysee Hotel
Address: 25-26 Craven Terrace | Hyde Park, London W2 3EL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #603 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Elysee Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elysee Hotel is superbly located in Central London's Hyde Park area, an ideal base from which to explore the capital. Privately-owned and recently renovated to the highest standards, this 55 room hotel provides guests with excellent value for money. Rooms are modernly-designed with flat screen TV, air conditioning, WiFi, in-room safe, tea and coffee facilities, and€“ all the modern amenities today'€™s travelers rely on. Triple and quad rooms are available for families and small groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Elysee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing