We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As good as they say, but I was a bit miffed by the lady at the cashier.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Liberty

Liberty
Book In Advance
More Info
US$73.98*
and up
Independent Shopping Tour of London with Private Driver
Ranked #17 of 722 Shopping in London
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“As good as they say, but I was a bit miffed by the lady at the cashier.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

With all the wonderful reviews on Liberty London, I got there before it opened, and was delighted by the beautiful designs and patterns all over the store. I also had some tea at the Liberty cafe along with some gorgeous cakes.
Great for gift shopping, especially the chocolates and small gift cards. Not so great for clothes shopping if you are in a tight budget.
It was all fine except for the lady at the cashier at the fabrics department, who talked very condescendingly, corrected what I said (I misunderstood some tiny thing during credit card transaction), did not smile back at all, and did not answer any small talk I offered. It was the worst response I have ever gotten to anyone ever, and I was utterly dissapointed. All other people there were fine, but she was so mean, that it was my last day in London and I left with a horrid, haughty impression of the place.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Florence S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    508
    269
    81
    23
    41
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
166 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Iconic building and store”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Called in a couple of times whilst in London.Beautiful building and inside just as good.

A lot of staff appear to be dressed to impress in a quirky and very individual manner,whilst still wearing the store uniform.Impressive method to stand out.Nothing like it in the provinces.Keep up the style ladies and gentlemen.

You'll need to fill your wallets with cash or extend your credit limits as its very expensive to buy goods.But what the hell it is Liberty's and its the only one of its kind.

If you are a shopper its got to be on your list to visit whilst in London.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank shroppiefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Beauty of Liberty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

This surely must be the most charming and beautiful department store in the world. No matter if you want to buy something or not (and man, can you buy there - the handbag section is worth going there alone, not to mention the wonderful scarves...) it's a Must See in London.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonja H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Style all the way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Just love this department store, style all the way. A lot to be said all staff wonderful and helpful. Walking round just taken it all in, is a wonderful experience and a beautiful building.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Linnylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great tea's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Having been to London Zoo and Hamleys by 3.30 Saturday afternoon 4 adults and 1 child were in need of a refreshment break. London was busy and roads were closed because of a parade. We decided to go to Liberty as nearer coffee shops were busy. Good choice. Liberty's restaurant was on the 2nd floor and although there was a wait of about 15 minutes we were kept up to date with timings and watched them reorganise seating for us. Once seated the service was friendly and efficient. Despite the fact they were busy at no time did we feel rushed. We left feeling relaxed and having enjoyed both the food and the service given. Usually we also make for the craft area of the store but were rushing for trains Thank you Liberty for helping us relax before facing Oxford Street Underground.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Liberty also viewed

 

Been to Liberty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing