We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel - lovely attention to details”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Charlotte Street Hotel
Ranked #32 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton Parish, Bermuda
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel - lovely attention to details”
Reviewed 16 October 2011

London was the final leg of a 3 week European adventure (Venice - Rome - Amalfi - Paris - London). This hotel was perfect - the attention to detail in the rooms was excellent. As a former hotel General Manager I was quite impressed - the team was also great. Aileen from Concierge was terrific. She carried our bags, arranged our restaurant reservations - she was there night and day! We were only here two nights, but loved the hotel. The wifi was great too - the fastest we've experienced. Only one complaint, Eric arranged our transport to Gatwick on the last day - he suggested we upgrade from a taxi to the car service which would be more comfortable. The driver was excellent - navigating through the traffic to finally get on the M4 with ease. But one tiny dilemma.... now my husband wants to buy a Jaguar. Thanks alot, Eric. :-)

Room Tip: I don't think you could go wrong booking any category room at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaleiaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    529
    122
    16
    7
    1
See reviews for
104
263
20
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Best best location! close to bar/restaurants/oxford street/ soho/ gardens/ super markets etc etc etc. Nothing to complain except that we didn't know that internet was a surcharge on top of the room fee, but in the end, they didn't charge us, guess it's becoz we stayed over 40 nights all together.
Only thing that might worry Chinese guests is that they do not have water boiler in room, I was dying to drink something 'HOT' in the room.
It will be even cooler if they can have a weight scale in the room, it is just too easy to put on weight in London with massive drinking and eating.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mamamayya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2011

great location, great service and enough off the main drag to be almost serene... came here for a romantic surprise weekend and cannot recommend highly enough... not cheap though.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire england
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

what can i say just a lovely english hotel of the best u can find in a fantastic location

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeans-r-us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We had a recent one night stay (Saturday night) at the Charlotte Street hotel. For those not familiar with this part of London, it's in a great central location, close to plenty of restaurants, bars and shops - you'll struggle to find a better spot.

The decor is stylish (although possibly not to everyone's taste), the bar is lively (early evening at least) and the food/breakfast is tip-top. However, what sets this hotel apart is the excellent service both the easy charm of the staff and the little touches in the rooms. Our only minor quibble was that the bar was shut when we got back (about midnight), possibly on account of the local residents, although there is an honesty bar in the study for dedicated drinkers. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seascale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We have stayed at the Charlotte Street many times now as it has become a firm favourite of ours over the years. Stylish, yet homey and very comfortable. The restaurant has a nice buzz to it but the lounge areas are very relaxing and welcoming and great places to just sit and chat over afternoon tea or a drink from the honesty bar. The staff are very friendly and professional and the attention to detail and sense of hospitality are very much in evidence. The location is also really ideal - within walking distance of the theatre district and the shops of Oxford Street and yet on a quiet, charming street full of little restaurants and cafés. A real find!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely - I haven't been disappointed yet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wadadlicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

3rd stay at this hotel and still pleased with the service and rooms. Stayed in the junior suite which was comfortable for 2.
Perfect for a central london location with all locations within easy travelling distance.
Not a hotel for lounging but perfect for a short break of shopping and theatre. Restaurant on the pricey side but guaranteed lively atmostphere. Have given 4 stars to reflect the price value for money, but overall a 5 star stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perfectionista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
Sanderson London Hotel
Sanderson London Hotel
#55 of 1,067 in London
1,801 reviews
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#21 of 1,067 in London
1,449 reviews
Fitzrovia
The London EDITION
The London EDITION
#70 of 1,067 in London
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#33 of 1,067 in London
2,155 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#54 of 1,067 in London
3,174 reviews
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#13 of 1,067 in London
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlotte Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlotte Street Hotel

Property: Charlotte Street Hotel
Address: 15-17 Charlotte Street, London W1T 1RJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in London
#19 Romantic Hotel in London
#32 Luxury Hotel in London
#35 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Charlotte Street Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charlotte Street Hotel is situated in the media neighbourhood just north of Soho. It is a minute's walk from leafy Soho Square and the theatre district, within easy reach of the financial centre and is surrounded by some of London's best bars, restaurants and cafes. Designer Kit Kemp has used a 'Bloomsbury Group' theme throughout the hotel which features original art from the period and a mural in the brasserie reflecting scenes of 'contemporary London life'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Charlotte Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Street London
Hotel Charlotte Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing