We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Upgraded!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Goodenough Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Goodenough Club
Ranked #29 of 837 Speciality Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Upgraded!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Arrived here with my mother for 1 night in April as we had tickets to see Blithe Spirit. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a suite overlooking the square. What a fantastic surprise! The room was absolutely gorgeous and we couldn't have asked for more. Staff very friendly and the rooms were spotless. Breakfast was also very yummy if a tad cold. Would definitely recommend!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    195
    56
    17
    12
See reviews for
64
134
62
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We were placed there for a conference and were quite happy. It wasn't flush, but it was pleasant, clean, quiet and good enough. I love the location and would definitely stay again. Breakfast was good. We never tried the hot meals.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krystinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

When first arriving we were later than our original time which had been stated that we arrived by, this did not matter and there were no complaints from the staff as they handed us our keys (You get to choose how many keys you would like for your room). When entering the room everything is neat, in order and clean, they supply you with the usual - kettle, coffee, tea, fridge, TV, shampoo, shower gel, soap. All the facilities within the room worked wonderfully, the only problem was one night the shower wouldn't warm up, we went to the reception told them and they had it fixed within the hour! Sleeping there was totally quiet, due to never being to London before I was expecting it to be very loud as we didn't exactly pay thousands for our stay but it was lovely and we were able to sleep great. There were two staff in particular that helped us a lot during our stay, they were Tom and Ali. They helped book reservations for us, taxi's and helped us find our way round which was totally useful and appreciated! If you're going to get any member of staff's help I suggest these two as apparently when I wasn't there one of the other members of staff was a bit reluctant to help my friend book a taxi for her and my mother as it was only around the corner, we understood that but she is disabled and it is quite hard for her to travel around and that member of staff - I was unable to get their name due to them not wearing name tags - should understand that the customer is always right and that they are there to provide a service. Other than that our stay was wonderful! If I ever visit London again I would stop here again! The breakfast I would suggest that you go to the facilities across the road as they provide continental and full English and this is like a buffet so you able to go up as many times as you want and pick whatever you want, which was useful. The continental breakfast within the hotel shuts earlier on weekends than the one across the road which is open till 12 noon, but you are able to visit the one within the hotel at anytime of the day and they have a coffee machine, books and a computer within the room. Overall a wonderful stay and I would recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: I stayed in the room 694 which was turned into a family room. This room had a double bed and a singl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Very quiet and pleasant location in Mecklenburgh Square. Apparently you can have the use of the private garden in the centre of the square (though mislaying a key will cost you £50).
Friendly and very helpful reception staff. Clean, comfortable room; towels with towelling on them rather than sandpaper; good water pressure in the shower; large and extremely comfortable bed (I am a very poor sleeper and slept like a log). Really, what's not to like?
Only the facilities if you opt for the continental breakfast - there are 65 rooms and the "Residents' Lounge" (ha!) where continental breakfast is served has three tables seating a total of eight people. But I note from other reviews that a good English breakfast is served in the main refectory.
I have had cheaper accommodation in London, but usually noisy, too hot, uncomfortable, or all three. I have no doubt I shall be staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigEd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Superfriendly staff, nice rooms, small bathrooms but ok, great location - very quiet! and delicious breakfast! But be sure to take the breakfast in the main house of the Goodenough College (across the street). Staff overthere is very kind and friendly as well!

Room Tip: Bring switch plugs if you're not from the UK! They might come in handy when your IPhone shuts do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth-ElsH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Positives:
a. Water pressure strong (even on top floor);
b. Towels that still have lots of ‘fluff’ in them;
c. Carpet underlay that still has plenty of bounce in it;
d. Generally, very clean throughout;
e. Remarkably quiet area of London.

Less positives (if one had to be really picky)
a. Stairs only - no lift (stairs to top floor quite narrow)
b. Full breakfast is served in another building (but only a few doors away);
c. Shower cabinet had no soap dish;
d. Housekeeping didn't remake the bed.

As we say, these last remarks are very minor in nature purely to find some areas for improvement. Overall, very pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seebees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

After reading other Trip Advisor revues, I was pleasantly surprised at what I found after booking a 2-night stay. I can't understand why people say this is difficult to find - walking distance from Kings Cross/St. Pancras and Russell Square tube on the doorstep. Yes it's a bit unusual in hotel terms and very much geared up for academia. But, it has 24-hr reception and the rooms are very quiet, one of the best night's sleep I've had in Central London. You need to get a decent rate, Late Rooms or similar - the rack rate is not best value. I recommend avoiding the Mews Rooms, these have extensive glazing which does not feel secure and must be very hot in summer. Having said that, I would stay again.

Room Tip: Avoid Mews Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_B186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#115 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,262 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#249 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,934 reviews
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#72 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The California
The California
#367 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,676 reviews
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#341 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Euro Hotel
The Euro Hotel
#429 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goodenough Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goodenough Club

Property: Goodenough Club
Address: 23 Mecklenburgh Square, London WC1N 2AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 837 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Goodenough Club 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Goodenough Club provides a home from home for visiting academics and those in related professions from all over the world. It occupies 5 fully refurbished Georgian townhouses and a mews which overlook our beautiful Mecklenburgh Sq Gardens, 2 acres of private gardens with tennis court and BBQ area, in the heart of Bloomsbury and a 10 minute walk from the Eurostar at St Pancras. Guests are welcome to join the thriving academic community that has been home to international post graduate students for over 75 years and to attend the talks, lectures and concerts which take place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Goodenough Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goodenough Club Hotel London
Goodenough Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing