We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”
Review of Wigmore Hall

Wigmore Hall
Ranked #297 of 1,656 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Wigmore Hall has been providing London with a unique venue to experience exceptional performances from the world’s leading classical musicians for over 100 years. From contemporary pieces and new commissions, to early music and baroque, and late night Jazz or extraordinary instrumental recitals, Wigmore Hall offers a diverse and supreme range of music and performance at an unrivalled level of excellence. Wigmore Hall is set apart by the intimacy of the experience and the clarity of the acoustic in our iconic auditorium. Nowhere else in London can get as up close and personal to the performers and musicians than at Wigmore Hall. If it is your first time visiting, or your fivehundreth time, each new season is packed with something for every age and musical taste. Come to Wigmore Hall to experience the exceptional world of classical music and intimate chamber performances. Wigmore Hall Learning gives people of all ages, backgrounds and abilities opportunities to take part in creative music making. Our wide range of innovative projects and events connect children, families, schools, young people and adults with music, both in the community and at the Hall.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The Wigmore is one of the things that makes London worth living in. A Beautiful Art Nouveau room with a brilliant acoustic, reasonable ticket prices and world-class chamber music and song. I go as often as possible during the winter months - the Sunday morning sessions can be a particular bargain, and excuse for a lunch afterwards. For major attractions you need to book well in advance, but the website works very well.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    11
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“No excuses for this”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

The setting is wonderful and the acoustics are fabulous. A great venue to see a concert. However, there are no places for a wheelchair user to sit with their companion(s), unless their companion is prepared to sit on a small, uncomfortable little seat obviously meant for a member of staff.

The restaurant staff downstairs were surprisingly rude and unhelpful. We wanted to put two small tables together so we could sit four together and although we were the only customers there, the staff just stood around and watched. We were also informed that they 'don't do table service', even though its very difficult for me to carry drinks as I'm a wheelchair user.

I won't be going back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ripples1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT CONCERT BUT TERRIBLE RESTAURANT”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We went to listen to Jordi Savall, which it was a treat. Before that, we went to the café downstairs and the girl behind the counter was not friendly and she gave us a cup with lipstick marks. I told her about this and she did not even apologised. What a shame. Wigmore Hall is a world famous temple of music but with a café and staff like that people should avoid having a drink there.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank FandangoEspanol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very cosy venue but face to face customer front of house staff a let down!”
Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

We went to the children's concert so specific feedback.

The venue is lovely and cosy.

The concert was very reasonably priced and the performing trio were energetic,engaging,funny and very laid back.

It is an fabulous experience to bring young children to listen to a classical music concert.

The seats are cramped and not great visibility for children if there are a lot of adults in front they do not have enough padded cushions either.

The front of house staff are awful and so bored!!! Totally disinterested.

Except for 1 Scottish chap who was lovely, and the box office chap Michael via email was very pleasant.

I would return as an adult as they offer such an amazing schedule of reasonably priced concerts and have little expectation around the staff.

I read previous reveiwers comments mentioning similar views!

I have feedback to the Wigmore learning dept, interesting to see if they respond!


Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank PaulaPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“A Sunday morning joy”
Reviewed 26 April 2013

The Wigmore Hall is a beautiful music venue in Central London which, as has been mentioned below (so the secret's out - ah well), hosts 11.30am Sunday morning coffee concerts for, at the time of writing, £12.00, including a post recital glass of sherry, a bargain by any standard. These are informal events attended by a broad spectrum of music-living Londoners. Artists consist of an international roster of excellent, and frequently quite distinguished, chamber ensembles and soloists, mainly classical but sometimes jazz and contemporary, performing ambitious programmes. It's a such a delightful way to spend a Sunday morning that one almost hesitates to publicise it, but I imagine it's a particularly nice thing to do solo or with a friend if you're visiting Central London. There is also an evening programme of established international artists. Details may be found and and tickets bought on their website or over the phone, but it's best to book in advance as concerts do sell out.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Windowseatview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wigmore Hall also viewed

 

Been to Wigmore Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing