We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Stay as Good as the First”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage
Ranked #279 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Second Stay as Good as the First”
Reviewed 8 May 2011

I stayed at this hotel for two weeks during April, 2009, and liked it very much. The highest recommendation I can give a place is to return to it, which I did for another two weeks in April, 2011. As long as one understands the Holiday Inn Express model, this is an excellent hotel for a reasonable price. My prior review of July 8, 2009, gives the details of why I like this property. The only thing I wish to add at this point, is that in the two years since my last visit, management has maintained the property in excellent condition, like new. I'm planning to return for my third visit when I again return to London.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bangkokexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    561
    112
    37
    18
See reviews for
462
270
86
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2011

Great location close to bus & train. Easy access to everything. Small but very nice & super clean. Across the road from shopping centre with supermarket, movies & a few eating options. Only thing bad was you have to pay for wifi.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jpickles2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2011

This hotel was a nice place to stay for our trip to London. The hotel is clean and a good value. The hotel is located a minute's walk from the Finchley Road Tube Station, which gets you to most of London's attractions within 10-15 minutes, as well as Heathrow Airport (about a 30 minute tube ride) and St. Pancras Train Station. The hotel is also across the street from a shopping center which is very convenient and has a nice grocery store (Sainsbury's). The only downsides was internet was not free (7 pounds a day) and the staff occasionally acted like they were really going out of their way to help you. Overall this hotel is a good bet for someone wanting an affordable, clean hotel room a little bit outside of (but still very convenient) to London.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adjkmeyer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Not a bad hotel for a budget price, agree with the last comment - the staff could do with some customer service training and the breakfast, well there was no milk available the first day and the toast caught on fire!! The rooms however were clean and serviced well, we were in room 105 which was lovely and quiet. Based on what others had said about the noise coming from the front of the hotel I emailed a few weeks before arriving and requested a room at the back of the hotel. The wifi only really works well in the dining room, we had connection problems in our room.
There are restaurants accross the road which were quite nice and the tube just 2 mins up the road, the tube staff were very helpful, however I suggest you dont get an early start like we did, we got to the station at about 8am, right in the middle of peak hour! The bus which leaves from outside the hotel might be a better alternative.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Duzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2011

Rooms are good for a budget hotel with everything you need, nice bathroom, comfortable beds etc. The local area is not very inspiring but the underground in close by for travel into central London. The staff could do with some customer service training as they were somewhat unhelpful. The room rate includes what is called 'complimentary continental breakfast'. Don't bother, go accross the road to Wetherspoons and buy breakfast. Poor quaility food, no coffee mugs, no juice glasses, no cutlrey, run out of croissants, messy breakfast area. When staff aproached about issues told 'we are busy this morning'. I have stayed at many 'busy' hotels and have always managed to get breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weekendaway_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

My sister and I stayed at this hotel for a week in March 2011. It was our first visit to London so we didn't really know what to expect, but were extremely happy with this hotel. There is a tube station just a bit down the street (on the grey line - Jubilee), very easy access to all the sights in London if you are planning to use the underground. The hotel itself was clean, nice, modern, but has only the basics (there is no gym, no business center- it's just small counter area by the front desk). the room is small with two twin beds, from what I understand typical for europe. If you are a picky sleeper, the beds may not be ideal - very thin mattress,kind of hard, but overall not bad - my sister and I slept fine. The room we had faced a side alley and was completely quiet at all times. The hotel also provides a nice continental breakfast with hot and cold options. For the money we spent, we were extremely impressed with this hotel. The front desk person and staff were friendly and helpful at all times. there is also a shopping center across right the street with starbucks (get a starbucks card and you'll get free wifi), a grocery store, movie theatre, etc.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank levinkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2011

This is a decent place to stay, as long as you aren't expecting the Ritz. I got what I thought was a very good deal, i.e. about 63 Pounds or USD$100 per night. Considering the price, it was a great value.

PROS:
1. Our room was a decent size, as London hotels go.
2. Electric tea kettle and coffee/tea provided.
3. Bed was quite comfortable.
4. Shower had good pressure and plenty of hot water, something not all London hotels can boast.
5. Though a bit outside of the city center, the Jubilee tube line,1 block down the street from the hotel, gets you into the center in about 15-20 minutes, sometimes requiring a transfer though. The same line connects with the Piccadilly line to Heathrow Airport at Green Park (about an 80 minute trip). Also, the #13 bus takes you to the heart of town and the West End in 30-40 minutes.
5. Large Waitrose supermarket across the street from the Finchley Road subway station, very convenient for self-catering.
6. The hotel has smoking and non-smoking rooms, whereas most of London's hotels seem to have gone 100% non-smoking. The hotel did honor my request for a smoking room with 2 beds.

CONS:
1. No fridge, though there was an ice machine in the lobby.
2. TV only had 5 channels, no 24-hour news channel; and had some kind of short circuit so constantly kept turning off on its own. I reported the short, which was only fixed after a couple of days, but recurred again a couple of days after that.
3. Breakfast low quality and uninteresting, consisting of just cereal, 2 kinds of cheap, fluffy pastries, eggs that tasted of powder, watered-down apple/orange juice, and overly-greasy and not very good fried ham and sausages.
4. Reception staff in desperate need of customer service and etiquette training - I arrived on an early morning trans-Atlantic flight, and had requested an early check-in; upon arrival the receptionist said this would cost 60 Pounds; I protested, as I've never heard of such a thing, and asked to speak to the manager, who checked the computer and said the receptionist had been mistaken about the availability of a room in the first place as there were now supposedly none available; but the whole episode seemed a bit like a scam. Then, seeing as I had no room, and was starving and exhausted, I asked to have breakfast that day, and skip it the day I checked out, something tons of other hotels have allowed me to do in the past; here it required a 10 minute argument with the manager who eventually relented.

All in all, I've stayed in better hotels, and I've stayed in worse. But considering the hotel's proximity to transportation and a supermarket, as well as the center of town, it was a great value for London. I could see returning, as long as the price were right; though some nicer and more competent staff, along with a better breakfast, could really brighten up the place; but then that would probably increase the rates, so perhaps things really are acceptable as they are.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikes66682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse
Quality Hotel Hampstead
#599 of 1,069 in London
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Langorf Hotel
#619 of 1,069 in London
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage

Property: Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage
Address: 152-156 Finchley Road, London NW3 5HS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#128 Family Hotel in London
#220 Business Hotel in London
#255 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the enjoyment of a warm welcome & benefit from convenient location at the Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage – 7 minutes from central London.This newly renovated, contemporary hotel, has excellent transport links being adjacent to Finchley Road Tube station. Finchley Road & Frognal overground station is also only 3 mins walk from the Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage. National Express coaches serving Stansted & Luton stop directly outside the hotel. Enjoy sightseeing & the culture London has to offer by hopping on an 82, 113 or 13 Routemaster bus.Attentive, friendly & multi-lingual staff are waiting to welcome you 24 hours a day to make you feel comfortable and at home by providing you with information about the local area & beyond.Begin & end your day in friendly, sociable surroundings - Start your day with our compliments with free Continental Breakfast & a selection of hot items from the buffet.Relax & unwind after a day’s business or sightseeing in our Cocktail Lounge by enjoying a leisurely drink or one of our speciality hot beverages.42" plasma screens keep you up to date with current affairs and sporting events.Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage has one naturally lit, fully air-conditioned meeting perfect for business meetings for up to 25 people. Our lobby area with wireless internet serves as a break out area for lunches and offers secluded areas suitable for private meetings.The Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage is two train stops from Lord’s Cricket Ground, 4 stops from the West End, Theatreland & central London. It is one train stop from Wembley and with excellent transport links, Westfield (White City & Stratford), Earls Court, Heathrow Airport, Hampstead, Camden Market, Kings Cross St Pancras (Eurostar) and Euston are all in easy reach.When travelling by car, the Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage is conveniently located outside the congestion zone. Our hotel has limited on site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage Hotel London
Holiday Inn London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing