We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Regency House Hotel
Ranked #529 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We had a lovely, one-night stay in this delightful hotel. We had a spacious, three single-bedded room on the second floor looking out onto a charming, private decked garden which had ample seating plus unlimited top brand tea, coffee and biscuits.

Everywhere was spotlessly clean, the beds were very comfortable and the sheets felt like brand new. The air conditioning was efficient and we had a comfortable and peaceful night's sleep.

The hospitality tray in the room was well stocked and also included three apples; an unusual but welcome addition. There was also a fridge and microwave which we didn't make use of but would be ideal for someone travelling on a budget.

The bathroom was tiny but the shower cubicle was a good size and really clean with plenty of hot water.

The dining room is in the basement and is small but, like everything in this hotel, totally charming. Breakfast was served promptly, having been cooked to order and was delicious.

The lovely lady on reception allowed us to leave our luggage both before we checked in and also after we checked out.

There is nothing negative I can say about this hotel and I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else on my next visit to London.

Room Tip: Room 10 for a lovely view of the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank plmhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regency H, Public Relations Manager at Regency House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time writing this fantastic review! We are really happy to see your stay with us was so smooth and pleasant, and that our staff made your welcome warm.
We don't have enough words to say thank you, but we can say that we are committed to ensuring our guests' stays are always up to standard!
Many thanks once again, we hope to see you soon!

Julia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

Our stay there was great. We had 2 double rooms and a triple, as we were a hen party. Doubles were small but efficient, and the triple was big with lots of space and 3 single beds. Bathrooms in all rooms were fine, but the showers weren't very powerful. Breakfast was nice, lots of choice, staff were mixed, with 2 friendly and helpful and one not. Great garden area out back to meet and talk. Good location, nice and central and easy to find taxis. Really nice wee hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Fiona K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Visit London on a regular basis with friend for theatre and galleries. This hotel has made improvements on each of our visits and they are trying hard to be as helpful as possible. It is superbly located for tube and transport and if one asks for a room high up at the back of the hotel it is very quiet at night as there are no loud restaurants, shops or pubs close by. Many of the buildings nearby are used by the university and facilities are round the corner on Goodge Street. We will definitely return as rooms are clean, breakfast is as much as we need and staff are welcoming. Our room had fridge and microwave which might be useful for people who don't want to eat out. yes, the bathrooms are small but these are old houses. Sadly the weather didn't allow us use of the garden but one day.... And they are happy to keep luggage for you on day of departure until one is ready to collect it.

Room Tip: Room 10 is high up and overlooking garden at back. It is for 3 people but as a couple of friends we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Staff very welcoming and friendly. Bed lovely and comfy, linen extremely clean, the curtains were all hanging properly and of good quality. Okay the rooms are not spacious but I've stayed in hotels where you can't even walk round the bed. The bathroom is cosy but has all the facilities you need. Toiletries provided. Hair Dryer extremely good quality. I asked for an iron and ironing board, both were good quality (The Courthouse Double Tree Hilton could learn a lot from this small hotel). There was crockery, cutlery, even a microwave. And the air conditioning system was quiet and worked extremely well (Room 2). The garden is a delightful little haven with decking area, gazebo, tables & chairs, (this was lit up at night) and the most charming Coffee & Tea Cart where you could drink endless cups of complimentary tea, coffee & biscuits. You forgot you were in the middle of London. Free WiFi. Having trawled the internet looking at hundreds of hotels in the area there were no other hotels in the area we wanted to be in offering such good accommodation and facilities for the price without full payment up front. Will definitely stay here again. Finally, for breakfast I deviated from the menu and asked for fried egg on toast with tomato and was asked if I would like 2 eggs, so from my perspective the breakfast was not small. The toast was so delicious, we asked for more without any problem at all. The dining room is very small, but clean and you could see through to the kitchen but this again was extremely clean and efficiently run. If a lot of guests decide to have breakfast at the same time there is bound to be a wait as everything is cooked to order. Well Done Regency Hotel. Thank you Zuzana and Julia, and the gentleman (whose name I forgot to get).

Room Tip: I don't like stairs unfortunately in character houses like this there is no lift. Fortunately I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Penelope R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regency H, Guest Relations Manager at Regency House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Penelope,

Thank you for taking the time writing this fantastic review.

We are delighted to hear your stay went great and that our facilities were of good use to you.

We are committed to provide the best service and that will apply next time you are here as well!


Hope to see you back very soon,

Julia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The location was good, easy to get to as we used trains, 2 stations close by. Reception staff was friendly. Make sure not to book room 8 as it seems like sleeping in the basement and room 14 is next to dinning room (no sleeping in). rooms are very small, but clean and comfortable. Bathroom was modern and clean.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 1 night with my husband. Rooms are quite small but clean and comfortable. Some repair to decoration needed. 5 mins walk from Euston underground. Breakfast a bit like the rooms. Small. We had to laugh because there was 1 of everything even 1 mushroom. But all in all a comfortable hotel. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Would definitely stop again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Tshaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

I would suggest there are better places to stay in similar locality for £155 per night. If you have to stay here watch out for being put into a dark basement room with little light and no outlook, which is nothing like the imoression any of the photos portray. You could do better elsewhere

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regency H, Guest Relations Manager at Regency House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write this review.

We are sorry to hear that the room was not on your liking. We take guest feedback very seriously and have addressed the points you raised with our maintenance department and have taken extra measures to improve the lighting in this specific room.
We always try and accommodate guests request and should we have known in advance that you wanted to stay on a higher floor we would have allocated you accordingly subject to room type availability.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Julia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#128 of 1,077 in London
1,272 reviews
Bloomsbury
Gower House Hotel
Gower House Hotel
#618 of 1,077 in London
232 reviews
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#79 of 1,077 in London
1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Staunton Hotel
Staunton Hotel
#518 of 1,077 in London
369 reviews
Bloomsbury
Garth Hotel
Garth Hotel
#826 of 1,077 in London
55 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Euro Hotel
The Euro Hotel
#444 of 1,077 in London
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency House Hotel

Address: 71 Gower Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1E 6HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #529 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £99 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Regency House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Central London, the Regency House Hotel is a beautiful, traditional Georgian Grade 2 listed Terraced Hotel. Its' History can be traced all the way back to the first family owners, the 4th Duke of Bedford in the 1790's. We pride ourselves as one of the finest boutique hotels in Gower Street London. We offer some of the best value Single, Double, Twin, Triple, Quad, and Quint Hotels Rooms in central London. All of our Rooms are comfortable, fully air conditioned, elegant and decorated in traditional Georgian style, perfect for either short or long stay visitors. Visitors can save huge money on accommodation by staying in our affordable bed and breakfast in gower street London. Take the brief tour of our rooms at our official website. Ideally situated in the famous literary area, Bloomsbury, it is conveniently close to many of London's attractions and points of interest. A short walk or tube ride away are: Oxford Street, Soho and Covent Garden, the British Museum and London's Theatre Land. In the opposite direction you can find Regents Park and Camden, Madame Tussauds and the London Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Regency House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency House Hotel London
Regency Hotel London
Regency London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing