We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class”
Review of Wigmore Hall

Wigmore Hall
Ranked #275 of 1,648 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Wigmore Hall has been providing London with a unique venue to experience exceptional performances from the world’s leading classical musicians for over 100 years. From contemporary pieces and new commissions, to early music and baroque, and late night Jazz or extraordinary instrumental recitals, Wigmore Hall offers a diverse and supreme range of music and performance at an unrivalled level of excellence. Wigmore Hall is set apart by the intimacy of the experience and the clarity of the acoustic in our iconic auditorium. Nowhere else in London can get as up close and personal to the performers and musicians than at Wigmore Hall. If it is your first time visiting, or your fivehundreth time, each new season is packed with something for every age and musical taste. Come to Wigmore Hall to experience the exceptional world of classical music and intimate chamber performances. Wigmore Hall Learning gives people of all ages, backgrounds and abilities opportunities to take part in creative music making. Our wide range of innovative projects and events connect children, families, schools, young people and adults with music, both in the community and at the Hall.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“First Class”
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

I never go to London that I don't check out The schedule at Wigmore Hall--a first-class venue for classical music. The hall is intimate with wonderful acoustics. Prices are always fair--especially for lunchtime performances. I saw Trevor Pinnock this visit in an evening concert and he was superb. Audience was on the older side with many folks nodding off but who cares! Didn't hear any snoring and the music was wonderful.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judgefoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    11
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“World class performers at a bargain price”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

A beautiful, small hall, with perfect acoustics, this was the ideal venue to enjoy a Sunday morning performance by the Talich Quartet. The Sunday concerts are a bargain at 10 pounds for senior's admission, including a glass of sherry or a cup of coffee after the concert. Book early.
Wigmore Hall has an interesting history. It was built between 1899 and 1901 as the Bechstein (of piano fame) Hall, but renamed in 1917 after being sold to Debenhams at an 'alien property' auction.
I have read comments about the rudeness of the staff, but have to say that those at the box office with whom we dealt were both pleasant and helpful.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jomax100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Take some cough sweets. ...”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We have visited on numerous occasions and the classical music performances are always of the highest standard. The atmosphere seems a bit "stiff" but most people are friendly. One thing that creates tension is the request to "stifle coughs" which is followed by a round of coughs and the unwrapping of cough sweets. You can eat there but we prefer to eat at one of the many other restaurants nearby.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank aki10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Follow up review to children's concert”
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

An update really I put my feedback via email to customer department at Wigmore Hall.

They did respond and the response was fair enough so I am pleased about that. Have no way of knowing how it will change but will attend again and see how it is again specific to Children's Concert at this venue.

Reading the reviews since there does seem to be a pattern of rudeness/unpleasant attitudes with the staff not sure what that is all about perhaps it is a little bit of that trait called arrogance ? Who knows?

I am returning to the Josh Redman concert in September (as an adult visit) but will go for the music and venue and not have any expectation with the staff you never know may be surprised !!

I think it is good that visitors continue to leave honest feedback just encourage all to email WH direct also.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank PaulaPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The Wigmore is one of the things that makes London worth living in. A Beautiful Art Nouveau room with a brilliant acoustic, reasonable ticket prices and world-class chamber music and song. I go as often as possible during the winter months - the Sunday morning sessions can be a particular bargain, and excuse for a lunch afterwards. For major attractions you need to book well in advance, but the website works very well.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wigmore Hall also viewed

 

Been to Wigmore Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing