We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best thing we've ever done in London”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Regent's Canal

Regent's Canal
Book In Advance
More Info
US$781.39*
and up
Shoreditch Street Art Tour and Workshop
Ranked #174 of 1,589 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Key West, FL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best thing we've ever done in London”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We took the waterbus, but any of the canal tours would be great. You see a totally different side of London. We ended up at Camden Locks, which was another pleasant surprise. Great place for unique shopping.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Lori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    140
    26
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aichwald
Level Contributor
65 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The quiet side of London”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

A walk along Regents Canal is always a delight. Take a break at Primrose Hill and enjoy the view over the city with its fascinating architecture.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ulrike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
91 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A break from the hustle and bustle of Camden Market”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We always make the effort to take this walk whenever we're back to London. The section we walk is kind of short - from Camden Lock to Regent's Park, near the zoo - it takes around 20 minutes. After browsing in the hustle and bustle of Camden market, getting some rest at the gorgeous Regent's park should be a must. The walk is quiet and relaxing, especially on a sunny day. It is nice to check the boats and houses by the canal - the bikers riding fast is the only nuisance, as if it wasn't clear enough in the signs posted throughout the path that pedestrians have priority. I've heard the canal is quite long and has other beautiful sections covering other areas in London, although some parts are closed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank GrazzyCosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
932 reviews
215 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 582 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Whenever I visit London, I make every effort to walk from Camden Market tube to Warwick Avenue tube. The ideal start is an hour wandering around Camden Market, perhaps having a coffee before setting off to walk the canal through to Little Venice. So few visitors are aware that after approximately half a mile, the sound of the city has disappeared and there is only the sounds of the birds and people jogging, cycling and walking. It's an absolute haven. Included in the walk is sight of the aviary at London Zoo, and one might be lucky enough to see animals such as wart hogs on the other side of the canal. The canal has plenty of life on and in it, not least of which is the fascinating mix of long boats, pets, and people enjoying a life on water. The walk can include a detour around Primrose Hill but either way, it's a wonderful and little known gem.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank TrevorHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martigny, Switzerland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“In peace...”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

... after visiting Camden, I propose to walk along this canal... Quite for having time to have a break after the noise and the people in Camden town... Till Euston and St-Pancras, the time to speak about the life, the trip and to look for the wildnature which find a little place to stay...

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank CedricTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Regent's Canal also viewed

 

Been to Regent's Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing