We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little work and could be so much better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Springfield Hotel London
Ranked #981 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

First the +points
1) Got to park outside hotel charge of £15 which I thought was ok
2)The shower in our room 1b was very good
3)There was a fan in the room if it was too hot and the heating worked well
4)Room was a double room with a single squeezed in
5)Nice tv
The bad points
1)Needs some T.L.C
2)Room 1b is right next door to where they serve breakfast so if your a late riser you will be disturbed
3)Rooms even though small are still not as clean as they could be
4)The bed in 1b is the most uncomfortable my wife and I have ever slept in and we have slept in some very cheap hotels
5) This was something alot more serious the mattress in room 1b had a broken spring that stuck out from the side of the mattress,it was needle Sharp and had been covered up when the bed had been made and the mattress was old and stained therefore it was not noticed by myself untill it touched my leg this was at 1.00 in the morning. I told the lady on reception and she seemed really concerned and was going to tell the management and get them to contact me regarding this matter I have not heard anything please look at photos of spring

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

After reading all the reviews on this hotel, I was dreading our stay. I was travelling with 2 other people and had booked a triple room. Upon arrival we was greeted by the friendly receptionist who upgraded us to a family room (4 pax) The room was a good size and airy with 2 single beds and one double bed. The rooms were cleaned EVERY day with clean towels every day. The shower room, yes it was small but it had a toilet, was basin and a mould free shower!. The room came with tea/coffee making facilities which was replenished EVERY day. The TV never broke signal (but we did not go to London to watch TV) The carpets were ALL NEW. The day we arrived the carpet fitters were finishing the reception area. The breakfast room was quite pleasant, TV showing BBC breakfast, the portion sizes of the English Breakfast are small but we were satisfied us until Lunch time. The reports of a fusty smell are ridiculous, we stayed here fro 6 nights and not once did we have any unpleasant smells. I have stayed in many hotels in London and I must admit this is one of the best ones I have stayed in.
People moaning about small bathrooms, narrow walkways and no lifts have to understand that these buildings are listed Victorian buildings so no alterations can be made.
My only gripes about the hotel was no safety deposit boxes but we got by and had a great time :-) This hotel is HIGHLY RECOMMENDED :-)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mistersistershow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield-Team, Manager at Springfield Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Mistersistershow,

Thank you for kind comments. All of us the Springfield Hotel thank you for letting us and our guests know that we have been able to make your stay with us an enjoyable one.In all honesty reviews like yours make our jobs worthwhile, to know that we have succeeded in meeting your expectations and even exceeding them is our only goal.

Your comments have been noted and the following steps have been taken:

Our breakfast portions have been increased

we hope that you will give us the opportunity to be of service again soon.

Ps. I really was not looking forward to starting my response with " We are sorry to hear......"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Let's start with the good thing -
1. Good location - near to London st. and Paddington station
2. The bed was pretty much clean, but very small
3. TV worked
that's is actully.

The room was soo small, and even before i'll start talking about the shower.
very dirty carpet and walls , the bathroom was such shame, i really suffered while showering becuase the water just out of all the impossible holes, it was soo small thats brings claustrophobia and u feel like in airplane bathroom.
the breakfast was fair.

Bottom line , don't recommend this hotel , and i'll never come back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lior t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield-Team, Manager at Springfield Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Lior t,

we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the Springfield Hotel. The issues that you have raised have been noted and we have done our very best to remedy them as soon as possible.

1) You will be happy to know that all the carpets in all rooms and public areas have been replaced.

2) Our private toilet and shower facilities have a historical and architectural history to them. Traditionally bed & breakfast hotels had shared toilet and shower facilities and indeed many still do. In our effort to modernise our hotel and bring it in line with our guests expectations private in room facilities were added to all our rooms. This process naturally comprised the size of the facilities which we could add to rooms, however we are sure that you will agree that private ensuite shower and toilet facilities are the preferred choice of all our guests.

I hope you will visit us again soon so that we can try to exceed your expectations and be of service again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I was booked to stay this B&B from 13 to 17th September 2013. Upon arrival, the receptionist seemed fairly pleasant and but the place was completely run down. As a B&B I did not expect for the place to be of 5 star quality however the place did advertise certain amenities such as free Wi-Fi, a phone in every room and so on. My family had booked a triple, so we climbed the 3-4 flights of stairs and finally got to the room. I noticed some bath mats on the bed ( ones you use to wipe your feet) on the bed but I did not take much notice. Since it was late, we decided to go out for some food, before we went out, we decided to freshen up and noticed that in fact there were no towels at all- only the bath mats! So we tried calling the reception and of course the phone was not working nor the Wi-FI. So after climbing all the way down the stairs we were told extremely rudely that the hotel had got the wrong delivery and they had emailed the supplier of towels last week and that it would probably only come at 3am that morning. I suggested that since they knew we were coming and that we had pre-paid that towels should have been made available however the B&B rep took no responsibility and did not even apologize. I asked to speak to a manager and the person's reply was that no was there until Monday! In addition, the toilet had no form of exhaust and the room was a triple. The toilet did not flush and in fact WI- FI did not work anywhere in the establishment. I am surprised that the UK Toursim authorities would allow such an establishment to operate. Since there was no indication as to when we would get towels and given the un-hygienic nature of the establishment we booked another place and moved out promptly the next day!. Of course there was no re-fund given since the room was pre-paid but I would have thought the owners seeing the inconvenience and utter lack of care their representatives had for paying customers, that at least a part refund would have been provided.

Room Tip: Don't stay in this place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maneka W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield-Team, Manager at Springfield Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Maneka W,

Thank you for your comments. We would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused due to the lack of towels on the day of your stay. We do offer fresh towels daily, however as you are aware on that particular night our supplier had mistakenly delivered bath mats instead of towels and we have taken this issue up with our supplier to ensure that it does not happen again.

We are also reviewing our free WiFi system as a result of your comments. We only ask that in the future if you are unable to access the free WiFi you would inform the reception staff and they would be more than happy to assist you with the login details.

Our telephone system is for internal use only and you can easily contact the reception desk day or nigh 24 hours a day by dialing 0. For all external, including international calls there is a pay phone on the 2nd floor. We have chosen this option to minimise the cost our guests, this way they are in control of the cost of any outgoing costs and they will not receive any surprises at the time of check out with a hefty phone bill.

I hope you will give us the opportunity to be of service again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

Wifi didn't work, toilet wouldn't flush and the carpets smells like they need a good cleaning. Beds were clean, so that's something. Breakfast was excellent with a smiling server who really saved the whole stay for me. Would not stay here again though.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prophet_N7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield-Team, Manager at Springfield Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Prophet_N7,

We are sorry we not able to meet your expectations. Your comments have been noted and we have done the following to try to remedy your concerns:

1) We are currently reviewing our Free WiFi system and have managed to identify that only the 3 rooms on the top floor are unable to receive a full service at all times and we are working very hard to remedy this. However if at anytime you do find your service interrupted please contact the reception team and they will do their best to get it up and running again immediately.

2) In an effort to conserve the environment we have installed smaller tanks in our toilets, this means that less water is used during each flush, the only drawback is that they may take a little longer to refill for a second flush as the fist flush will empty the small tank. We are sure that our guests would forgive us this little inconvenience in our effort to be more environmentally friendly.

3) All the carpets in all rooms and public areas have been changed.

I hope you will give us the opportunity to be of service again so we can exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

You cannot call this a hotel you would be better off sleeping rough for the night! looks ok from outside but dont be fooled..... very very very dated and smells damp. Carpets need a good clean... so do the walls. windows broken, loads of stairs if not on ground floor. Rooms are tiny, stains on carpet, mouldy, shower in middle of room and needed a good clean- didnt even want to shower in it.,wash basin coming of wall, toilet so small you couldnt swing a cat and chunks of poo still on toilet brush, yuck!!! Hairdryer had smoke coming out of it when tried to use it, TV keep losing signal. Hallways are like dumping grounds for old beds and furniture.Breakfast..... well what a joke, make sure you have breakfast at 7am other wise you will get cardboard toast that has been sitting there for hours and english breakfast is plated then microwaved when needed and is all out of a can, couldn't eat it. breakfast staff very unhelpful, was made to sit with other peoples dirty plates. We are not fussy people but this hotel was the worst we have ever stayed in. Only good point was location 3 min walk from Paddington Station, you would be better off spending £30 more per night and staying in the Days Inn next door.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 30kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield-Team, Manager at Springfield Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear 30kay,

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us, your comments have been noted and the following actions have been taken.

1) Brand new carpets have been installed in all rooms and public areas.

2) We take hygiene very seriously at the Springfield Hotel and that is why we have a 5 rating ( the highest rating possible) for food hygiene. Our breakfast is prepared fresh everyday and we take pride in providing only quality ingredients.

3) our commitment to hygiene at the Springfield Hotel means that we have taken note of your concerns and have applied a extra special clean to the room you stayed just to make sure that it meets with our guests approval in the future.

I hope you will give us the opportunity to be of service again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I booked this hotel through Late Rooms for my daughter's modelling shoot at Blue Rooms. We also wanted a little weekend break before I was due to have our 2nd second.
The hotel had a discount to our surprise of 50% through Late Rooms so we grabbed the bargain. It was in a gorgeous location, easy to walk to other amenities, restaurants, shops, trams, trains. The hotel receptionist greeted up and allowed us to pay for our room before guiding us to our ground floor room as I had a buggy and was pregnant. The room itself was cosy, had satellite TV, plenty of tea and coffee making facilities, a vending machine in the reception. It was quiet although the room was a little too warm.
The breakfast in the morning was fantastic. The kept offering more toast and drinks. You could have unlimited cereals and milk.
The bathroom was clean and lovely. Warm shower. We even enquired about a take away and asked if we'd have to pick it up and they said no we could have it delivered to our room.
Overall I would definitely stay in this hotel again if I visited London.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield-Team, Manager at Springfield Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Lauren M,

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Springfield Hotel and took the time to inform other guests and travelers about it. It is the greatest reward to know that we have been able to meet your expectations and have made your stay with us an enjoyable one.

We hope that you will give us the opportunity to be of service again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Stylotel
#593 of 1,076 in London
798 reviews
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
#701 of 1,076 in London
389 reviews
Olympic House Hotel
#805 of 1,076 in London
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Notting Hill Gate Hotel
Notting Hill Gate Hotel
#817 of 1,076 in London
511 reviews
Europa House Hotel
#828 of 1,076 in London
326 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#424 of 1,076 in London
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springfield Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfield Hotel London

Address: 154 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #981 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £54 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Springfield Hotel London 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Springfield Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Springfield Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing