We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and at a good price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hing Lee Chinese Restaurant

Hing Lee Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #5,655 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Good food and at a good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Hing Lee is a pretty standard Chinese restaurant with all the normal trimmings that one would expect: simple furnishings, prawn crackers being brought to your table, an extensive takeaway menu and functional service. However, the food is decent. And for a London Chinese restaurant I would even err on the better side of decent, hence my Very Good review (isn't Trip Advisor cruel forcing people to have to decide between Average and Very Good?!).

I've been a few times and I'll definitely be going make again. That, to me, is testament that I trust their cooking skills and think they are up to scratch.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ncw73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    20
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Mediocre”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Cheap but the food lacked flavour. The restaurant had an okay ambience, but unfortunately the overall experience did not meet expectations.

Helpful?
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Excellent Cantonese food served by knowledgeable and friendly staff. Reasonable prices for central London. A great local eating house with a good atmosphere that encourages repeat visits

Helpful?
Thank Shelto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food, friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

My family and I have been coming here for 20+ years (me solidly for the last six) and I have to say it has never let me down. The food is consistently good. The staff are friendly and are very accommodating (e.g. very helpful with a gluten-free brother-in-law and not putting beansprouts in my noodles). They are very happy to cater for a group, and there is usually space for <4 to drop in. Also very quick if you want a take-away.

Awesome to have a reliably delicious chinese in the area.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sophie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Favourite friendly Chinese”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Been going to Hing Lee for years now. It does everything right that you need from a Chinese. Regular dishes as you would expect, their sizzling dishes are especially impressive. Also, the service is great and the waiting staff and management are so friendly and attentive. Very refreshing for a Chinese restaurant.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank peterffll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hing Lee Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hing Lee Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing