We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely amazing hotel in perfect locatio”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Charlotte Street Hotel
Ranked #34 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing hotel in perfect locatio”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel as a Christmas present whilst in London to watch the bodyguard. 5 minutes walk from Oxford street and 15 minutes walk to the west end. The room was perfect. The most comfortable bed I've ever slept on with a gorgeous bath and super powered shower! It was difficult to get me to leave! The hotel give so many of the little extras like a small box of chocolates with the turn down service and tea or coffee upon check in. However beware they charge £44 for parking which wasn't detailed when I called to ask and most things comes with a 13% service charge. However I would not hesitate to stay in this hotel again

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S10bhan86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    512
    119
    16
    7
    1
See reviews for
97
258
19
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I travel to London on business, at least, four times a year. I do not look forward to these trips, save for the opportunity to be back at the Charlotte Street Hotel. And, what makes my stays there so pleasant is that there is nothing remarkable about the stay! I mean this in the best sense of the expression!!

The hotel is charming in how clever and understated the spaces and rooms are. The food is creative yet familiar. The service understated and present. The location accessible and tucked away. All of this makes for a home to return to after a day of work where I am do not have to play a part in the hotel's scene, I don't have to search for the light switch in and among the design statements, I am not at a loss for a cozy spot to be, I am not trying to figure out what an ingredient is on the menu item I almost recognize.

To me, London's charms are succumbing to the ostentation that has overrun the city. However, at the Charlotte Street, London life finds the right balance.

And, there are those charming striped pencils I always return home with!

Room Tip: While the rooms are slightly smaller, I always prefer the ones on the sides of the building usually...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eduardo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Having sampled a few of the firmdale hotels in London I was yet to try the Charlotte Street. Location is still good although slightly out of the hub of London town but rooms are a good size and a great bar downstairs.

Staff as always were very helpful and friendly, we had a junior suite with great views overlooking Charlotte Street. Had some drinks in the hotel bar and a special cocktail by one of the waiters which was interesting.

Breakfast was good although not as good as some of the other hotels, the restaurant staff were slightly abrupt and I ordered a bacon sandwich which could have done with more than 2 rashers of bacon.

A great hotel in a great location, another firmdale classic.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Markandnige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

My favorite hotel in the world (and I've stayed in dozens) from my favorite hotel group Firmdale Hotels. The regular rooms are smallish but this is London after all and you'll be so charmed by the decor and service you won't mind. The hotel is beautifully executed top to bottom and they've thought of everything- from an honor-system bar with afternoon cupcakes to the little touches in the rooms- so you won't want to leave. Their bar/lounge has a lively happy hour scene and even though the restaurant is expensive but the food is great so if you're the type who likes dinner in their hotel you'll be happy. The best part is after a busy day on bustling London streets, walking through the door of the hotel you suddenly feel transported to a little slice of English country charm in the heart of the city. I like to describe the feel of this place as Urban English Rose.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachelle363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
173 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We were just here for afternoon tea. Lovely ambience in bar/restaurant, good mix of couples, friends, older families. Excellent staff, topped up our tea and sandwiches quickly and willingly. Great warm scones. A lovely afternoon. Tiny quibble - I thought the quality of the cakes didn't quite match the rest. But overall very good.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SussexKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Charlotte St Hotel is one of the many amazing Firmdale properties in London. One of the things I love about this property is its size and great staff. Rooms are comfortable and well decorated. The restaurant (Oscars) has a great breakfast. Housekeeping staff are great. I would definitely recommend this property!

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank 440WorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
90 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

It was our second time to stay at Charlotte Street and it was just as wonderful as the first time. The rooms are so comfortable and luxurious! Our room had a large window which allowed the sun to come though (amazing it was sunny both mornings!). The staff and service were just as wonderful as the first time. This time we had time to go to the bar and it was fantastic. So trendy not pretentious and fantastic speciality cocktails! It will always be our place to stay in London.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Theresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
Sanderson London Hotel
Sanderson London Hotel
#54 of 1,088 in London
1,764 reviews
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#22 of 1,088 in London
1,406 reviews
Fitzrovia
The London EDITION
The London EDITION
#76 of 1,088 in London
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#56 of 1,088 in London
3,074 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#32 of 1,088 in London
2,081 reviews
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#13 of 1,088 in London
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlotte Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlotte Street Hotel

Property: Charlotte Street Hotel
Address: 15-17 Charlotte Street, London W1T 1RJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in London
#19 Romantic Hotel in London
#34 Luxury Hotel in London
#35 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Charlotte Street Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charlotte Street Hotel is situated in the media neighbourhood just north of Soho. It is a minute's walk from leafy Soho Square and the theatre district, within easy reach of the financial centre and is surrounded by some of London's best bars, restaurants and cafes. Designer Kit Kemp has used a 'Bloomsbury Group' theme throughout the hotel which features original art from the period and a mural in the brasserie reflecting scenes of 'contemporary London life'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Charlotte Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Street London
Hotel Charlotte Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing