We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and clean, comfy room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Regency House Hotel
Ranked #537 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent location and clean, comfy room”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel last weekend with my two friends. It's in an excellent location; very near to tube stations and within walking distance of tourist spots like covent garden, British museum etc. Space to leave bags at the hotel before we could check in, which was a big plus. The room was clean and well equip with tea/ coffee making facilities, fridge, hair dryer, tv, complimentary toiletries and free wifi. The beds were really comfortable (we had one double and one single in our room). The only downside to this hotel was the breakfast...the breakfast room is quite small and cramped and if you turn up when it's busy you either have to hang around waiting or share a table with somebody else. It seemed like the staff were quite stressed as the tables weren't cleared away very quickly. My friend is vegetarian and the veggie breakfast was tiny with no substitutes for the sausage or bacon. It says on the menu grilled mushrooms but you get one measly little mushroom (we found it quite funny!) I think it would better for the hotel to provide continental breakfast instead so guests would be quicker in the dining room so there would be less of a problem with the tables and the staff would be less stressed! All in all though we had a lovely stay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regency H, Front Office Manager at Regency House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Lucy,

Thank you for taking time to write this review, happy to see our hotel fitted your needs, and that you've had a great time! We are making efforts to improve our services and facilities, including the breakfast room, which we have already refurbished to make it more comfortable and spacious. Many thanks for letting us know your opinion in this matter.

Thank you for staying with us!

See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    135
    69
    28
    22
See reviews for
87
112
40
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Booked a double room thru late rooms £108. Room small but V clean & well equiped including Fridge & Micro,Modern Bathroom with shower but Small. Overlooking street which was noisy(and not as busy a street as many in London) but as only using as a base to drop off luggage out to a Show, back to shower & bed for the price we paid didnt complain!! Breakfast ok,choice of Cereal, Fruit (altho only apples available) yoghurt & full English. Pot of Tea not great & brought full english to table straight after we were served our Cereal. But there again for the price we paid ! Tram stop 5 mins away & about a 15/20 min walk to Kings Cross. Able to leave luggage until we returned after a day shopping before leaving on the train.

Room Tip: Probably if you pay more & staying longer ask for room on the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bondgirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This hotel is ideal for anyone wanting to visit London for a few days. I stayed here from the 13th - 15th March 2014 and loved it. It is about a 10 minute walk from Euston train station and minutes away from the nearest tube.

The hotel itself was under some refurbishment while we stayed and where asked to give a time to attend breakfast on both days. The latter day we changed till a bit later as we needed a lie in! This really didn't bother us. The check in was relatively quick and the receptionist showed us up to our room.

We where on the 3rd floor which was a stretch for myself but my partner ran up a breeze. Our room was small but adequate with a fridge and microwave. This was fabulous as we bought milk and a few snacks for the evening. Everything was clean and tidy. The room did need a few touches and considering what I paid for the two nights I did expect more but hey ho it is London.

The breakfast was more than enough. Unlimited toast, fruit and yogurts and a cooked breakfast. We both had a full English on both nights and was more than enough food. Like a few other reviewers it lacked mushrooms but with everything else included we never left hungry.

Upon check out we where able to leave our luggage in reception (the luggage room was full) and go about our day then return when we where heading home. I didn't mind leaving our luggage there as the reception was set at the rear of the building which meant no one could easily gain access if the worst was to happen and the reception was always manned.

I think for the price the hotel was a little expensive and expected a little more but overall I loved the stay and couldn't fault the location. We walked almost everywhere! The only downside was the street noise as we where located at the front of the building, though to be fair we where that tired at the end of each day that we slept like a log :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernadette N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regency H, Front Office Manager at Regency House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Bernadette,

Thank you for writing this great review!
We are trying our best to raise the standards up every day and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again so you will meet the new improvements in our building and facilities.
Many thanks for staying with us!
See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a fab location for all the major tourist attractions and transport links and this hotel is in a fab location for that. The receptionist was friendly and helpful. The room was basic, but clean and the bed was comfy. Ensuite was tiny and the shower wasn't the best. LOTS of stairs and no lift so not great for less abled. Breakfast really let it down - just not very nice at all.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LMJLCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heemstede
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The area is a feel good area for a woman alone to come and go in the evening hours. The hotel is clean and although my room was tiny it had a microwave to boot. Bed was not great but being at the back certainly no noise. The reception offered me an upgrade if I returned and advised to reserve a room via them directly as that was a much better deal. On the whole to be recommended for that quick trip to London when you are more on the move than requiring a hotel with an atmosphere.

Room Tip: Definitely rooms at the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meerbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
838 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Good location for mainline & underground train stations. Curteous and helpful staff. Bedroom large (with 3 single beds) and clean. Bathroom tight to get into. Refurbished rear garden should be attractive in the summer. Good size fridge and large dinner plates & cutlery provided for takeaway meals from nearby shops. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a bedroom at the rear. If the porter offers to carry your bags, say yes as there can be seve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MedEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#81 of 1,069 in London
1,762 reviews
Bloomsbury
Gower House Hotel
Gower House Hotel
#647 of 1,069 in London
219 reviews
Bloomsbury
Staunton Hotel
Staunton Hotel
#548 of 1,069 in London
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Garth Hotel
Garth Hotel
#863 of 1,069 in London
46 reviews
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#131 of 1,069 in London
1,231 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Academy
The Academy
#559 of 1,069 in London
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency House Hotel

Property: Regency House Hotel
Address: 71 Gower Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1E 6HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #537 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Regency House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Central London, the Regency House Hotel is a beautiful, traditional Georgian Grade 2 listed Terraced Hotel. Its' History can be traced all the way back to the first family owners, the 4th Duke of Bedford in the 1790's. We pride ourselves as one of the finest boutique hotels in Gower Street London. We offer some of the best value Single, Double, Twin, Triple, Quad, and Quint Hotels Rooms in central London. All of our Rooms are comfortable, fully air conditioned, elegant and decorated in traditional Georgian style, perfect for either short or long stay visitors. Visitors can save huge money on accommodation by staying in our affordable bed and breakfast in gower street London. Take the brief tour of our rooms at our official website. Ideally situated in the famous literary area, Bloomsbury, it is conveniently close to many of London's attractions and points of interest. A short walk or tube ride away are: Oxford Street, Soho and Covent Garden, the British Museum and London's Theatre Land. In the opposite direction you can find Regents Park and Camden, Madame Tussauds and the London Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Regency House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency House Hotel London
Regency Hotel London
Regency London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing