We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Ranked #506 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I didn't know what to expect from this hotel as the website didn't really make it clear. The Clarendon is one of a series of Georgian town houses along Bedford place, all run by Grange Hotels. I had an executive room, which was quite roomy for English standards, furnishings were lovely. Breakfast was included. All quite nice. Russell square is just down the street and the British Museum just around the corner. And near several Underground stops, too. I'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard, rather than the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank woodzey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the location convenient. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next visit to England.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    242
    100
    38
    25
See reviews for
60
222
29
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We booked here recently for two nights, and our stay was fine, the room was large and spacious and the room was well equipped with tea/coffee making facilities, fridge etc. The location was excellent for most areas, the British Museum is just around the corner and Covent Garden, Oxford Street, Leicester Square and the Riverbank are all within walking distance! The hotel was clean, well kept and the staff very pleasant and attentive!
The disappointing side to this trip is the fact that despite booking The Clarendon Hotel we were actually placed in The Portland (group hotel) next door and we were asked to check in there! so we never actually got to stay in the hotel I had chose for our stay! what is even more disappointing is the way this 'other room' was presented, as an 'upgrade'!! now in terms of rooms I cant compare as I didn't actually see the room in The Clarendon but I doubt very much we were upgraded, upgrades in my experience usually benefit the customer but in our case we had to go back into the street and to The Clarendon if we wished to use any of the hotel facilities, bar and every morning for our breakfast. This certainly was not an upgrade and personally felt our intelligence was insulted!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your review. The two hotels are almost identical with the same decor and original features however the Clarendon has a restaurant. The upgrade would have related to the size of the room and all the rooms in the Portland have kitchenettes as well. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the surrounding area we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

we had never been to London so we didn't know where to stay. my travel agent booked us here and it was a great find. At first it seemed really out of the way but it's literally around the corner from the British Museum. It's walking distance to just about every place (we don't mind a 20 minute walk). We walked to Trafalgar square, past many theaters, the London Eye, Big Ben, St. Paul's even Borough Market.
The hotel offered us breakfast every morning. It was fine - nothing too elaborate but totally fine. There is wifi in the hotel which was a big help. The room was small, but it was fine for us. The bathroom was very nice and clean. I didn't notice any air conditioning in the room and we happened to have hot weather. We had our window open, but there is no screen so we had a few flys come in. we were very happy with this hotel and would totally consider staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuZQ1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
So pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to visit all the local attractions easily. I hope that you will return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winchester
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I was attending a conference in Russell Square so it was ideally located. The room was small but equipped helpfully. It was a clean and up together room - fit for purpose. In comparison to the hotel I had stayed at near Oxford the preceding evening, this hotel fared very favorably. The bar is very small and almost missable, but a drink was successfully ordered and enjoyed on the tiny terrace that seats 4. If I needed to be in the area again, I would certainly consider the possibility of staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Discerning_Diner_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for posting your response. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay in the Clarendon Townhouse style hotel and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2014

First trip to London so didn't really know best area to stay. Glad to say hotel was really nice. Location was great with tube nearby, staff were helpful and able to leave bags after checkout as we had a late train home. Would definitely use again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed the Clarendon and your first visit to London. There is so much to do in London, we hope you will be back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Collection of London Town houses converted to a Hotel. To me it felt like a posh B&B, with a bar service. As expected, the space is at a premium, corridors are narrow and a double room was tight for space. However, the cleanliness was top class. The variable rates are handy, but £135 for a Tuesday night was a bit dearer.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suru E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Glad you found the hotel to be spotlessly clean. As a listed Townhouse within a conservation area the rooms do vary in style and shape. I hope the weather was good while you were there and you were able to enjoy the garden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We have stayed at the Clarendon before and were happy to return again last weekend. It is a short walk from Euston station, in a quiet street off Russell Square and just around the corner from the British Museum. Other West End attractions including theatres and Covent Garden are within easy walking distance. The staff are welcoming, the rooms furnished to a high standard, there is a lounge bar and good choice of breakfast. By London standards the price is reasonable and unless you are looking for facilities to suit a longer stay this is perfect for an overnight stop.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in 04 are next to the lift, which means you may be disturbed by noise from the lift at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#300 of 1,069 in London
808 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Portland Hotel
Grange Portland Hotel
#617 of 1,069 in London
176 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Buckingham Hotel
Grange Buckingham Hotel
#579 of 1,069 in London
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Grange White Hall Hotel
Grange White Hall Hotel
#588 of 1,069 in London
638 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Blooms Hotel
Grange Blooms Hotel
#572 of 1,069 in London
314 reviews
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#360 of 1,069 in London
2,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Clarendon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Clarendon Hotel

Property: Grange Clarendon Hotel
Address: 34-37 Bedford Place | Bloomsbury, London WC1B 5JR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#275 Romantic Hotel in London
#319 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Clarendon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grange Clarendon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing