We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eeeeeeeeeeeew!”
Review of St George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
St George Hotel
Ranked #529 of 871 Speciality Lodging in London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Eeeeeeeeeeeew!”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Yuk yuk yuk!! Dirty, manky, unclean, crowded, awful interior, clean bed SHEETS mind but just generally unkemp and quite terrible overall. Needs a total overhaul and some tasteful decoration. The continental breakfast on the other hand was quite perfect. Sadly, that was about the only thing going for it. Better elsewhere I say. But perfect location.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jablev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    53
    74
    64
    67
See reviews for
65
79
31
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portstewart, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed here on a city break to London. We arrived in at about 12 o'clock which was earlier than our set check in time. The woman behind the desk was lovely, and allowed us to check in early, giving us our room keys and WiFi code right away.

We were given room 3 on the lower ground, the stairs were a little steep but they weren't annoying. Our room was fine, I was expecting a lot worse after reading some of the reviews on here. The room was clean and the bathroom looked brand new. We were given a kettle, two cups and a television. All of which worked perfectly. The only problem we had the room was that the bed was slightly uncomfortable, and quite hard to lie on, but it was only a minor problem. You could also hear the trains rattling the room, but again it never really annoyed us as we were only in the room to sleep.

The breakfast was nothing special. Two plain baps and jam, some yogurts and a couple of fruit pots, breakfast elsewhere would be better.

And to quote the receptionist whom helped me get into the hotel in the first place, after a few seconds of confusion... "OPEN DOOR NOW!"

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roxanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourton-on-the-Water, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Having read the reviews I was expecting a below standard hotel but this hotel is quite extraordinary. I am shocked that it is allowed to operate as not piece of electrical equipment had a current PAT certificate, there were wires all over the place and it was beyond dirty. The first room we were shown was a large single bed stuck into a nook so that 3 sides were against walls, I said that my husband and I could not fit in the bed. In fairness to the staff we were moved immediately to a quad room. The hotel is really noisy there were children running up and down the stairs until after 3 o-clock in the morning and then at 6.30 the tubes start up again and everything in the room shakes (this is obviously not the hotels fault). The duvet consisted of what appeared to be roofing insulation and eve then it was only about 2 foot long so that your feet were cold. I am not even going to bother to talk about the breakfast. I would have to be in dire straits to stay in this establishment again. I would never take a child there as the wiring and electrics are death traps.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

I recently stayed at St George Hotel on Norfolk Square, and I wouldn't recommend anyone to consider staying there.
1) Rooms are dusty and dirty. All you need to do is check under the bed searching for a lost item and you will discover a decade-old accumulation of dust and dirt.
2) Breakfast is institutional and industrialised. Juice is fake, muffin is old, nothing amusing or interesting.
3) The place is not well-ventilated, so you`re constantly smelling wet rugs...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sergio s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Was a bit wary after reading some of the other reviews but stayed in a small single and it was fine. It was a walk up and the tv didn’t really work, but the wifi was strong and the bed was clean with fresh linens on a seemingly new mattress. The bathroom smelled faintly of bleach and didn’t have hot water the afternoon I checked in, but it was fixed by the evening. They deliver a tray of packaged goods at @8am to be consumed with the tea and coffee that can be made in-room. This is explained when you check-in. Check-in/out itself was quick. All staff were professional and some of the cleaning guys were quite friendly and genial. Location was really convenient for Paddington station. For the price paid, no complaints.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtraveller008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ourense, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Only two out of five because of the cleanliness, maintenance, service, and quality of sleep. The poor maintenance, quality of furniture and the general cleanliness takes quite a bit of the appeal away from this Victorian building, not only the communal area, but also the rooms themselves.

As said in many others reviews, there aren’t any lifts in the hotel so if you’re given a room on the last floor (as in my case) you’ll be testing your strength while walking up those steep steps dragging your luggage behind you. After that, you may feel like Rocky Balboa at the top of those stairs.

The room was just OK. No wardrobe, but enough hangers to keep clothes in a specific corner. The mattresses were thick and very good. Little and old TV. Bathroom with regular shower and basic amenities, more light would have been appreciated.

Quality of sleep. We heard a continuous humming from the very moment we went to bed that must have come from an air-con or similar. It was annoying in the beginning but in the end it didn’t take a long time for us to fall asleep. Of course, that’s because we don’t have many problems falling sleep, it might not be your case.

Breakfast. It consisted of a good selection of bread with butter and jams, biscuits, fruit, yoghurt, juice (mmyeah, not high-quality, let’s say) enough not to be able to finish it all. The down side was that we had to have it in the room after they had left the trays on the floor at the door at 8am. At least we were told they would do that when we checked in. We prepared the hot beverages with the kettle provided.

At this point you’ll probably be wondering why this hotel is still a valid option. Well, they offer bargain rooms, and staying in an en-suite room at a central hotel in London (just across the way from St. Pancras station and near Marble Arch/Oxford street) for £40 is something to be seriously considered.

Room Tip: Don't accept those on the last floor if you have heavy luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank criberico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

Completion dirty from the first floor to the last. Full of dust, the stairs and around the Hotel. In the bedroom was full of dust and a used condom. A mattress are dirty , and hair other people. Two lamps in the shower did not work.
I honestly do not pay the price of the diseases that can be caught here. And is perfect for people who have asthma, to have an attack on the first 5 seconds.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Thyag0_Fig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
St George Hotel
St George Hotel
#668 of 1,069 in London
179 reviews
The Belvedere
#679 of 1,069 in London
437 reviews
St. David's Hotels
#614 of 1,069 in London
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avon Hotel
#879 of 1,069 in London
193 reviews
Fitzrovia
Saint Georges Hotel
Saint Georges Hotel
#753 of 1,069 in London
649 reviews
The Darlington Hyde Park
#222 of 1,069 in London
2,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St George Hotel

Property: St George Hotel
Address: 46 Norfolk Square | Paddington, London W2 1RT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Hotel Style:
Ranked #529 of 871 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — St George Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your St George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing