We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage
Ranked #274 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Ideal overnight stay”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We were recommended this by family members who had stayed here previously.
We booked 2 - 3 weeks previous to our stay and paid £85 for a night. An extra £20 for parking to the rear of the hotel due to it's location (there is extremely limited parking so I would advise asking about this when booking).
Free wifi in the hotel, and breakfast comes in the price also, basic but fresh breakfast produce and just what we needed.
The room was clean, but basic.
The bed was comfy, and I even managed to sleep, which is rare in most hotels for me.
Only a 3 - 4 minute walk from Finchley Road tube station, and the bus stop is right outside. Only 20 minutes on the tube to Covent Garden.
The hotel is situated on a very busy main road which is serviced by night buses so can be noisy.
The staff were friendly and we would certainly stay here again

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crazybaresi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    560
    112
    37
    18
See reviews for
460
269
86
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed here for three day trip to London. Perfect for this sort of trip. Staff hard working and attentive. Room clean and comfortable. Breakfast plentiful and variety of good choices. Excellent access to central London; Tube with Jubilee,+ Metropolitan line 5 mins away. Main line station 10 mins other way. I walked to Regents Park in 20 mins slow stroll. Plenty places to eat drink shop, open til midnight, right opposite hotel.

Room Tip: rooms on rear quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kim w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahore
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 4 days. Excellent location right next to the Finchley road station on Jubilee line. Smooth and easy check in. Very comfortable room with tea/coffee facilities. Good breakfast in the morning. we requested a room away from the street and it was very quiet. Very courteous staff.

Room Tip: Room away from the street, higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sabafaisal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasina B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Sabafaisal,

Thank you for posting your 4- Star reveiw of our hotel.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the location and facilities met your expectations. We constantly strive to give a high standrard of customer service and are glad you experienced this during your stay.

Kind Regards,
Hasina. B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The hotel is very good, location a bit far out of London but tube 5mins away.Rooms very clean, our bedroom on front of hotel, but we were not troubled by traffic.Breakfast free but very good. The staff were very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Very good hotel, location not too good but tube 5 mins away, if you are driving there, there is park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisrees100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasina B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Chrisrees100,

Thank you for posting your 4- Star review.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the service and location helpful. We are glad to get the positive feedback for the staff at front desk as we strive to keep up the high standard of customer service.

Kind Regards,
Hasina.B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Really enjoyed my stay here in September, the staff were brilliant and the location was good, far enough out of the city centre but close to the tube station making getting about very easy. The breakfasts were good too.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steven_robb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasina B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear steven_robb1,

Thank you for posting your 5- Star reveiw of our hotel.

We appreciate your positive comments and feedback and glad you enjoyed your stay.
Your comments have been relayed to the hotel team and we are delighted that you found the whole experience pleasing.

We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Hasina.B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

The hotel itself is very well situated for the price, close to Finchley Road underground station giving good access to the rest of London. The road it is on is itself pretty busy though which causes some noise if you have a room at the front like we did. There is a complex directly opposite with a few bars and restaurants and a cinema in, and there is also a Sainsburys for any supplies needed.

The rooms are very small indeed, especially if there is more than one person in the room and you have luggage. However, they were clean and well-furnished. If you don't plan on spending much time in your room then they're perfectly adequate.

The reception staff ordered us a taxi to take us to Hampstead which made us feel a bit uneasy becaus the chap that picked us up was in a car that wasn't marked as a taxi and didn't have a taxi ID displayed. This is something that probably should be communicated to the taxi company they use because we were tempted not to get into it.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VAHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasina B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear VAHall,

Thank you for posting your 4-Star review.

It is always a pleasure to receive feedback which shows we have been able to surprise & delight our guests. In our striving to be a Great Hotel Guests Love, we are always looking for ways in which we can make our guests feel "at home" when they are on the road and we are glad that we managed to meet your needs.

Thank you for bringing the matter to our attention in regards to the taxi that was booked for you. We can assure you we use a licensed mini cab service which we have been using for a long time now and have always provided us with excellent service.

We apologise for the inconvenience during your travels and will feed this back to the taxi service manager to make him aware of the situation, to allow all of our guests to feel comfortable and safe when booking with them.

We hope this experience has not made you feel uneasy for us to welcome you back again sometime in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Hasina.B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

This hotel is clean,modern ,very well situated near both train and metro station.
Easy connections to different parts of the city and what makes me happy -even surpriced-
There is not a complex attitude of nowadays use of Wi-Fi.
Because no negative things, good breakfast,warm and friendly staff and reasonable price,the hotel is excellent choice for spending nights.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jari l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasina B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear jari L,

Thank you posting your 4- Star review.

It is always a pleasure to receive feedback which shows we have been able to surprise & delight our guests. In our striving to be a Great Hotel Guests Love, we are always looking for ways in which we can make our guests feel "at home" when they are on the road and we are glad that we managed to meet your needs.

We are thrilled to hear there were no negatives during your stay and look forward to seeing you again sometime in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Hasina. B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse
Quality Hotel Hampstead
#605 of 1,069 in London
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Langorf Hotel
#624 of 1,069 in London
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage

Property: Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage
Address: 152-156 Finchley Road, London NW3 5HS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#128 Family Hotel in London
#220 Business Hotel in London
#255 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the enjoyment of a warm welcome & benefit from convenient location at the Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage – 7 minutes from central London.This newly renovated, contemporary hotel, has excellent transport links being adjacent to Finchley Road Tube station. Finchley Road & Frognal overground station is also only 3 mins walk from the Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage. National Express coaches serving Stansted & Luton stop directly outside the hotel. Enjoy sightseeing & the culture London has to offer by hopping on an 82, 113 or 13 Routemaster bus.Attentive, friendly & multi-lingual staff are waiting to welcome you 24 hours a day to make you feel comfortable and at home by providing you with information about the local area & beyond.Begin & end your day in friendly, sociable surroundings - Start your day with our compliments with free Continental Breakfast & a selection of hot items from the buffet.Relax & unwind after a day’s business or sightseeing in our Cocktail Lounge by enjoying a leisurely drink or one of our speciality hot beverages.42" plasma screens keep you up to date with current affairs and sporting events.Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage has one naturally lit, fully air-conditioned meeting perfect for business meetings for up to 25 people. Our lobby area with wireless internet serves as a break out area for lunches and offers secluded areas suitable for private meetings.The Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage is two train stops from Lord’s Cricket Ground, 4 stops from the West End, Theatreland & central London. It is one train stop from Wembley and with excellent transport links, Westfield (White City & Stratford), Earls Court, Heathrow Airport, Hampstead, Camden Market, Kings Cross St Pancras (Eurostar) and Euston are all in easy reach.When travelling by car, the Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage is conveniently located outside the congestion zone. Our hotel has limited on site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage Hotel London
Holiday Inn London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing