We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is great for a London visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage
Ranked #301 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We booked 4 rooms at this hotel over the New Year period. Check in was good, but we ended up with rooms on all different floors and although we asked for road facing, we ending up getting the lousy view of the wall behind the hotel. The room itself is extremely tiny, hardly any room to move. Bathroom was clean. 3-in-1 cleansing liquid provided in bathroom which serves as a Shampoo, Shower Gel, Soap.

Breakfast was simple with the same variety everyday, not good for a 5 night stay. Staff can barely speak ENGLISH for a UK hotel. I was astonished. It was beyond me, that I came to England and the front desk staff both could hardly get a basic English word out. This was dissapointing as they could not assist with transport or simple subway questions.

On the plus side, wifi was free, breakfast was included and the lobby is quite clean, neat and welcoming. Location is perfect as its a 3min walk to the Finchley stop on the Jubilee Line. Connects to Madame Tussauds museum in just 1 stop which is Baker Street. You can also catch the hop on hop off bus in Baker street.

All in all, a decent stay but my next trip to London, I'll be looking for a better hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DiamondMerchant2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

440 - 446 of 1,172 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

Just returned from 5 night stay at this hotel. In response to previous comments about road noise,sent e-mail requesting 'quiet room', which was acknowledged with reply and on arrival we were allocated a clean and comfortable room at the back of the hotel on the 6th floor. All staff were very friendly and breakfast was plentiful with a good choice. Free Wi-Fi is also available. Finchley Road tube station is a 10 min. walk away with direct access to central London and there is also a very regular bus service. Across the road from the hotel is the O2 centre with Sainsbury's supermarket, cinema, eating places and an excellent 'Wetherspoons'.
Would highly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting London

Room Tip: We asked for a room at the rear because some previous reports had remarked about traffic noise in fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We were recommended this by family members who had stayed here previously.
We booked 2 - 3 weeks previous to our stay and paid £85 for a night. An extra £20 for parking to the rear of the hotel due to it's location (there is extremely limited parking so I would advise asking about this when booking).
Free wifi in the hotel, and breakfast comes in the price also, basic but fresh breakfast produce and just what we needed.
The room was clean, but basic.
The bed was comfy, and I even managed to sleep, which is rare in most hotels for me.
Only a 3 - 4 minute walk from Finchley Road tube station, and the bus stop is right outside. Only 20 minutes on the tube to Covent Garden.
The hotel is situated on a very busy main road which is serviced by night buses so can be noisy.
The staff were friendly and we would certainly stay here again

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crazybaresi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed here for three day trip to London. Perfect for this sort of trip. Staff hard working and attentive. Room clean and comfortable. Breakfast plentiful and variety of good choices. Excellent access to central London; Tube with Jubilee,+ Metropolitan line 5 mins away. Main line station 10 mins other way. I walked to Regents Park in 20 mins slow stroll. Plenty places to eat drink shop, open til midnight, right opposite hotel.

Room Tip: rooms on rear quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kim w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 4 days. Excellent location right next to the Finchley road station on Jubilee line. Smooth and easy check in. Very comfortable room with tea/coffee facilities. Good breakfast in the morning. we requested a room away from the street and it was very quiet. Very courteous staff.

Room Tip: Room away from the street, higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sabafaisal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasina B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Sabafaisal,

Thank you for posting your 4- Star reveiw of our hotel.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the location and facilities met your expectations. We constantly strive to give a high standrard of customer service and are glad you experienced this during your stay.

Kind Regards,
Hasina. B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The hotel is very good, location a bit far out of London but tube 5mins away.Rooms very clean, our bedroom on front of hotel, but we were not troubled by traffic.Breakfast free but very good. The staff were very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Very good hotel, location not too good but tube 5 mins away, if you are driving there, there is park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisrees100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasina B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Chrisrees100,

Thank you for posting your 4- Star review.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the service and location helpful. We are glad to get the positive feedback for the staff at front desk as we strive to keep up the high standard of customer service.

Kind Regards,
Hasina.B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Really enjoyed my stay here in September, the staff were brilliant and the location was good, far enough out of the city centre but close to the tube station making getting about very easy. The breakfasts were good too.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steven_robb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasina B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear steven_robb1,

Thank you for posting your 5- Star reveiw of our hotel.

We appreciate your positive comments and feedback and glad you enjoyed your stay.
Your comments have been relayed to the hotel team and we are delighted that you found the whole experience pleasing.

We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Hasina.B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
The Langorf Hotel
#640 of 1,076 in London
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse
Holiday Inn London - West
#254 of 1,076 in London
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage

Address: 152-156 Finchley Road, London NW3 5HS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#219 Business Hotel in London
#253 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £60 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the enjoyment of a warm welcome & benefit from convenient location at the Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage – 7 minutes from central London.This newly renovated, contemporary hotel, has excellent transport links being adjacent to Finchley Road Tube station. Finchley Road & Frognal overground station is also only 3 mins walk from the Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage. National Express coaches serving Stansted & Luton stop directly outside the hotel. Enjoy sightseeing & the culture London has to offer by hopping on an 82, 113 or 13 Routemaster bus.Attentive, friendly & multi-lingual staff are waiting to welcome you 24 hours a day to make you feel comfortable and at home by providing you with information about the local area & beyond.Begin & end your day in friendly, sociable surroundings - Start your day with our compliments with free Continental Breakfast & a selection of hot items from the buffet.Relax & unwind after a day’s business or sightseeing in our Cocktail Lounge by enjoying a leisurely drink or one of our speciality hot beverages.42" plasma screens keep you up to date with current affairs and sporting events.Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage has one naturally lit, fully air-conditioned meeting perfect for business meetings for up to 25 people. Our lobby area with wireless internet serves as a break out area for lunches and offers secluded areas suitable for private meetings.The Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage is two train stops from Lord’s Cricket Ground, 4 stops from the West End, Theatreland & central London. It is one train stop from Wembley and with excellent transport links, Westfield (White City & Stratford), Earls Court, Heathrow Airport, Hampstead, Camden Market, Kings Cross St Pancras (Eurostar) and Euston are all in easy reach.When travelling by car, the Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage is conveniently located outside the congestion zone. Our hotel has limited on site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage Hotel London
Holiday Inn London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing