We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lies!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Regency House Hotel
Ranked #533 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Having arrived early to leave baggage we were informed that we would be not staying in hotel but moved to another "partner hotel" close by.
We can't comment on the Regency but we were told that there had been a broken radiator, but on arrival at new doss house we were not the only ones by any means.
There was no where to leave baggage other than stacked in corridor with the other 60 or so bags. There was no breakfast facilities. It wasn't for us.
We refused to stay in studio 24 apartments and got a refund.
So on arrival if you are moved to that place take what they are telling you with a pinch of salt.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jonesdg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
There are newer reviews for Regency House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

There are many hotels in converted houses or apartments along Gower Street. Almost every door yields another, on one side of the street anyway. This is an area just 20 walking minutes or so from West End Theatre and Soho restaurants, perhaps 15 to the British Museum, and about 50 to the far side of Hyde Park. Busy street, but one way only. Certainly feels safe, and is well-lit and has frequent pedestrian traffic. Nearby convenience stores and some eateries over on Goodge, just minutes' walk. Room we had was about average size for London. Only seating is on the bed, or a desk chair. No air-conditioning, but not a problem for our September visit. Most years it wouldn't be much of a problem at all, anytime. Front desk staff are good; breakfasts mediocre. Very salty food, pre-packaged cheese at breakfast, yogurt/jams etc. very limited, and only one kind of toast on offer. Sausage with full English breakfast had seen better days, and not much care taken with egg. Limited cereal choices. No elevator, so your suitcases are carried by hand (typical, probably, of the whole street).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

The people at the desk were very friendly, but the room we had (facing the street with 3 singles & a double) was very cramped for 5 people with luggage. It was clean, had a very small bathroom (not uncommon), a good breakfast & was an easy walk to the station. The problem we encountered, which is no fault of the hotel, was that it was during a heat wave & of course, there was no air conditioning. We had to sleep with the windows open & the traffic on the street was very loud, so we did not sleep well at all. Under normal circumstances, I'm sure it's just fine.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank LeeAnn1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

My partner booked this hotel as part of my 40th birthday present, and specifically chose it because he understood from a telephone conversation with the hotel that the room had a private balcony. It became apparent that a misunderstanding had occurred and the room did not have a balcony but does have shared use - with another room - of a patio area separate to that for use by the rest of the hotel. The room is advertised as a superior double room with patio and I guess it does what it says on the tin. The room is compact but apparently brand new having only been completed a week or so prior to our visit. It had all the amenities one would expect from a Superior room - except for floor space! - such as flat screen tv, tea/coffee making facilities, good sized fridge with freezer compartment etc plus a microwave and cutlery/crockery - very useful if unable to eat out (as we discovered most of the restaurants nearby close at 11pm). The room was spotlessly clean, the bed very comfortable with plump pillows and the shower of sufficient strength to be invigorating without being abrasive. Toiletries were provided (however the hand cream was past its expiry date) as was complementary water in the fridge - rare in London! The room is lacking mirrors - impossible to use hair straighteners and actually see what you're doing as the only mirror is in the bathroom, and the wardrobe didn't have enough vertical hanging space for a full length gown. We didn't find the patio provided us with anything additional - as it is lower ground floor there was no sunlight and whilst it was nice for our room to overlook that rather than say, the wall of the opposite building, the lock on our window was broken so personally I felt a certain lack of privacy/security and certainly would have if the other room had used the patio area whilst we were in our room.
Full breakfast was provided consisting of orange juice, tea/coffee, a pastry each, toast plus apples/yoghurt if required, in addition to bacon, sausage, egg, mushroom and beans. Rare in my experience to have a freshly cooked-to-order breakfast in central London and certainly of a sufficient quantity to keep you going for several hours of sightseeing ahead!
After we checked out of our room we had several hours before our train home and the hotel happily provided us with storage for our luggage. This was located in the garden area as space does appear to be at a premium indoors, however it appeared to be securely shut away in a cleverly concealed area beneath a flower bed. The garden area was being refurbished during our stay with brand new decking, seating areas etc and judging by photos on the web site, once completed will be a big improvement. I have to say the web site did put me off massively and based on the photos on there, personally I would not have chosen to stay at this hotel. However, having been, I would come again although maybe at a reduced rate as I feel there are better value for money hotels around. The location is good though - within walking distance of Euston station, a block or so away from some very nice restaurants, bars etc and within walking distance of covent garden (where we spent a very happy afternoon enjoying the street theatre) and the west end.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trishy_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Although in a great location, this hotel did not live up to expectations. Our Double Room was tiny and I mean tiny and so hot we could barely breathe. Luckily we are not large people and managed to get around the bed and just managed to get in the bathroom for a shower, but anyone else would have difficulty. The hotel did provide a fan, which sadly we had to have on all night as the heat was unbearable. The double glazing was superb and just as well as the rooms overlooking the street side are very noisy. There was no mirror in the bedroom, just one in the bathroom, not a great help for putting on makeup etc
The Reception staff were lovely and were very helpful about getting about. Breakfast was pretty average - sadly the promise of a selection of cheeses was some very plastic looking cheeses placed in a cup on the table, toast was so thin it tasted like cardboard, but that aside the food was hot and nicely cooked.
I do think that morning papers would be a nice little touch for breakfast - not a great expense and just something a bit extra.

I think this location is excellent but I can honestly say I will not be recommending this hotel to friends and family - have stayed in lots better for the same price.

Room Tip: Do not have Room 12 and certainly ask for a back room, they will be quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3Twiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Regency House Hotel in May 2013 and would recommend it. It's in a great location, close to Oxford St and easy to get to most parts of Central London. It's slightly more expensive than other hotels in the area, but not bad value considering it's London. The room itself was good; the beds were comfortable and it was very clean. Our only complaint was the tiny bathroom. It was a tight squeeze to get in the door and to the shower without hitting the toilet and the basin. Overall though a pretty good hotel in London.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rach8821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We are a family of five and stayed here on the 15th June 2013 in room one. The staff were wonderful, friendly and helpful and made our stay pleasurable.

The location is nothing short of perfect if you are going to enjoy the west end, in fact our children thought we were on the street Peter Pan is filmed in; it is quiet, peaceful and beautiful.

Our room was perfect everything was clean and comfortable, it had a Sony Bravia LCD with freeview, a kettle, a fridge (with complementary bottled water), a freezer and a microwave, the bathroom was clean and modern and the water was hot, the towels were thick and there was an abundance of shampoos and lotions.

Our room also looked straight onto the street at street level....Perfect.

Breakfast was outstanding with plenty of choice and was served swiftly by wonderful staff. In short we loved it here and will return.

Room Tip: Room one was perfect
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angharad m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#77 of 1,072 in London
1,782 reviews
Bloomsbury
Gower House Hotel
Gower House Hotel
#631 of 1,072 in London
225 reviews
Bloomsbury
Staunton Hotel
Staunton Hotel
#554 of 1,072 in London
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#129 of 1,072 in London
1,240 reviews
Bloomsbury
Garth Hotel
Garth Hotel
#876 of 1,072 in London
48 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Academy
The Academy
#542 of 1,072 in London
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency House Hotel

Address: 71 Gower Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1E 6HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #533 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: £113 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Regency House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Central London, the Regency House Hotel is a beautiful, traditional Georgian Grade 2 listed Terraced Hotel. Its' History can be traced all the way back to the first family owners, the 4th Duke of Bedford in the 1790's. We pride ourselves as one of the finest boutique hotels in Gower Street London. We offer some of the best value Single, Double, Twin, Triple, Quad, and Quint Hotels Rooms in central London. All of our Rooms are comfortable, fully air conditioned, elegant and decorated in traditional Georgian style, perfect for either short or long stay visitors. Visitors can save huge money on accommodation by staying in our affordable bed and breakfast in gower street London. Take the brief tour of our rooms at our official website. Ideally situated in the famous literary area, Bloomsbury, it is conveniently close to many of London's attractions and points of interest. A short walk or tube ride away are: Oxford Street, Soho and Covent Garden, the British Museum and London's Theatre Land. In the opposite direction you can find Regents Park and Camden, Madame Tussauds and the London Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, LateRooms and HotelsClick so you can book your Regency House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency House Hotel London
Regency Hotel London
Regency London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing