We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Albro House-a touch of home”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Albro House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Albro House Hotel
Ranked #674 of 1,089 Hotels in London
sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Albro House-a touch of home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

I was greeted by the wonderful Italian owner who couldn't be more helpful with my room and bags. I loved the room with a mix of traditional English and Italian décor. It was very safe, close to local shops and only one block from the tube. The English breakfast was the best I've ever had with beautiful smoked bacon and good eggs. Highly recommend. Thank you

Room Tip: Twin and double rooms are on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ozziefamilySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    56
    30
    14
    10
See reviews for
28
44
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights in Albro house hotel. Hotel is in a good location, next to Hyde Park and close to Paddington tube station. Breakfast was very good, fried egg, becon, beans, toast, sausage and jam. Rooms were clean, but rather small. Suggest yard view,as more quiet at night.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Stuff is very polite and helpful. Good that breakfast is always included in the price. Very handy for rail/tube/bus connections. Marble arch is walkable also but u can get a bus to Oxford street. The room was comfortable and clean. The heating in room was good. The TV has a lot of channels.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olga L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my husband on a holiday.

Pros - fantastic location close to the station.

Excellent breakfast provided by the manager and his wife.

Cons - There was a miscommunication in regards to breast milk storage although arrangements were made prior to or stay. The manager tried to help me the best he could, but there wasn't enough room in both the fridges in the hotel (one private and one in the kitchen). I moved out a day earlier as there wasn't a resolution and was told that the discount I was given was forfeited. Disappointing as I wasn't told before that there was a minimum stay to get the discount. Also, do bear in mind that there is a surcharge for payments via credit card. I can't remember the surcharge % as I decided to pay in cash.

The rooms definitely need updating and do try to get rooms facing the back. I had difficulty sleeping as the noise from the street was quite loud. Management should consider investing in double glazed windows.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank beachchick82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londonhost_10, Owner at Albro House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Beachchick82,


thank you for taking the time to write your review about your stay in my hotel.

I would like to reply to your various points mentioned in your review.

As you said , there was definetly miscommunication about the quantity of breast milk you had to store.When you enquired you said "a small quantity of breast milk"to be stored in the fridge, to which we agreed.But when you arrived there was a "large quantity" of such milk.
As you said ,the manager tried to help as much as possible , using TWO fridges for your milk.

When you made your reservation you asked for a special rate (discount ) if you stayed a certain number of days.We did offer you such discount for an agreed number of days.
Obviously if you change your mind and reduce the lenght of your stay you break the agreement and in fairness we cannot give any more discounts.Sorry you are disappointed about this.

Credit card processing banks charge a fee for processing card payments, plus we have to wait some days before the amount is credited to our bank account, in the meantime banks charge
high interests on OUR overdrafts.I trust you appreciate the financial difficulties involved.

I am surprised about the windows.

All our front windows overlooking the main road (Sussex Gardens) have TWO windows , i.e.the traditional wooden sash on the outside and the heavy double glazed Everest on the inside.
When both windows are CLOSED they cut out the noise completely, where your windows OPEN perhaps ??
How could it be that YOU DID NOT SEE THEM ???

I can assure you that they are there , and have been there for the past 20 years or so, fitted for the comfort of our clients.Not many hotels in my road have them fitted !! I am sure this is an oversight on your part.

I am glad you enjoyed the breakfast provided by my manager and his wife.

Again thank you and best wishes to yourself and your family.


G A Caruso
=========
Owner


ALBRO HOUSE HOTEL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Melzo, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

'Albro house is a cheap accommodation in central London, offering everything that is needed. The rooms are confortable; breakfast is available; a central line tube stop is within walking distance.
I enjoyed it!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sara c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpls, mn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

We stayed for 3 nights. Good location and close to station. The rooms were in need of updating along with bathroom (mold). Wifi worked in lobby but not rooms. Breakfast was good. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abbyaboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Really nice, clean and very good customer support. All the stuff is very friendly, the breakfast is really good and the location is incredible. I'll repeat for sure if I come back to London. If you are looking for a very good place with incredible prices, you have found it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sergio_perales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#477 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rhodes Hotel
Rhodes Hotel
#306 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aspen Suites Hyde Park
Aspen Suites Hyde Park
#796 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#659 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Darlington Hyde Park
The Darlington Hyde Park
#196 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,096 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Balmoral House Hotel
The Balmoral House Hotel
#629 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albro House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albro House Hotel

Property: Albro House Hotel
Address: 155 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 2RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #674 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Albro House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed & Breakfast Hotel located in a very pleasant central London wide tree lined avenue, very close (50 metres?) to beautiful Hyde Park/Kensington Gardens and Paddington Station for mainline train services to the west and south west of England,the Heathrow Express fast 15 minutes Airport train service, plus Underground (5 Metro lines + imminent Crossrail) with easy transport links to all parts of London. Numerous city bus lines plus tour bus stop very near.There are numerous excellent restaurants of all nationalities,Pubs,Coffee shops,souvenier shops, etc very near our hotel. We offer accommodation in single,doubles,twins,triples and family rooms, all well furnished and decorated, all with private ensuite facilities, radio,multi channel freeview tv, complimentary tea/coffee making facilities,hairdryer,free wifi,free towels,soap and toiletries, etc. All our rooms are carefully cleaned and serviced daily. A complimentary, copious full English or continental breakfast is cooked and provided daily in our modern airy dining room. All our staff are most welcoming, friendly, multi lingual and offer an efficient courteus service in a very relaxed quiet atmosphere. Our sincere aim is to provide a service to make all our guest's stay in our hotel as comfortable, enjoyable and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Albro House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albro House Hotel London
Albro Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing