We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albion House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Albion House Hotel
Ranked #953 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Don't stay here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Booked to stay at Albion in June for jubilee weekend, check in is at a different hotel where unfriendly staff check you into smallest rooms ever, have stayed in London many times but never in rooms this small. Also didn't think rooms were very clean. Friends stayed in the California just up the road,we looked at their rooms and they were much nicer slightly cheaper too.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank holigogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr Patrick P, Manager at Albion House Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Dear Guest

Thanks for your feedback; we read all our reviews and hope to learn from them and communicate with our customners effectively

1. Our rooms are small but are on par for our location and price and budget . Double rooms average 8-10 metres sq.
2. Our rooms are very clean and we spend a lot of time and effort on this essential fact. If there is anything not upto scratch please tell us and well put it right immediately. You were unsure on this point ???

Please tell us immediately if there is anything we can help you with and dont be shy, we will do it for you and we are here to help.

Thanks for your review

Patrick
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    57
    51
    41
    72
See reviews for
30
87
20
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

We stayed at this hotel in July 2012. It was absolutely fine for what we paid. Location is great and very near to tube station. The only problem was we found it slightly claustrophobic but that as our own fault because we were hungover!! Didnt go for breakfast so cant comment on that. Would recommend this hotel for a short stay :-)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traceybb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr Patrick P, Manager at Albion House Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Dear Guest

Thanks very much for your feedback and positve comments

We are looking ti improve and offer the best possible service we can

Many thanks for your review

patrick

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

I booked a weekend in London for my eldest daughter's 40th birthday with her two twin sisters, We had an excellent time not to mention the assistance I received from Patrick and Feisal. I am a bit dizzy and don't know London too well and I must have emailed them at least 10 times and each time I had a great response with all the information I needed with a friendly manner and nothing was too much trouble when we arrived. The rooms were small but beautifully formed with everything you needed. They have all been renovated recently and were superbably clean. The beds and bedding were brilliantly clean and comfy and was great to play my Ipod while us girls were getting ready to go out. It was really close to the station so convenient for the tubes but actually quiet outside apart from the normal sounds of London which you would expect. I would definately stay again and recommend the hotel. Thank you Patrick and Feisal and see you again very soon!!!

Room Tip: Defifnately the Melville part, although they are just adding the breakfast room which will be great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StevieBlanchett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr Patrick P, Manager at Albion House Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Many thanks for the positive feedback ; encouraging to know we are doing a good job

We hope to see you again and look forward to making your next stay more pleasureable than the last

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

We arrived from a long haul flight to find our room not in Albion as we had booked but on the top floor of a nearby hovel. After carrying 50kg of luggage up the narrow staircase we found some tiny room that was supposed to do for me, my wife and baby. Then arrived the portable cot. After erecting the cot, all space on the floor was taken up with our luggage or cot. We were too jet lagged to argue. The double bed was not a double bed. In the room literature they justified this by saying all beds are made to measure in the grade II listed building. However when booking we were misled, we booked a double room with a baby cot but got Harry Potter's room with a window.

And then there was the bathroom. It worked as long as you didn't need to turn around. You couldn't fit a cat in there with you let alone swing one.

Didn't manage to get breakfast as the basement room in which it is served was full with other guests. We were asked if we'd like to wait but our baby said no.

And perhaps the management is not directly responsible for the area but be aware for those with a nervous disposition; there are little charvers trying to act tough hanging out on the square at night and homeless people using the square as a public toilet during the day.

Kings Cross isn't the best area in London which I knew having lived there but really, this hotel is actually a cupboard. Stick to Premier Inn up the road.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jfthornton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Albion House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review

If you require assistance please tell us we can help with this and carry your bags up for you. Our rooms are small but adeqaute for a short stay in central London. You had booked a double room but arrived with 3 people and about 5 large suitcases and required a baby cot which we hapily provided free of charge . Once all of this is in the room there really is no more space available. I would have advised booking a family triple room or quad room for your comfort for an extra £20 . This would have been much more comfortable for you.

We describe all room sizes on our website so all guests are informed about the size of the room that they are booking. We provide all amenitites that you would require in our rooms ; and everything works as expected . If you want to move or change room" like for like " please tell us and we can do this for you without questions. We are always on hand to help.

We are located directly opposite the station our rooms are very clean and we are an economical option to the bigger and pricier hotels.

Thank you for your review and time taken

We are listening to you

Manager
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Perth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

The rooms are TINY!!! We had to turn side ways to get into bathroom. The bed is against the wall and the room heater so if you are on that side of the bed, all night your knee hits the heater and your arm hits the wall. The shutters do not shut out the light so we could almost read by the outside light and the street was very noisy.
We were so disappointed we wanted to move. We were told we had to see the manager if we wanted a refund. We decided not to wait an hour to see the manager and as we had paid for 3 nights, went out for the day. When we got back at 10.45 pm our belongings had been packed in our cases (our passports and money were still in the room in the safe) and the luggage left in the office. There was a refund credit. We had to walk the streets of London with all of our luggage, including three large cases. One hour and 8 hotels later we found a room!!!
DO NOT EVER STAY IN THIS HOTEL!!!!!!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colandlynda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Albion House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Dear Customer

Thanks for your review

You told us in the morning that you wanted to find another option and leave the hotel to find something bigger. We did not charge you a cancelltion fee and refunded your money for the unused nights . We did exactly what you asked . You can not blame us for this at all we only acted upon your wishes and we were extremely fair with you. We also told you that if you wanted we could help you find an alternative solution but you said you would do this yourselves. It was a verfy busy week and there were many other looking for accomdation.

Please note the shutters are black out shutters and you only have to "flip " the louvres up or down to let in or block out light ; its not at all complicated .

The bathroom is 2 metres squared which is above average for a budget hotel in central london and the room is 8.25 metres sqaured also above average for a budget hotel in central London.

You said you had to walk in sideways to the bathroom ( please see above measurements ).

Many thanks

Manager
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodi, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

The photos for this hotel did not correspond with the room we got. A "Double room" is basically a box room with enough space for two pencils to stand side by side, a bed slightly larger than a single. The Wifi does not work in the rooms. Had to get the bed sheets changed immediately on arrival as they were stained (Nice!). The "Breakfast room" is basically 8 tables rammed into a space comparable to the back of a van. It's generally clean and a great location, but very disappointed as the pictures on the site are not what we got.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Albion House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Dear Sir

Thanks for your e mail and review

We listen to our customers and try and act accordingly; and we are always looking to improve

The problem with tripadvisor is that the reviews are anonymous. We can not therefor pinpoint the date you stayed and thus the room you stayed in . You booked one of our 10 double rooms : all our rooms diffrenenciate in size some are therefor larger than others . Our doubles have either a standard ( UK not USA ) double bed or KIng Size double bed . In the UK a standard double bed is 4ft 6 inches wide and a King is 5ft wide . We have both of these types of beds . Our our linen is brought in daily from our Laundry company ; if you are notnhappy we will change it immediately as we did . Our housekeeper checks all rooms daily and our team of cleaning staff is on hand to service all rooms daily . Please let us know immediately if you wish to move room and we can make this happen if avaialble.

Many thanks for your e mail

Manager
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

The hotel is located in a slightly seedy area near Kings Cross. When we arrived we were told the reception was in another nearby hotel. After getting keys to the room and returning to the other location I asked for the wifi password. It did not work in the room, and when I asked about it the employee said it was because I was using a Mac and quickly turned away. However when I went out into the hall I was able to get wifi. My colleagues were not able to get wifi in their rooms either. The bathroom is so tiny you can barely get into it. The street outside was noisy and the breakfast very bare bones.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harmon60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Hotel Melville
Hotel Melville
#741 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Bloomsbury
Wardonia Hotel
Wardonia Hotel
#517 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#539 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#237 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#244 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,915 reviews
Bloomsbury
Howard Winchester Hotel
Howard Winchester Hotel
#738 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albion House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion House Hotel

Property: Albion House Hotel
Address: 29 Argyle Square | King's Cross, London WC1H8AL , England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #953 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Albion House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albion House is a small modern bed and breakfast hotel ; located directly opposite Str Pancras interantional and Kings Cross Hotel.We are superbly located to discover all that London has to offer. We can be reached easily from The Eurostar located at St Pancras International .We focus on offering clean affordable accomodation in a great central London location. Our rooms are small yet they all have en suite bathrooms and amenities such as: Flat Screen TVs; Free WiFi; in room safes and Iphone docks and of course Tea and Coffee making facilities. Our rooms range from singles to Quads. We are focused on cutomer service and cleanliness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Albion House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albion Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing