We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel I have ever stayed in, terrible! PLEASE READ”
Review of European Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
European Hotel
Ranked #897 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worst hotel I have ever stayed in, terrible! PLEASE READ”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I will start the review with the one and only good thing about this hotel, the location. Around a 2 minute walk away from kings cross station it was great for just jumping on the underground. When I arrived at the European hotel the hosts at the reception were less than friendly. Speaking English (not well) she pointed me in the direction of my room which I may add was 5 houses away and giving me the keys. When I finally found my room with help from the cleaner, I felt as though I had walked into my niece's doll house and felt like walking straight back out. The room was tiny there was a double bed and around a metre to walk at one side of the bed and at the bottom. There was nowhere for me and my partner to put our bags so we kept them at the bottom of the bed which then meant we had a metre of room to walk between the bed and the door. There was a tiny dresser with a t.v on which we had to tune ourselves as it was not up to date with the latest freeview channels. There was also a tiny wardrobe which could barely fit a pair of shoes width. The en suit was so small me and my partner had to take turns brushing our teeth and the roof was literally falling on our heads as the fan had obviously not been in frequent use and there was no windows so the room was very damp. The shower was scummy with rust and god knows what covering the head and the walls. The bathroom was so small that there was no room between you and the wall at the side of the toilet for a toilet roll holder so it was placed high above, behind the toilet which as you can imagine was unbelievably inconvenient. When I flushed the toilet it sounded asthough a very small but very real jumbo jet was landing in our room and at one point I thought it had broke and we would have to evacuate. Our view from outside of our £150 for 2 nights room was a brick wall literally a rulers width away which meant I felt very claustrophobic. Imagine a tiny room, nowhere to walk and the view of a brick wall, we spent no time in our room apart from sleeping. Speaking of sleeping, the minimal sleep we had wasn't great. The bed made crunching and squeaking sounds with every breath, there was discolouring on the wall at the side of the bed due to damp and I spent half of my city break listening to cath next door talk about her troubles at work thanks to paper thin walls. On our final day I gave the hotel the chance to redeem its self with breakfast before out long journey back to Manchester, I probably should have just starved and gone straight home. When I went down to breakfast I was met with a tiny 'canteen' which felt like a youth hostel. The breakfast was very limited with sausages, egg, beans and tomatoes. As my partner and I queued for the breakfast, there was an elderly foreign man helping himself very slowly. It seemed as though he had Parkinson's or another form of disability and we were happy to wait for him to collect his breakfast, the cook obviously didn't feel the same. She shoved past him trying to put some toast down very vigorously, she probably tried around 4 times until saying something in a foreign language (Latvian/Russian) and aborting the mission, she stumbled back into the kitchen. Another woman (with presumably longer arms) then came out and put the toast down once again shoving past the frail man. Me and my partner were astonished, very very rude! We then got a drink of what I could only describe as warm filth disguised as orange juice and TRIED to sit down. The tables were so close I had to slide into a small seat in the corner where I could barley breathe and still feel as though suffering from broken ribs. When tucking into my food my partner and I had a 2 spoons and a knife, very inconvenient for our sausage and toast (that is all that looked barley eatable) as there was no other cutlery left and none brought out in the 10 minutes we were there. As we were leaving a French man asked the woman at the front desk to ring a taxi, she replied with 'ok, £52' he replied with 'No it says £33 on this sign' which was located at the reception reading 'taxi to heathrow £33' she snapped with 'No hes saying £52, do you want it or not?'. The man looked flustered and agreed and as a foreign visitor looked confused as to why the sign read £33 and he was paying £52, but he got no explanation and he reluctantly paid the fee. I feel lucky to have gotten out of the place alive. I am 17 years old and my partner is 18, to say I usually live in a filthy typical teenagers room, I wouldn't even let my dog visit the European hotel kings cross as he could very easily be shouted at, kept in squalor and maybe catch something. This is a very very true review I payed £150 for 2 nights and I am more than disappointed I feel cheated and upset I took my boyfriend for a nice weekend away and ended up taking him to this place. He probably would have rather stayed at home/on the street. STAY AWAY FROM THIS RUDE,DIRTY AND TERRIBLE HOTEL...save yourselves.

Room Tip: Don't pick one
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jodie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    128
    225
    142
    131
See reviews for
121
220
90
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

stayed here for 2 nights before going on eurostar to brussels the hotel was very close to kings cross/st pancras stations only 2/3 mins walk . The room was very small only about 6ft x 8 ft with a small double bed tiny wardrobe and small dressing table with mirror , The en suite was very small as well and we had to devise a system of manoveres to move around to be able to get ready at the same time , however the room was very clean and nice white sheets and towels changed daily. the room had a small tv with freeview also tea/coffee making facilities .Staff where helpful and friendly. The breakfast wasnt great only cornflakes no other cereal cooked breakfast was basic bacon sausage eggs beans toast coffee and tea was luke warm and dining area was quite dismal being lots of small rooms with archways bare tables and was in cellar. For £40 perperson per night in london and near to kings cross i think its good value but i would try to pay a bit more for a bit better if i stay in london again

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blackcatpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I stayed here for one night with a friend as we wanted to see London and go shopping, and for the £40 quid we paid each... I think it was pretty good. We were given a nice view of Argyle Square, breakfast included, a TV and was a short walk from the train station. However, the room itself was quite small and the breakfast wasn't quite as nice as other places, but again, it was a very cheap deal and was good enough for us. I would mention though, that it is perhaps not the best place to stay if you are coming on Megabus or are wanting to see the main attractions of London as you would need to take the tube in order to get there and back... but then again.. it is London! So, overall, the hotel was pretty satisfactory, but I wouldn't recommend a long stay, due to the small bedroom and bathroom (which unfortunately emanated a rather stale smell and was quite unclean) but, if only staying the one night and for the price paid... was good!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The room is very small. It got really hot (we stayed there in the summer), so we had to open the window because there is no air conditioning, but it was really noisy. The curtains were really thin, so it was also very bright (our room was in front of a street lamp). The bed was small and uncomfortable. The only advantage was the location of the hotel, very close to tube and train station.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed here for five nights...PROS: excellent price for an hotel in the centre of London / literally seconds from the tube & minutes from 3 major rail stations / VERY CLEAN / all the staff were friendly & helpful / comfy bed / clean towels everyday / good breakfast eggs-fried or scrambled, toast,beans,back bacon, quality sausage, tomatoes, toast, cornflakes 4 types of jam & marmalade...go back as many times as you like / tea & coffee & telly in rooms/ shower/toilet/shaving mirror & light/soap in rooms/ no lock out/ lots of leaflets for things to do....CONS: Rooms small/ instant coffee for breakfast / terrible juice (squash?)/ Noisey occaisionally but if youve had a good day out youll be out for the count!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deniscroissant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salon-de-Provence, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The only interest of this hotel is the proximity of Saint Pancras Station!

The room is very small for a couple and a child, the bathroom is very small too. The bedspreads and the curtains are dirty, all in the room seems outdated.
The breakfast is served in a sort of canteen , the staff never speaks to us, nothing seems to be cleaned ( we see that very well when they clean or wipe something), the fruit juice ( if we can say so...), coffee are awfull and the "english" breakfast not so good.

It's not a place to recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laindon
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

From reading the reviews on Trip Advisor after I had booked this hotel I was very worried. Although not amazing, this hotel as not as bad as the reviews make out. It is budget so its just the very basic amenities with small rooms, but if its just a stop over then why do you need more. Even breakfast is included as well which is more than some more expensive hotels. Breakfast had tea, coffee, eggs, beans, toast, sausage, bacon and tomatoes. I think there was cornflakes too. As a vegetarian I was limited but I still enjoyed it. The furniture and fittings are dated but I wouldn't expect anything more for what I have paid. I found my bed comfortable, though the night was quite noisy. For cleanliness, my room was clean but could have used some descaler in the toilet.

Room Tip: Wondering whether the back of the building might be more quiet as it was noisy at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FlizLovesKon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Howard Winchester Hotel
Howard Winchester Hotel
#736 of 1,068 in London
543 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#564 of 1,068 in London
910 reviews
Bloomsbury
Wardonia Hotel
Wardonia Hotel
#536 of 1,068 in London
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Albion House Hotel
Albion House Hotel
#950 of 1,068 in London
285 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Melville
Hotel Melville
#804 of 1,068 in London
433 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#259 of 1,068 in London
1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to European Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about European Hotel

Property: European Hotel
Address: 11-15 Argyle Square, London WC1H 8AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #897 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — European Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a bed and breakfast hotel located in a central location in London. Located on a quiet and peaceful square tucked away from the hustle and bustle of London but within 2 minutes walking distance to Kings Cross St Pancras station. We have a fantastic free wifi connection in all rooms. A Full English buffet breakfast is served every morning. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities and flat screen tv's with all the freeview channels. We re open 24 hours and have a luggage room for those checking in early or those who want to explore London upon checking out.There is easy access to all of Londons Airports from Kings Cross and all the tourist attractions such as Leicester Square, Picadilly Circus and Covent Garden are all within easy reach from Kings Cross Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your European Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
European Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing