We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dependable Kemp Charm, Style and Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charlotte Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Charlotte Street Hotel
Ranked #33 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Dependable Kemp Charm, Style and Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Comfortable room, excellent, friendly service and a great location. Prompt room service and a lovely restaurant. Room decor is always a fun surprise at a Kemp property, and this room was no exception. Only complaint were the odd faucets that required multiple turns for water and a slow draining sink, but not a showstopper by any means.

Room Tip: Unless you are a heavy sleeper, ask for a room anywhere but above the very active restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OutNextWeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    505
    117
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
94
256
18
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

This hotel has flair! It is well designed, the rooms are fab and the bar and restaurant stylish and fun. We stayted in a suite which is amazing value. A huge room, great mini bar (including things to make a couple have some fun!), tremendous personal service and in a great location. Can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Pay a little more and have a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul-in-Lenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Our decision to stay here was based on a recommendation of a friend and we certainly did not regret it. We wanted to stay somewhere charming and boutiquey in London and Charlotte St. Hotel certainly hit the nail on the head. The location was very nice as it is very central but on a street away from the noise and crowds and allowed you to take in the city without the frustration. We arrived quite early from Asia and our room was not ready, so we decided to drop off our bags and go have breakfast, there is a tube station very close to the hotel so getting around was not an issue.

Our room was very nice, great bathroom with a tub and TV set right above it which allowed for some nice bubble baths. The rooms are small, as is to be expected in London, but it is enough space for my husband and I--only minor complaint was that our small window faced an alley and so not much of a view. We opted for the breakfast as well and thoroughly enjoyed it every morning (except for the morning we checked in as they informed us the breakfast rate would start the next morning and we decided to venture out).

The service at the hotel was great, concierge was very helpful and we enjoyed having tea with some local friends in the fire place room--which was a great way to spend an evening. The hotel also has a outdoor seating area which we very much enjoyed on a sunny day with a drink and snack. The restaurant seems to be a hot spot in the evening and it is a nice place to have a night cap before heading to bed. We were there celebrating a birthday and the hotel gave us a voucher for 2 free drinks for the occasion.

Overall, we enjoyed the hotel and would stay there again upon returning to London.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RamonoS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
Level Contributor
116 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

What can be said of the small firmdale chain? Kemp has an exquisite capacity to combine beauty with comfort and design with efficiency, which is pretty difficult most of the times. The details are simply outstanding
The hotel is a small and wonderful cosy place to stay in, with a beautiful restaurant too, where you feel you are a londoner as it is open to the outside and it is a great place for an aperitivo or a dinne.
Surely one of the best hotels I have stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We were delighted with this hotel from the moment we stopped out of the taxi. Personalised welcome and wonderfully kitsch surroundings. We were up graded to the Penthouse as it was a special anniversary and treated to champagne on arrival. Room service was fantastic and the breakfast superb. Views from the room were great and from the marble bathroom to the linen on the bed, it was all perfect.

Room Tip: Street rooms can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pickelet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

This hotel is surely approaching perfection in a low key fashion, that is perfect in a restrained and understated way. We were given an upgrade to a third floor room that was immaculate. The bathroom was clinically clean. Despite this being a very busy and noisy part of London the room was very quiet. I particularly liked the honesty bar which we had to ourselves even though the bar/restaurant was full. This is a wonderful place to stay and the only downside is you have to leave sometime.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janner37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights, booked a junior suite and were upgraded to a one bedroom suite on arrival always a great start to any hotel visit!!

These guys got it right all the way through our visit, great welcome, great room (400) over looks Charlotte St., used room service a number of times efficient and fast.

Breakfast was excellent both mornings and service very solicitous and appropriate.


Only one small gripe, the cocktail bar at the Charlotte St has an excellent reputation and consequently was so busy/ a little slow both nights we were unable to use it which was a shame.

Other than that an excellent stay and we will definitely be back soon.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jcotta1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
Sanderson London Hotel
Sanderson London Hotel
#52 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,740 reviews
Fitzrovia
The London EDITION
The London EDITION
#78 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#29 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bloomsbury
#57 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,037 reviews
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#18 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,382 reviews
Soho
Ham Yard Hotel
Ham Yard Hotel
#34 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlotte Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlotte Street Hotel

Property: Charlotte Street Hotel
Address: 15-17 Charlotte Street, London W1T 1RJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in London
#19 Business Hotel in London
#33 Luxury Hotel in London
#35 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Charlotte Street Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charlotte Street Hotel is situated in the media neighbourhood just north of Soho. It is a minute's walk from leafy Soho Square and the theatre district, within easy reach of the financial centre and is surrounded by some of London's best bars, restaurants and cafes. Designer Kit Kemp has used a 'Bloomsbury Group' theme throughout the hotel which features original art from the period and a mural in the brasserie reflecting scenes of 'contemporary London life'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Charlotte Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Street London
Hotel Charlotte Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing