We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You've got to laugh or you'd cry !” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of European Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
European Hotel
Ranked #905 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“You've got to laugh or you'd cry !”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Firstly on the positive side - for £40 per person for an hotel so close to Kings Cross/St Pancras (literally just across the road) I suppose it doesn't sound too bad - especially if you compare other bigger hotels in the area. Also, despite other reviews to the contrary, we did receive a pleasant and helpful reception on arrival. Our room was on the first floor, so not too bad for hoiking cases upstairs (no lifts). The décor is abominable - tiled walls up the staircase (none of the walls seem to match) - threadbare carpets - no paint on the doors etc. The room itself was overlooking Argyle Square - complete with winos who seemed to be there most of the day until they were locked out later at night. The bathroom was tiny - in the shower the tiled floor seemed to have had a hole hacked in it where the drain was - sharp edges to the drain. The shower was very good despite that. Toilet rolls were located on a shelf high above the toilet - impossible to reach in an emergency ! Small freeview TV - quite adequate. The kettle provided didn't match up with the electric kettle base - had to locate another plug to boil kettle. The plug behind the bedhead was literally hanging off the wall - Health & Safety inspectors would have had a field day ! Breakfast was served - sorry, provided, down in the basement - again flights of threadbare carpeted stairs - tea & coffee via thermos jugs, only cereal was Corn Flakes, then an assortment of fried or scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages, tinned tomatoes and toast. We never heard an English voice in the breakfast "area" - either from the guests or the harassed looking staff who were attempting to keep the bain marie stocked. The walls were again tiled - we sat next to a radiator that was absolutely filthy with years of old paint peeling off it. Dirty bottles of ketchup and brown sauce on the table with a small bowl of marmalade - uncovered and looked as though it had been there for weeks. If you are at all queasy, I would recommend foregoing the breakfast and going out for something to eat instead. One other thing to mention - if you do stay there, take some earplugs - the walls are paper thin and you can hear every sound from adjacent rooms.
Taking everything into account, I would never stay there again, although I can imagine that anyone on a limited budget may throw caution to the wind and use this hotel as just a bed for the night.

Room Tip: Request a ground or first floor room - and check ease of access to the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelman44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    123
    211
    135
    128
See reviews for
113
210
85
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swinton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in March. Room was very small and basic but it was clean. Beds clean and comfortable. Did not stay for breakfast as had really early starts so can't comment on that. The phrase you get what you pay for really is made for this place. I would stay again if necessary as the location is very good for Kings Cross/ commuting. Shower not great but worked and the water was hot enough. Staff not extreamly friendly but were not rude to me either.

Room Tip: No lift and narrow staircases so if you have lots of or heavy luggage ask for a ground floor room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Best hôtel in london it's the only one I recommend! The wake up call was on time and the staff really helpful! Everything was perfect!!! Tropical showers in every room 5* rooms for 3* prices. On a scale of 1 to 10 -> 51!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theman51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Good central location, although not in the best area. Stayed in a single room with very small separate WC and shower. Water was only Luke warm and facilities very cramped and tired. Walls also very thin between rooms. Single bed very comfy and overall very clean. A budget hotel that was simply just somewhere to put my head down at night for a last minute trip to be able to meet up with an old friend, without breaking the bank. Will plan in advance next time to pay the same price for a better hotel.Didn't try the breakfast, so can't comment on that

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DevonChris1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

This is the second time I have styed here in the last 6 months. Was clean and bed very comfortable. Provided with an extra pillow and hairdryer on request. Breakfast very good and staff accomodating. Will use this in the future. Sure.....rooms are not very big but appropriate for a bed for the night and a breakfast..........

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank June R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Stayed one night.
I got lost and ended up down quiet dark backstreets!, although that was my fault.
When I eventually arrived I quickly found out the reviews about the VERY rude lady on reception were true.
She was argumentative and sarcastic all because she couldn't understand my name.
She tried to say that I was lying about my name!!
Was very sarcastic about paying for the room and then pointed down the hallway and said to go up some stairs. I did not want anything further to do with this lady.

When I located my room I was pleasantly suprised.
YES they are very small but perfectly adequate for one night and also my room was very clean.
One other thing is this is a red light area. I only stayed one night and was approached by two prostitutes at the end of the street the hotel is on.

Good:
Excellent location for visiting london
Relatively cheap
Clean room.

Bad:
Terrible customer service on reception
Red light area

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 514Chanez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

At 5 a.m. the heating turned off making the hotel really chilly. I stayed on floor 5, so it was really cold.. I complained and after two visits of my guy from the reception, it is still cold. I am waiting to leave it as soon as I can and get warm in the King's Cross.

I am a Londoner. Booked it because of the strikes to be closer to my work.. Feel absolutely exhausted and sad. Booked for two days and it is unlikely to get any cancellation. At least it is cheap. Hostels are probably warmer than this..

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Howard Winchester Hotel
Howard Winchester Hotel
#738 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Bloomsbury
Wardonia Hotel
Wardonia Hotel
#517 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Bloomsbury
Albion House Hotel
Albion House Hotel
#953 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#539 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Melville
Hotel Melville
#741 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#244 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to European Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about European Hotel

Property: European Hotel
Address: 11-15 Argyle Square, London WC1H 8AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #905 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — European Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a bed and breakfast hotel located in a central location in London. Located on a quiet and peaceful square tucked away from the hustle and bustle of London but within 2 minutes walking distance to Kings Cross St Pancras station. We have a fantastic free wifi connection in all rooms. A Full English buffet breakfast is served every morning. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities and flat screen tv's with all the freeview channels. We re open 24 hours and have a luggage room for those checking in early or those who want to explore London upon checking out.There is easy access to all of Londons Airports from Kings Cross and all the tourist attractions such as Leicester Square, Picadilly Circus and Covent Garden are all within easy reach from Kings Cross Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your European Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
European Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing