We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pay for Best - Get Less”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage
Ranked #260 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
219 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Pay for Best - Get Less”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

No one said hotels in London would be cheap, but Holiday Inn Express has redefined "minimal" in this property. Here's the list: the "welcome tray" was nothing more than a coffee pot and cups, there were NO drawers, the total of FIVE hangers for your clothes meant most things stayed in the suitcase (which, by the way, had to remain ON THE FLOOR), the space between the wall and the door meant you could not use the hair dryer without banging elbows into the shelf (and the hair dryer is NOT in the bathroom), the room is so small that two people can't pass each other around the beds, if you want an extra towel you must go down to reception to get it, if you sit at the desk, you can't get to past the bed, if you want to change the room temperature you have to have the staff come to the room to do it (you are not given permission to set the temperature yourself), there are no notepads, you are provided with ONE towel and the "power shower" is a hand-held normal shower head. All in all, this is a room for someone who really isn't traveling. You could survive ONE night if you don't mind having none of the usual hotel expectations, but, this is London. Who knows what people actually expect for their money here? As for me, I'll go to Genoa where the Best Western Metropolie does a superb job for less money.

Room Tip: Don't! Find someplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skip15000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear skip15000,

Thank you for your valuable feedback about your recent stay with us. I am sincerely sorry for the shortcomings experienced on this occasion particularly with the level of customer service received and if the room you were given did not suit your standards. We take all feedback negative or positive very seriously and your comments will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    544
    107
    36
    18
See reviews for
448
261
84
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Date:21st - 23rd March. Room:609.
After navigating the underground on busy times. We (my friend and I) finally found the holiday inn hotel. Looking from the pictures looked very beautiful up close. Was an easy check in and relieved as we didn't want to do paperwork.
So room inspection! App on arrival to our room, I was slightly nervous as a new hotel new stuff. And was not let down in the least. We entered and had bathroom on the left and bedroom straight up. Very clean and refreshing. Special mention for the bathroom lights. There were two switches one for main lights and one for the blue lights to add to atmosphere. Very impressed. Also the shower was lovely and interconnecting door was weird but modest.
For the first night sleep was lovely waking up at 9 am due to late breakfast times... which we loved!!!
Breakfast: so as we entered the breakfast lounge! Yes lounge! We were greeted politely and wished a good day to us. Very nice for the start to the morning.
We chosen our seats and went to get our breakfast. Scrambled eggs beans sausage and bacon. Though I wish you had mushrooms. Would have topped it off. Hey I carnt be greedy as it was lovely way to start the day.
Throughout our stay we felt relaxed and never made to feel we were rushed.
Check out was just as easy as checking in and we're departed with have a good day.
Me and my friend will be hoping to visit London soon and we will be definitely booking the Holiday Inn on finchley road.
Thank you for looking after us. You did good.
Negatives:
Nothings ever perfect and to be honest I see it as an opportunity to fix stuff before new customers/guests turn up.
1. Loose coat hanger on wall was loose.
2.shower head was leaking.
Only those two issues we had found. Don't take this as a huge negative as everything else was perfect.
So once again thank you for looking after us. We will be back! :)

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Glyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stopped for one night and found the hotel to be warm and comfortable. All the staff are lovely - very friendly and helpful. We chose the hotel because the prices are reasonable and it is near to Lords Cricket Ground (about 25 minutes on foot) and we were going on the Lords tour. The tube station is only two minutes walk, Wetherspoons opposite is ideal for a drink and inexpensive evening meal. The hotel breakfast was also very good (scrambled egg, toast and beans as we don't eat meat) and plenty of coffee and juice, In short, the place is a clean, comfortable, well priced budget hotel with great staff. We will definitely stop here again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daveh55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Hotel is neat,tidy and clean. Had a good stay and all my destinations were within easy reach from the overground and underground. The problem i found was that as i travelled with a couple we had 2 separate rooms. The hassle this caused was unbelievable, its not hard for someone to pay for 2 rooms is it ?? Well it is for this place, it wasn't helped by the fact that the reception staff's grip of the English language wasn't that good, saying that tho they were friendly and in the end it was sorted out. I would stay there again but book the room for myself because i don't want to go through that hassle again !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Duncan G,

As always we are glad to read feedback from one of our valued guests. We are very pleased that you have noticed the cleanliness of the property. Please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered over the billing. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests as this matter will be discussed with the staff. Once again, thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Stayed here while visiting London. Location is good in relation to tube stop so doesn't take too long to get into Central. Its also opposite a small shopping centre which has a supermarket as well as number of eateries, including Nandos, Yo Shushi and a Weatherspoons amongst others. Staff were great at the hotel, very pleasant and welcoming. Breakfast wasn't amazing but if its included im not going to complain. Rooms were cleaned crisp - I had a room at the front of the hotel which overlooks the main road so it could potentially pose a problem for the lighter sleeper.

All in all it was a great stay.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel would be quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank -_-_dharms_g_-_-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

What a pleasant surprise we had !
You'd be wrong to expect just another cookie-cutter, part-of-a-chain hotel experience here.
The staff are lovely !
The place itself is standard issue HI so you know it'll be reasonable but we found everything to our liking.
The location is excellent. You exit Swiss Cottage tube, turn left, walk 300-400 Meters, cross at the traffic lights and you're at the front door. Rest assured, you will see the hotel on the other side of the road within 60 seconds of leaving the tube station.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank GotaFamilyNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Stayed here overnight while visiting our son who lives close by, the hotel exceeded my expectations in all aspects. Friendly and efficient staff, clean and comfortable room and lovely breakfast. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clarins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Langorf Hotel
#539 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage

Property: Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage
Address: 152-156 Finchley Road, London NW3 5HS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#128 Family Hotel in London
#220 Business Hotel in London
#255 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the enjoyment of a warm welcome & benefit from convenient location at the Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage – 7 minutes from central London.This newly renovated, contemporary hotel, has excellent transport links being adjacent to Finchley Road Tube station. Finchley Road & Frognal overground station is also only 3 mins walk from the Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage. National Express coaches serving Stansted & Luton stop directly outside the hotel. Enjoy sightseeing & the culture London has to offer by hopping on an 82, 113 or 13 Routemaster bus.Attentive, friendly & multi-lingual staff are waiting to welcome you 24 hours a day to make you feel comfortable and at home by providing you with information about the local area & beyond.Begin & end your day in friendly, sociable surroundings - Start your day with our compliments with free Continental Breakfast & a selection of hot items from the buffet.Relax & unwind after a day’s business or sightseeing in our Cocktail Lounge by enjoying a leisurely drink or one of our speciality hot beverages.42" plasma screens keep you up to date with current affairs and sporting events.Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage has one naturally lit, fully air-conditioned meeting perfect for business meetings for up to 25 people. Our lobby area with wireless internet serves as a break out area for lunches and offers secluded areas suitable for private meetings.The Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage is two train stops from Lord’s Cricket Ground, 4 stops from the West End, Theatreland & central London. It is one train stop from Wembley and with excellent transport links, Westfield (White City & Stratford), Earls Court, Heathrow Airport, Hampstead, Camden Market, Kings Cross St Pancras (Eurostar) and Euston are all in easy reach.When travelling by car, the Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage is conveniently located outside the congestion zone. Our hotel has limited on site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage Hotel London
Holiday Inn London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing