We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best room”
Review of European Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
European Hotel
Ranked #898 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not the best room”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The photos on line are not what what we got.

We arrived at 9.00pm, our room had been booked several weeks in advance. The fellow on reception was ok, didn't speak a lot really. Gave us our key and told us we were on the third floor and to use the stairs past reception. The stairs directly opposite the front door were in darkness.
Made our way to our room ( no lifts and stair well very small). Room very small for two ppl.
Room was clean , strong smell of bleach. Bathroom very tiny, only two bath towels, no mat or hand towel. Soap provided, no shampoo or conditioner.
There was a stair well opposite our room, leading downstairs, which we used next morning, it was daylight so could be used safely.
Breakfast was ok, staff were no where in sight.
Not really worth what was charged for the night, on the plus side it was close to Kings Cross and St a Pancras which was why we booked there.
It was quiet after about 10.30pm, lots of door banging before that.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    128
    224
    142
    131
See reviews for
120
220
90
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

It might depend on the room you get.
Mine was the worse room I have ever stayed in a hotel. It was very small.Only enough space for a bed and to make 3 steps from the door to reach the bed. I have never seen something like that.
Many more problems arose.The noise didnt let me sleep at all for two nights. Just writing so that you are aware of what to expect.
Try to check the room before you pay.

The location is indeed great, however, next time I would go for another hotel in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sofi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Tuggeranong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Everything people have said is true. If you don't want to sleep stay here. Tea and coffee bags are supplied and when reception was asked for milk the guy behing the counter said " No, no milk"
Enough said.

Room Tip: Put another £50 towards it and go somewhere else. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bennyiscute2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Booked for one night only to be near to Eurostar for early morning start. Had to pay for room on registration which we thought unusual. If we had not payed already we would not have stayed once we saw the room.
Was told room was via first door on the left after the stairs. This appeared to be a cupboard under the stairs but opened to stairs going down, (originally the cellar one assumes).
On the lower ground floor there were 3 doors, we had the central door/room. Beds were made and clean. Kettle available for tea/coffee was fine. However things went down from there on. Toilet/shower tiny (have seen bigger in a caravan). The toilet had thick brown build up visible under the rim. Damage to back of bathroom door looked like someone had punched it.
Walls did not provide any privacy. People in the next room were talking almost non stop till about 2.30am and then appeared to go out. I did not feel safe in this hotel and could not wait to leave in the morning. Did not eat here as leaving too early so cannot comment on food service. No one on reception when we left at 6am left keys in key drop.

Room Tip: Don't even consider staying here but if you must I assume a room on a higher floor would be bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby Uk
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

stayed for two nights for hubbys birthday, wen we arrived the room was busy , we ad aterriable journey down and just wanted to chill b4 we went round london , any way the girl in reception was good she rang to the chambermaid and ask them to clean ours nex t, so we went to the pub wen came back it was done , it was clean but very small not really good wen ur big people , we was in block15 room 79. 36 steps up to room as no lifts ,we didnt complain as only there for 2 nigts , tele was a small 19 inch really u couldnt see u got a small wardrobe, and two sets of drawers , and a double bed tea ,coffee ,our room look over the park wat wat nice , didnt see much of the staff really , just night porter and breki staff , breakfast was ok buffett breaki , im not really a food person in am , but hubby liked itwand said its was better then sum oplaces weve been too unlimited coffee and tea too , we payed through tarvel stay .com 149 quid for two days me and my husband we loved where we was as not far from station and pubs, wasa tiny noisey , but ur in london and if udun as much walking as us u b a sleep , we add private bathroom , shower u ave let it run for bout 10 mins to get hot water , ua ve agot fans in bathroom and in bedroom and heating too , we felt the hotel needed updateinga bit but other wise ok for price and brekii would probo go again if on a buget, breakfast is 7-30 to 9-30

Room Tip: there ground floor rooms , they seem best but dont no if there private bathrooms in them , the rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorralaughs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Firstly on the positive side - for £40 per person for an hotel so close to Kings Cross/St Pancras (literally just across the road) I suppose it doesn't sound too bad - especially if you compare other bigger hotels in the area. Also, despite other reviews to the contrary, we did receive a pleasant and helpful reception on arrival. Our room was on the first floor, so not too bad for hoiking cases upstairs (no lifts). The décor is abominable - tiled walls up the staircase (none of the walls seem to match) - threadbare carpets - no paint on the doors etc. The room itself was overlooking Argyle Square - complete with winos who seemed to be there most of the day until they were locked out later at night. The bathroom was tiny - in the shower the tiled floor seemed to have had a hole hacked in it where the drain was - sharp edges to the drain. The shower was very good despite that. Toilet rolls were located on a shelf high above the toilet - impossible to reach in an emergency ! Small freeview TV - quite adequate. The kettle provided didn't match up with the electric kettle base - had to locate another plug to boil kettle. The plug behind the bedhead was literally hanging off the wall - Health & Safety inspectors would have had a field day ! Breakfast was served - sorry, provided, down in the basement - again flights of threadbare carpeted stairs - tea & coffee via thermos jugs, only cereal was Corn Flakes, then an assortment of fried or scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages, tinned tomatoes and toast. We never heard an English voice in the breakfast "area" - either from the guests or the harassed looking staff who were attempting to keep the bain marie stocked. The walls were again tiled - we sat next to a radiator that was absolutely filthy with years of old paint peeling off it. Dirty bottles of ketchup and brown sauce on the table with a small bowl of marmalade - uncovered and looked as though it had been there for weeks. If you are at all queasy, I would recommend foregoing the breakfast and going out for something to eat instead. One other thing to mention - if you do stay there, take some earplugs - the walls are paper thin and you can hear every sound from adjacent rooms.
Taking everything into account, I would never stay there again, although I can imagine that anyone on a limited budget may throw caution to the wind and use this hotel as just a bed for the night.

Room Tip: Request a ground or first floor room - and check ease of access to the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelman44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swinton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in March. Room was very small and basic but it was clean. Beds clean and comfortable. Did not stay for breakfast as had really early starts so can't comment on that. The phrase you get what you pay for really is made for this place. I would stay again if necessary as the location is very good for Kings Cross/ commuting. Shower not great but worked and the water was hot enough. Staff not extreamly friendly but were not rude to me either.

Room Tip: No lift and narrow staircases so if you have lots of or heavy luggage ask for a ground floor room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Howard Winchester Hotel
Howard Winchester Hotel
#736 of 1,068 in London
543 reviews
Bloomsbury
Wardonia Hotel
Wardonia Hotel
#538 of 1,068 in London
964 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#562 of 1,068 in London
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Hotel Melville
Hotel Melville
#802 of 1,068 in London
433 reviews
Bloomsbury
Albion House Hotel
Albion House Hotel
#948 of 1,068 in London
285 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#254 of 1,068 in London
1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to European Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about European Hotel

Property: European Hotel
Address: 11-15 Argyle Square, London WC1H 8AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #898 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — European Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a bed and breakfast hotel located in a central location in London. Located on a quiet and peaceful square tucked away from the hustle and bustle of London but within 2 minutes walking distance to Kings Cross St Pancras station. We have a fantastic free wifi connection in all rooms. A Full English buffet breakfast is served every morning. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities and flat screen tv's with all the freeview channels. We re open 24 hours and have a luggage room for those checking in early or those who want to explore London upon checking out.There is easy access to all of Londons Airports from Kings Cross and all the tourist attractions such as Leicester Square, Picadilly Circus and Covent Garden are all within easy reach from Kings Cross Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and HotelsClick so you can book your European Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
European Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing