We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream of a place, fabulous staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Charlotte Street Hotel
Ranked #39 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We checked into the Charlotte Street Hotel the night of our wedding for a mad 2 night stay. Despite arriving at 3 in the morning, the welcome was friendly and professional and when they found out I was a little disapointed by the size of the room I'd booked - blaming myself - they immediately and very kindly offered us an upgrade to a junior suite the next day. This turned out to be stunning; beautfily, tastefully furnished and so perfect we felt we were in a dream. They even sent us up a complimentary bottle of chamapagne to celebrate with us. Effortless taste, class and discretion and everything you could hope for in a luxury hotel. And amazingly friendly, couteous and prfessional staff. We can't wait to come back for our anniversary. Or even sooner perhaps. Thanks guys. Really great job. You made my new wife the happiest bride in London on Sunday.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrMooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (725)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

447 - 453 of 725 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013

We have (21 July 2013) just come home from a two night stay at the Charlotte Street Hotel. Our stay was perfect in every way. Food, service and decor all terrific. We had a marvellous dinner as well as two excellent breakfasts. You would expect them to have a decent wine list but we really liked the range of good wines available by the glass. The service excellent, attentive and friendly without being overbearing or stuffy. You get the impression the staff really like working there and take pride in what they are doing. The look and feel of the room and the hotel were everything you would expect for the price but delivered with real elegance and taste - a stylish blend of regency and modern touches. This was a special weekend for us and I struggled a bit with which hotel to book, looking at all the big London names and Mayfair/Park Lane hotels etc, but none of them seemed quite right. I am really pleased I went for the Charlotte Street Hotel instead because we were really thrilled with our stay there. On price - this is clearly an expensive hotel and it doesn't pretend to be anything else, but personally I felt it was worth every penny.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe double room. It was a good size, with two armchairs, small coffee table and writing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights as mix of business and pleasure. Room was large and light and newly decorated. Bar is fun and temptation is too many cocktails. Food and wine good in restaurant. Also it's near some other good places to each such as Roka. Staff are efficient and very helpful. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Turnthepageover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

First time I've stated in this Firmdale Group hotel, but it won't be the last.

As with all their hotels, their are timelessly and beautifully styled. I know of no other decor that I enjoy so much and makes you feel so at home

Staff friendly, room 407 (which was an upgrade) was perfect - Quiet, light and airy and reasonably sized for central London

The bar and restaurant area were again so wonderfully easy on the eye. Achieving that degree of casual elegance takes hard work and real skill, but it really works

Food was good and reasonably priced, as was the wine, and the service.

BUT (There's always a but.....) the slice of Wensleydale cheese I had was as hard as rock. Sort it guys! When you do the hard stuff well, it's pretty rubbish and very disappointing from a customers point of view to drop it on the detail.....I'll be back to check!

All in all brilliant. And the rest of Charlotte street was buzzing too!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VonUngernSternberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Fabulous stay in The Charlotte Street Hotel at the end of May. From the minute we arrived at Reception to checking out we couldn't fault a thing. The staff are lovely, very welcoming and the Bar is one of the best bars I have visited in London, jumping every night with a great crowd. We had ordered breakfast and it didn''t disappoint. Have stayed in The Covent Garden Hotel which is another Firmdale Hotel and it was also fantastic - they aren't cheap but are worth every penny and we will be back, only problem is which one!!! Covent Garden Hotel is a five minute walk from Covent Garden and The Charlotte Street is 5 minutes from Oxford Street and Regent Street. You can't go wrong with a Firmdale Hotel if you want a bit of luxury and be near all the tourist spots

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarilynD52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Not your traditional tearoom, but we loved the atmosphere and the dining area. Very open and friendly, it would be a great area to stay in and the hotel looked very nice.

As for the tea ... teapots, tiny sandwiches, little pastries, more than we could consume. For our teen and tween daughters, this was heaven. Champagne was a lovely addition for the majors. Not too busy, not too expensive, not too stuffy. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cabbagerice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Great duplex room with eclectic library and well stocked mini bar.
Staff were attentive in a relaxed and friendly manner.
Since we were celebrating my wife's birthday with friends they were kind enough to provide a private room for after hours celebrations.
Would definitely stay again since location, staff and facilities are all great.

Room Tip: Ask for a 'loft room'
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#16 of 1,077 in London
1,058 reviews
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#18 of 1,077 in London
1,529 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#8 of 1,077 in London
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
Ham Yard Hotel
Ham Yard Hotel
#54 of 1,077 in London
991 reviews
Fitzrovia
Sanderson London Hotel
Sanderson London Hotel
#64 of 1,077 in London
1,923 reviews
Fitzrovia
The London EDITION
The London EDITION
#72 of 1,077 in London
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlotte Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlotte Street Hotel

Address: 15-17 Charlotte Street, London W1T 1RJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in London
#19 Business Hotel in London
#25 Family Hotel in London
#39 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £237 - £682 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Charlotte Street Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charlotte Street Hotel is situated in the media neighbourhood just north of Soho. It is a minute's walk from leafy Soho Square and the theatre district, within easy reach of the financial centre and is surrounded by some of London's best bars, restaurants and cafes. Designer Kit Kemp has used a 'Bloomsbury Group' theme throughout the hotel which features original art from the period and a mural in the brasserie reflecting scenes of 'contemporary London life'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Charlotte Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Street London
Hotel Charlotte Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing