We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel I have ever stayed in!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Charlotte Street Hotel
Ranked #36 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2008

This is the best hotel I have ever stayed in! I can not find one negative thing to say about it. Stay, if you can afford it!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AcerLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (700)
There are newer reviews for Charlotte Street Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

602 - 608 of 700 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2008

Location: Located in a great area close to 2 London tube stations. Almost 20 very nice restaurants across 2 adjoining blocks

Lobby/Look of Hotel: Very European. Hotel on street. Very unassuming but clean and nice

Room: Excellent. Very clean. Well furnished. Great bed linen. Bathroom very clean with 5 tub and shower.

Hotel Restaurant: Great for a drink if you come in late at night. Restaurant closes around midnight but they move you to comfortable sofas in their cozy living room with an open bar and an "honesty" service (you sign for your drinks)

Spa/Gym: Gym is small..1 tradmill, i cycling machine, some weights. But I never found anyone there..you should easily be able to get in a workout

Service: The staff is very friendly. Also the room is cleaned twice a day..(small thing.. but at night they leave this pillow mist on the bed..which is a nice touch). Price included breakfast which could also be room service. We had omlette, coffee/tea and sausages..which was included and delivered in form of a wake up call. Great!

Price: Found it a great deal at 215GBP per night before VAT. This included breakfast for 2.

Other: N/A

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank reportingfromupclose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2008

This was my fourth stay at Charlotte Street. I usually love this hotel, but this visit had some problems: they were painting the floor I was staying on, meaning that a painter, paint fumes, and vacuum noises permeated the small (and stuffy) hallway in front of my room; one of the hotel's two elevators was broken, meaning all staff and guests were forced to use one poky elevator; the housekeeping service seemed much more lax than on previous visits -- the rooms were tidied up at odd hours and quite late in the day for twice a day service; my shower was broken when I arrived and needed to quickly shower, change and leave the premises. For the amount you pay to stay at the Charlotte Street, these are not small matters. The front desk people are all very lovely but sometimes indifferent. Some were indeed quite nice and helpful, but others not so much. It remains a beautiful, well-located hotel, but the management, maintenance and service were surprisingly lacking this time around.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank biztravel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2008

excellent hotel with a small, boutique feel in the heart of central london. very relaxing, clean and comfortable.

I stayed only for one night recently and it was an excellent base to walk around zone 1 - charlotte st itself; soho; down to china town, cov gdn and so on. ate at Roka next door which was excellent.

for some reason the hotel itself had issues delivering breakfast on the sunday. they did not seem overly busy but it took a while for the food to arrive. they were apologetic and helpful though, and we had newspapers and coffees so did not really care.

very relaxing.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alexmews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2008

This hotel has great staff. The location is perfect for the west end bars, clubs and shops. The hotel bar is trendy and the food is quite good. The hotel tends to quote prices net of vat so when you check out, you are in for a shock. Service charge is added to everything in the bar, which I think is wrong and should be left upto the customer to decide. Nice atmosphere trendy and cool, but expensive. (Breakfast for two £50 ontop of £300 for the room)

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank undercoverelephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2008

We spent a night at the Charlotte Street Hotel a few months ago and absolutely loved it. It's a wonderfully calm oasis in a great part of town. Our room was fantastic, wonderful decor and very confortable. Service is impeccable, but surprisingly the atmosphere is very relaxed. The whole stay was perfect from beginning to end.

Stayed: January 2008
Thank travelfrenzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2008

Had a great stay with stylish room, amazing service and great food..... The area is lovely with great little restaurants & shops and good access to the theatres and shopping...

Perfect.

Stayed: December 2007
Thank griffad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
The London EDITION
The London EDITION
#74 of 1,072 in London
1,226 reviews
Fitzrovia
Sanderson London Hotel
Sanderson London Hotel
#60 of 1,072 in London
1,869 reviews
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#19 of 1,072 in London
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#57 of 1,072 in London
3,289 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#35 of 1,072 in London
2,260 reviews
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#17 of 1,072 in London
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlotte Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlotte Street Hotel

Address: 15-17 Charlotte Street, London W1T 1RJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in London
#19 Romantic Hotel in London
#35 Family Hotel in London
#36 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £270 - £696 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Charlotte Street Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charlotte Street Hotel is situated in the media neighbourhood just north of Soho. It is a minute's walk from leafy Soho Square and the theatre district, within easy reach of the financial centre and is surrounded by some of London's best bars, restaurants and cafes. Designer Kit Kemp has used a 'Bloomsbury Group' theme throughout the hotel which features original art from the period and a mural in the brasserie reflecting scenes of 'contemporary London life'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Charlotte Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Street London
Hotel Charlotte Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing