We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rightly in the top ten”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Charlotte Street Hotel
Ranked #32 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
West Wales
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Rightly in the top ten”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Stayed for 2 nights for my 50th birthday..near my old medical school..which they've knocked down!
This hotel was truly excellent from start to finish.
We had a room upgrade on arrival,a complimentary glass of champagne..taken in a wonderful deep bath.
Tasteful,classy contemporary decoration pervades throughout the hotel and the bar is a really lively one.
The breakfast was a special high quality treat and sipping an Amaretto under a heater outside watching the world go by in the late evening was delightful.
The service was impeccable and I really was made to be welcome and "at home".
Throw in the cool location and you wonder what else you could wish for in a hotel.
If you want a happening,characterful hotel in central London go for this one!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IWIWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    529
    122
    16
    7
    1
See reviews for
104
263
20
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I haven't stayed at all of them (yet) but the Charlotte is my favorite Firmdale property in London. It's a bit out of the way but not too much. Great area for walking around - restaurants and PUBS abound.
The staff is very friendly and really helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Fantastic stay at the hotel for my boyfriend's birthday. We stayed in a Junior Suite and was very impressed with the quality and opulence of the hotel. Breakfast was fantastic. Location superb and all the staff were really friendly. Loved it!

Room Tip: The junior suites were fantastic and very good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyny
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Beautifully maintained, comfortable rooms, small but perfectly adequate gym....Things you don't often see in a boutique hotel...A real pleasure. Excellent breakfast, too. And a good value by London standards....

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jls57300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel as a Christmas present whilst in London to watch the bodyguard. 5 minutes walk from Oxford street and 15 minutes walk to the west end. The room was perfect. The most comfortable bed I've ever slept on with a gorgeous bath and super powered shower! It was difficult to get me to leave! The hotel give so many of the little extras like a small box of chocolates with the turn down service and tea or coffee upon check in. However beware they charge £44 for parking which wasn't detailed when I called to ask and most things comes with a 13% service charge. However I would not hesitate to stay in this hotel again

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S10bhan86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I travel to London on business, at least, four times a year. I do not look forward to these trips, save for the opportunity to be back at the Charlotte Street Hotel. And, what makes my stays there so pleasant is that there is nothing remarkable about the stay! I mean this in the best sense of the expression!!

The hotel is charming in how clever and understated the spaces and rooms are. The food is creative yet familiar. The service understated and present. The location accessible and tucked away. All of this makes for a home to return to after a day of work where I am do not have to play a part in the hotel's scene, I don't have to search for the light switch in and among the design statements, I am not at a loss for a cozy spot to be, I am not trying to figure out what an ingredient is on the menu item I almost recognize.

To me, London's charms are succumbing to the ostentation that has overrun the city. However, at the Charlotte Street, London life finds the right balance.

And, there are those charming striped pencils I always return home with!

Room Tip: While the rooms are slightly smaller, I always prefer the ones on the sides of the building usually...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eduardo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
96 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Having sampled a few of the firmdale hotels in London I was yet to try the Charlotte Street. Location is still good although slightly out of the hub of London town but rooms are a good size and a great bar downstairs.

Staff as always were very helpful and friendly, we had a junior suite with great views overlooking Charlotte Street. Had some drinks in the hotel bar and a special cocktail by one of the waiters which was interesting.

Breakfast was good although not as good as some of the other hotels, the restaurant staff were slightly abrupt and I ordered a bacon sandwich which could have done with more than 2 rashers of bacon.

A great hotel in a great location, another firmdale classic.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Markandnige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
Sanderson London Hotel
Sanderson London Hotel
#55 of 1,067 in London
1,800 reviews
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#21 of 1,067 in London
1,449 reviews
Fitzrovia
The London EDITION
The London EDITION
#72 of 1,067 in London
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#33 of 1,067 in London
2,155 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#54 of 1,067 in London
3,175 reviews
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#13 of 1,067 in London
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlotte Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlotte Street Hotel

Property: Charlotte Street Hotel
Address: 15-17 Charlotte Street, London W1T 1RJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in London
#19 Romantic Hotel in London
#32 Luxury Hotel in London
#35 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Charlotte Street Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charlotte Street Hotel is situated in the media neighbourhood just north of Soho. It is a minute's walk from leafy Soho Square and the theatre district, within easy reach of the financial centre and is surrounded by some of London's best bars, restaurants and cafes. Designer Kit Kemp has used a 'Bloomsbury Group' theme throughout the hotel which features original art from the period and a mural in the brasserie reflecting scenes of 'contemporary London life'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Charlotte Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Street London
Hotel Charlotte Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing