We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish and cool” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charlotte Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Charlotte Street Hotel
Ranked #33 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stylish and cool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Great hotel with comfortable rooms and a great bar / bistro. It is unstuffy and rooms come with a host of nice touches including some spray for your pillow which apparently helps you sleep (that is if the honesty bar has not already helped that process). has a sister hotel in Knightsbridge which is also well worth a stay

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Horsesarse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    505
    117
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
94
256
18
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Nice room, nice bathrooms, nice location. Few niggles.

Wasn't asked for complimentary paper preference on checkin so no complimentary paper the next day. Only asked because we noticed them outside other rooms.

The bar is always very busy, if you're after somewhere bustling and noisy, great.

The breakfast was chaotic. We weren't asked for our orders or tea/coffee for at least ten minutes after sitting down. Other people around us were struggling to get toast/drinks/orders taken too. If you're charging top prices for breakfast, I expect top service too.

If you have bad knees or hips there are steps (4 or 5?) down from the bedroom to the bathroom.

There is no tea making facility in the rooms. You have to ring room service.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NorthLondonNoMore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

I have stayed here a few times and plan to go back next month. The staff is very helpful in finding restaurants - all good and giving advice when requested. The rooms are lovely - charming and roomy and with a distinctive style. The location of this small, boutiquey hotel is ideally located - it is close to many things with easy access to the Tube, yet still in a quiet, tree lined, beautiful neighborhood. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank parbez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton Parish, Bermuda
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

London was the final leg of a 3 week European adventure (Venice - Rome - Amalfi - Paris - London). This hotel was perfect - the attention to detail in the rooms was excellent. As a former hotel General Manager I was quite impressed - the team was also great. Aileen from Concierge was terrific. She carried our bags, arranged our restaurant reservations - she was there night and day! We were only here two nights, but loved the hotel. The wifi was great too - the fastest we've experienced. Only one complaint, Eric arranged our transport to Gatwick on the last day - he suggested we upgrade from a taxi to the car service which would be more comfortable. The driver was excellent - navigating through the traffic to finally get on the M4 with ease. But one tiny dilemma.... now my husband wants to buy a Jaguar. Thanks alot, Eric. :-)

Room Tip: I don't think you could go wrong booking any category room at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaleiaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

Best best location! close to bar/restaurants/oxford street/ soho/ gardens/ super markets etc etc etc. Nothing to complain except that we didn't know that internet was a surcharge on top of the room fee, but in the end, they didn't charge us, guess it's becoz we stayed over 40 nights all together.
Only thing that might worry Chinese guests is that they do not have water boiler in room, I was dying to drink something 'HOT' in the room.
It will be even cooler if they can have a weight scale in the room, it is just too easy to put on weight in London with massive drinking and eating.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mamamayya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

great location, great service and enough off the main drag to be almost serene... came here for a romantic surprise weekend and cannot recommend highly enough... not cheap though.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire england
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

what can i say just a lovely english hotel of the best u can find in a fantastic location

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeans-r-us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
Sanderson London Hotel
Sanderson London Hotel
#52 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,740 reviews
Fitzrovia
The London EDITION
The London EDITION
#78 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#29 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bloomsbury
#57 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,037 reviews
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#18 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,382 reviews
Soho
Ham Yard Hotel
Ham Yard Hotel
#34 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlotte Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlotte Street Hotel

Property: Charlotte Street Hotel
Address: 15-17 Charlotte Street, London W1T 1RJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in London
#19 Romantic Hotel in London
#33 Luxury Hotel in London
#35 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Charlotte Street Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charlotte Street Hotel is situated in the media neighbourhood just north of Soho. It is a minute's walk from leafy Soho Square and the theatre district, within easy reach of the financial centre and is surrounded by some of London's best bars, restaurants and cafes. Designer Kit Kemp has used a 'Bloomsbury Group' theme throughout the hotel which features original art from the period and a mural in the brasserie reflecting scenes of 'contemporary London life'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Charlotte Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Street London
Hotel Charlotte Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing