We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“πολύ καλο!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of St George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St George Hotel
Ranked #501 of 837 Speciality Lodging in London
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“πολύ καλο!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

answering to the previous reviews, i think that you get much more regarding the money you pay. i've been there twice. the receptionist was very polite and helpful. it was clean and quite. very good location and of course very cheap. so dont be mean people, you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S0Ti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    52
    72
    60
    60
See reviews for
58
76
29
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

the good things about this hotel are location (if you want to be close to Paddington) and price (quite cheap given where it is). However the decor is very tired and there was a lot of noise the night I stayed (banging of doors and general mayhem).

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveNewbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Suffolk, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

As per the title. The room was basic, as can be expected. The en-suite was like a toilet and shower in a cupboard in the room. The bed was small and the duvet was too small for the bed. Also breakfast wasn't great and didn't appreciate the 8am bang on the door with it, leave it outside and I will get it when I am ready. You also know when the tube is running as you can hear the trains below.

On the flip side of the coin though the location is great with Paddington station, a hospital and bus routes within minutes. There were also shops bars and restaurants within minutes walk. You also get a front door key so can come and go as you please.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night in Sep 2012. £55 for a single room. Not a bad price for London. Room was tiny but that didn't bother me. What did bother me was the filthy shower. Breakfast was served at 8am whether u want it or not and was a tray of stuff I wouldn't consider to be breakfast items, biscuits etc. Not a bad place to stay for one night if u are on a budget but very basic. Staff were nice tho especially the Polish girl at reception

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jambodave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
101 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

This place was a disappointing end to our time in the UK. We stayed here for 5 nights and it was dreadful. The place is very run down and dirty. We didn't move hotels because we were on a budget. The first thing is, we understand it is an old building, but the stairs are just horrible to climb up- good thing we are fit, heaven help those who aren't.
The next thing was, we were put into a family room even though we requested a double. They wanted us to move rooms after a few nights due to them overbooking themselves. The shower's hot water only worked sometimes and to get it to work, the water had to be left on for 25 minutes before it worked. It was freezing in London at the time and I got sick and so hot water would have been desirable.
The television didn't work very well, in fact it made crackling noises.
The cleaning was done very slap dash. Think only things were moved around to look cleaner. Our bathroom was not touched the whole time we were there.
Breakfast is a joke. It consists of very sugary orange juice, a muffin, chocolate croissant, bread roll with jam and butter. The only thing worth eating was the bread roll.
The attitude of the guy on reception was really bad. He obviously does not enjoy his job!
We are not normally fussy patrons, in fact as are very easy going. But this place was awful and I was very happy to leave the dump.

Room Tip: Not at the top of the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusannahPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
292 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

Was not expecting much to be honest. Decor and furnishings are quite basic and I was expecting the worse when I arrived. Have to say i was pleasantly surprised. Hotel is in a great location. The room allocated to me (as a single traveller) was a treble room so I had plenty of room. It had clean bedding and towels. It was en-suite with free wi-fi and the middle aged guy at the desk was very friendly, helpful and informative. All in all for £35 this was great value. I dont think I will be taking the wife here anytime soon but as a single traveller who really just wants an affordable room with hot water and a comfortble clean bed then this is a good place to consider staying at.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1879fulham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

First of all, the location is great. Close to Paddington station and a 10-15 minute walk to Oxford st.
I have stayed in quite a few of hotels of this type, so my expectations weren't too high. But the size of the single room was still a surprise. Basically, the front door couldn't be opened fully because the bed was already in the way. Not to mention, the staircase got so narrow towards the upper floors that it was a real struggle to get my baggage all the way up.
The room itself wasn't so bad for a few nights' sleep. A bit worn out and dusty, yes, but at least the bathroom was decent and it wasn't too noisy at night. Breakfast was delivered to the room every morning which was convenient, but I myself definitely couldn't tolerate food like that for more than 3 days in a row. Very basic - bread, jam and yoghurt, everything with an expiration date years from now.
On the positive side, the staff members were really nice. I talked to about 3 of them and they were all very willing to help out and solve any problems.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alcl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
St George Hotel
St George Hotel
#680 of 1,090 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Fitzrovia
Saint Georges Hotel
Saint Georges Hotel
#721 of 1,090 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
The Belvedere
#646 of 1,090 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shakespeare Hotel
#626 of 1,090 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Cardiff Hotel
#597 of 1,090 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Falcon Hotel
#659 of 1,090 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St George Hotel

Property: St George Hotel
Address: 46 Norfolk Square | Paddington, London W2 1RT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Hotel Style:
Ranked #501 of 837 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — St George Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your St George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing