We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable value for London”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage
Ranked #300 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I stayed here for 1 night on a business trip and it suited me just fine, The room was well-kept and a reasonable size but much of the space was taken up by the extended and made up sofa bed which meant the desk area was inaccessible; luckily I didn't need to use the desk. Unlike some others I didn't find the noise from the main road that loud and I slept fine. The WiFi was free and fast.

Breakfast was a bit disappointing: tinned grapefruit was the only fruit option.

The location is 2 mins walk from Finchley Road tube which is served by both Bakerloo and Metropolitan lines.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dublin_boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

431 - 437 of 1,173 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2014

Stayed here for one night as I was attending a seminar at the Tavistock and it is just around the corner. Easy to find from Finchley Road underground, come out of the station, cross the road and turn left and you will be there in but a few minutes. Very friendly and efficient greeting on arrival. I had taken the advice from here and had asked for a room at the back of the building when I booked and this had been noted and given to us. The whole building was lovely and clean, especially so the room and bathroom. Others have mentioned the rooms being small but, for London, I found ours was fine and, with an enormous bed! Tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Breakfast was included in, what I felt for London, was a very reasonable rate of £76.50. It was ok with plentiful supplies. Cooked breakfast was just beans, sausages and scrambled eggs which, I felt was a bit basic (no tomatoes, mushrooms or choice of eggs) but there was a choice of yoghurt, pastries, fruit, and some cheese, all be it pre packed.

No facilities to eat in the hotel of an evening but this really wasn't a problem as there is an entertainment centre opposite with several well known eateries like Weatherspoons and with several other places to eat just down the road. There is also a Sainsburys in the entertainment centre so a good place for supplies and, if you are a Virgin Active member take your membership card as they can also be found in the centre.

Room Tip: book a room at the back of the building if you want a quiet room as Finchley Road is very busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesley r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

very good choice for price demanded. small room so is shower+ toilet, but very clean ! staff friendly and helpfull. Finchely Road station opposite hotel and so is Sainsbury.we had a back room and heard no noise from main street.

Room Tip: room at the back side -you dont hear street npiose
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ada n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

This is a very solid choice for regular visitors to London.
Very near the tube and opposite O2 centre with a wide selection of dining options.
Good breakfast, friendly and efficient staff and nice lobby area.
Only (slight) drawback is that rooms facing Finchlay road are a bit noisy. Better to get a room at the back.
Overall, great value for money and thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelLimassol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This was a lovely hotel: clean, polite staff, lovely choice for breakfast. No bacon though. There was a bit of noise coming from the main road. But that is to be expected. Bathroom lovely and clean and the bed was sooo cumfy!

Would definitely return

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Lindy818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I spent 6 nights in this hotel and overall it was my best experience with HIE so far. First because I followed an advice I read here in tripadvisor and emailed the hotel asking for a quiet room. Not only I got a very polite and nice reply, but got the quieter room I've stayed in a location so busy.
The staff was super nice, from check in to check out I only met cheerful and polite people who would explain in details everything I needed to know and even went out of their way to make sure I had information. During my check out I mentioned I would take the tube and train to Gatwick and Mr. Davendra Kumar was concerned if the trains were operating due to the floods and strikes Uk has been facing lately. He verified everything to me and said all would be ok. I haven't asked, he did it because he provides great service to the guests, and this was at 5 am, what made me even more surprised and thankful.
Only improvements I could think of are the terrible pillows, even with the different tags they are all the same, hard a lumpy, however the bed was pretty comfy.
The internet system to get a daily password could be improved, the speed was very good, but remeber daily to ask for a new password is something that should not be asked to a guest.
apart from that all great. Rooms were very clean, small, but good enough, breakfast was great, many options, including gluten free food and they even serve special food if you let them know in advance.
I would definitly stay again if I come back to London, location is fine, tube just accross the street, a small mall also just in front, several dining places and 2 supermarkets very close by. Around 10 minutes jorney to central London. Price is very fair for the location and what is offered

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are surprisily quiet considering the busy location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TPietscher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Stayed one night. Single female traveler. Friendly treating by Italian speaking receptionist. Plat membership acknowledged and offer of extra points or drink made. Room as spotless as always. Breakfast hot options included bacon. Seamless check out with Tamas.
Much better than higher graded hotels in IHG.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank BirminghamMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
The Langorf Hotel
#648 of 1,076 in London
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse
Holiday Inn London - West
#254 of 1,076 in London
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage

Address: 152-156 Finchley Road, London NW3 5HS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#219 Business Hotel in London
#253 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £60 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the enjoyment of a warm welcome & benefit from convenient location at the Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage – 7 minutes from central London.This newly renovated, contemporary hotel, has excellent transport links being adjacent to Finchley Road Tube station. Finchley Road & Frognal overground station is also only 3 mins walk from the Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage. National Express coaches serving Stansted & Luton stop directly outside the hotel. Enjoy sightseeing & the culture London has to offer by hopping on an 82, 113 or 13 Routemaster bus.Attentive, friendly & multi-lingual staff are waiting to welcome you 24 hours a day to make you feel comfortable and at home by providing you with information about the local area & beyond.Begin & end your day in friendly, sociable surroundings - Start your day with our compliments with free Continental Breakfast & a selection of hot items from the buffet.Relax & unwind after a day’s business or sightseeing in our Cocktail Lounge by enjoying a leisurely drink or one of our speciality hot beverages.42" plasma screens keep you up to date with current affairs and sporting events.Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage has one naturally lit, fully air-conditioned meeting perfect for business meetings for up to 25 people. Our lobby area with wireless internet serves as a break out area for lunches and offers secluded areas suitable for private meetings.The Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage is two train stops from Lord’s Cricket Ground, 4 stops from the West End, Theatreland & central London. It is one train stop from Wembley and with excellent transport links, Westfield (White City & Stratford), Earls Court, Heathrow Airport, Hampstead, Camden Market, Kings Cross St Pancras (Eurostar) and Euston are all in easy reach.When travelling by car, the Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage is conveniently located outside the congestion zone. Our hotel has limited on site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage Hotel London
Holiday Inn London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing