We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible..Disgusted ...live from the room!!”
Review of Tony's House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tony's House Hotel
Ranked #391 of 579 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 March 2013

so basically what happened is we checked in at 9pm just went up to the room and at first glance everything seems ok , we went out for a meal and when we came back to settle in the room we just noticed that behind the bed there was a box of mouse killer ( see images) that was already very suspicious for us so we just moved the bed to check what else was behind . There was a huge amount of rat dropping all over, tissues, white stains on the sheets(only god know what it is )
We went to complain and the receptionist, informed us that it is a hotel policy to have the rat poisoning in the room ( never heard of that before!!)..When we asked for the money back, the owner only wanted to give us a refund for 2 night instead of 3 !! We did not expect a 5 star hotel with the money we paid..but this utterly disgusting and not safe! Tony himself, the owner of the hotel, was very rude and did not really care of our complaint and he did not even wanted to speak to us on the phone!!
For your own safety do not come to this hotel!!They ruined our holiday!! and we have to stay here for 1 night as now it is 2am!! ...Pray for us.. (16/3/13)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leanne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2013

Four of us stayed here for two nights in two double rooms. We checked in and were given what was called the "penthouse", little did we know we had to walk up 6 flights of stairs to get there with our luggage. The room was tiny and the bed was nothing more than a king size single bed with mould on the mattress and a thin sheet instead of a duvet. There were mouse droppings at the side of the bed and stains on the curtains and bedding and at the bottom of the bed was a half eaten mouldy apple....the shower well you either had to have a freezing cold or scalding hot shower which you could barely fit in and the floor felt slimy as if it had not been cleaned. My sister who stayed in the other room went to complain as her room had loads of mouse dropping everywhere, when she went to reception his attitude stunk his comment was "what do u want me to do about it!" When it came to check out there was no one around to speak to..

I would not recommend this hotel on my worst enemy. AVOID AT ALL COSTS!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weloveholidays1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Alison V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 January 2013

This hotel was grubby, rooms very small. Breakfast was cereal bars and other pre-packed food, on a tray! Please check beds!!! The so called bathroom was a combined unit at the end of the beds. The 24hr reception was non existent, there was a note stuck on door saying it was his birthday.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blue987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Positives: Paid less than £100 for 4 of us in one room (2 double beds) so got what you paid for. 5/10 minute walk from an underground station which got us to/from the centre of London very quickly. On suite bathroom - clean towels, everything seemed to be clean enough in the room. Staff were friendly. Beds comfortable.

Negatives: They failed to tell us we had to climb 3/4 flights of stairs to get to our room which was a pain late at night with lots of luggage - there are no lifts. The room was very small and you barely had room to stand up in the bathroom. The flush mechanism for the toilet fell off after barely touching it. The shower head was broken and so we asked for it to be fixed and came back to find they had just positioned the shower head upright and ended up having to hold the head whilst showering. The mechanism to turn the heating off had broken so we couldn't sleep because we were so hot throughout the night as the heating wouldn't turn off. Not a brilliant location as there was a lot of shouting and possible gunshots heard late at night which was worrying.

Basically if you're going on a one night stay to London and don't want to spend a lot of money then I would recommend the hotel as it is in a good location and is sufficiently clean. However wouldn't recommend if you're staying for more than 1 night and DEFINITELY NOT if you're looking for anything more than average in a hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground/1st floor. They failed to tell us we had to climb 3/4 flights of stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 December 2012

My toilet in Athens is bigger than the room we had stay for 5 nights.And i don't live in Buckingham palace!!! The rooms were so small that we had to move our buggages in order to leave the room! The breakfast was tragic...A disc full of plastic food! The best thing about the hotel was its location.Perfect to discover London.Nothing more!

Room Tip: Ask for a BIG room, if exist!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matthewwww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0 mi away
Dolphin Hotel
Dolphin Hotel
#604 of 1,076 in London
611 reviews
0 mi away
Ashley London
Ashley London
#894 of 1,076 in London
493 reviews
0 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#651 of 1,076 in London
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
St. David's Hotels
St. David's Hotels
#656 of 1,076 in London
609 reviews
0 mi away
Shakespeare Hotel
Shakespeare Hotel
#671 of 1,076 in London
886 reviews
0 mi away
Chrysos Hotel
Chrysos Hotel
#683 of 1,076 in London
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tony's House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tony's House Hotel

Address: 30 Norfolk Square | Hyde Park, London W2 1RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #391 of 579 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: £46 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tony's House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Tony's House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonys House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing