We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Room, Basic, but clean”
Review of European Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
European Hotel
Ranked #897 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Swinton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Small Room, Basic, but clean”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in March. Room was very small and basic but it was clean. Beds clean and comfortable. Did not stay for breakfast as had really early starts so can't comment on that. The phrase you get what you pay for really is made for this place. I would stay again if necessary as the location is very good for Kings Cross/ commuting. Shower not great but worked and the water was hot enough. Staff not extreamly friendly but were not rude to me either.

Room Tip: No lift and narrow staircases so if you have lots of or heavy luggage ask for a ground floor room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    128
    224
    142
    131
See reviews for
120
220
90
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Best hôtel in london it's the only one I recommend! The wake up call was on time and the staff really helpful! Everything was perfect!!! Tropical showers in every room 5* rooms for 3* prices. On a scale of 1 to 10 -> 51!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theman51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Good central location, although not in the best area. Stayed in a single room with very small separate WC and shower. Water was only Luke warm and facilities very cramped and tired. Walls also very thin between rooms. Single bed very comfy and overall very clean. A budget hotel that was simply just somewhere to put my head down at night for a last minute trip to be able to meet up with an old friend, without breaking the bank. Will plan in advance next time to pay the same price for a better hotel.Didn't try the breakfast, so can't comment on that

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DevonChris1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This is the second time I have styed here in the last 6 months. Was clean and bed very comfortable. Provided with an extra pillow and hairdryer on request. Breakfast very good and staff accomodating. Will use this in the future. Sure.....rooms are not very big but appropriate for a bed for the night and a breakfast..........

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank June R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Stayed one night.
I got lost and ended up down quiet dark backstreets!, although that was my fault.
When I eventually arrived I quickly found out the reviews about the VERY rude lady on reception were true.
She was argumentative and sarcastic all because she couldn't understand my name.
She tried to say that I was lying about my name!!
Was very sarcastic about paying for the room and then pointed down the hallway and said to go up some stairs. I did not want anything further to do with this lady.

When I located my room I was pleasantly suprised.
YES they are very small but perfectly adequate for one night and also my room was very clean.
One other thing is this is a red light area. I only stayed one night and was approached by two prostitutes at the end of the street the hotel is on.

Good:
Excellent location for visiting london
Relatively cheap
Clean room.

Bad:
Terrible customer service on reception
Red light area

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 514Chanez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

At 5 a.m. the heating turned off making the hotel really chilly. I stayed on floor 5, so it was really cold.. I complained and after two visits of my guy from the reception, it is still cold. I am waiting to leave it as soon as I can and get warm in the King's Cross.

I am a Londoner. Booked it because of the strikes to be closer to my work.. Feel absolutely exhausted and sad. Booked for two days and it is unlikely to get any cancellation. At least it is cheap. Hostels are probably warmer than this..

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Canyon, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This hotel is a combination of terrace houses joined at the ground floor level . The room we used was about 11 ft square with a space taken out for toilet and shower. There was a double and single bed in this space. The window could not be closed to reduce noise as it was the only way to control temperature. The bed was lumpy, water was limited in flow. Breakfast was very good and the staff was pleasant and helpful. Cost was high having paid London rooms for the reservation and not getting any discount the total for 2 nights for three people was $427. This was more than a quality hotel like Premier inn at Tower hill. Would not recommend this hotel except as a last possible choice.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Howard Winchester Hotel
Howard Winchester Hotel
#735 of 1,069 in London
543 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#567 of 1,069 in London
910 reviews
Bloomsbury
Wardonia Hotel
Wardonia Hotel
#541 of 1,069 in London
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Albion House Hotel
Albion House Hotel
#948 of 1,069 in London
285 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Melville
Hotel Melville
#806 of 1,069 in London
433 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#254 of 1,069 in London
1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to European Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about European Hotel

Property: European Hotel
Address: 11-15 Argyle Square, London WC1H 8AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #897 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — European Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a bed and breakfast hotel located in a central location in London. Located on a quiet and peaceful square tucked away from the hustle and bustle of London but within 2 minutes walking distance to Kings Cross St Pancras station. We have a fantastic free wifi connection in all rooms. A Full English buffet breakfast is served every morning. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities and flat screen tv's with all the freeview channels. We re open 24 hours and have a luggage room for those checking in early or those who want to explore London upon checking out.There is easy access to all of Londons Airports from Kings Cross and all the tourist attractions such as Leicester Square, Picadilly Circus and Covent Garden are all within easy reach from Kings Cross Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your European Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
European Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing