We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Charlotte Street Hotel
Ranked #34 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
Reviewed 26 January 2010

Lovely Hotel, excellent breakfast, great beds, great big - huge even - bathroom. If you want to splash some cash.. then this is the hotel. Not fussy but certainly elegant. I wouldn't recommend this hotel for families with young kids... this is they type of hotel where you want to get away from young kids...
Rather expensive though - around £ 300 per night... but oh so worth it !

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kivapierce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    538
    124
    17
    7
    1
See reviews for
107
268
20
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2010

I love boutique hotels and this one does not disappoint. The rooms are charming, with lovely decor and a decent size. The bathrooms are big. The lobby, downstairs restaurant and bar/library are all wonderful. The location is fantastic just steps away from the subway and great restaurants and pubs. We could easily walk to the theater and Regents Park. I love to walk and we easily walked to Buckingham Palace, the giant Ferris Wheel, and even Chelsea.

Our room did not get very cold even though we had the air conditioning on high. I think that is just as good as it gets. But the room was never uncomfortable. The staff was very helpful - we scored great seats to a show that we were told was sold out. I will stay here again. The gym was quite nice too.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReggieF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvenueJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2009

Definitely the nicest boutique hotel in London in one of the nicest neighborhoods. A 3 minute walk to the clubs of Soho and with Regents Park just to the North you can play Jane Austin al the time!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AvenueJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2009

I've stayed here twice on my own, on both occasions it has been totally superb. The first time I stayed I received a warm welcome to the hotel, my room had been upgraded and I was allowed into it slightly early allowing me time to get to a meeting.

I had dinner in the restaurant with a friend, the waiter knew it was the first time I had stayed and offered us a complimentary glass of champagne. Having stayed in alot of varied hotels in London, that kind of attention to detail is rare, well actually I've never had it anywhere else... The food was good, wine list varied. Don't think I can say enough good things about this place, I wanted to move in and now spend most months working out when I can get back down to my favourite hotel.

The area is great too, a quiet pocket but handily great for drinks in soho, shopping and pretty much everything you need in London. Loads of other restaurants nearby too if you don't want to go far.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edinburgh_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2009

I have to say I was completely blown away by this place - admittedly this may partly be due to the fact that I was whisked off here as a surprise for my 30th birthday - but nonetheless the level of service and personal attention was brilliant. We were given a guided tour of the lounge and library area downstairs (love the Honesty Bar!), and then showed to our room where we were brought glasses of complementary champagne. Nice touch. The chap showing us around was friendly, courteous and knowledgeable - pretty much faultless service.
At the risk of rambling on: beautiful room, well kitted out (good hairdryer, plenty of toiletries, robes, massive towels, tv+dvd player, umbrella in case you forgot yours!), delicious cooked breakfast brought to our room, very good air-con, fantastic shower (plus neat steam-proof mirror)...... and the room was so QUIET, which was amazing as Charlotte Street is hardly a sleepy part of town. For those of you not familiar with London, the location of this hotel could hardly be better: it's walking distance from Oxford Street shops, and there are loads of bars and restaurants right outside the hotel; plus there is a tube station just around the corner.
I can't comment on price/value as obviously this stay was a surprise for me - but if you're after something a bit special, then this is your spot.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GT_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egg
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2009

We have stayed in this hotel on 3 occasions. On the 2nd visit there were building works in the lobby, which we were upset about as the stay was to celebrate a special occasion. We explained our situation and were immediately offered an upgraded room in the Soho hotel, another Firmdale gem. Ok, ideally we should have been told about the building when we booked, but as the problem was dealt with so well and quickly we were still impressed. And in addition to the upgrade, we were then offered a complimentary night back at the Charlotte street to be taken any time in the future - brilliant customer service. All the staff we met on each occasion were excellent, nothing too much trouble. On our last visit we were celebrating our 10th anniversary and were given champagne, a beautiful scented candle and even some bath and massage oil.
Breakfast is pricey, but you don't have to take this option and there are a dozen decent coffee bars around where you can have something more reasonable.
The decor is great, rooms small (unless you go for one of the luxury ones) but very nice and very well equipped and a brilliant location for Oxford St, Soho, Theatreland etc. It is an expensive hotel, but you are right in the heart of town and you get what you pay for. We love it and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nonameEgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2009

Just returned from Charlotte Street hotel for my birthday weekend and am very disappointed. It is part of the same group at The Haymarket, and bears no comparison. We stayed at The Haymarket last year and it was just perfect, staff, service, rooms - everything was 100%. Charlotte Street is lacking - at least for the price.
Our room was small, view of some ugly air conditioning units outside, no seperate shower, no tea and coffee making tray - altogether not what we were expecting. The lady on reception asked me if the room was ok - I told her how I was feeling, and then they proceeded to do nothing about it!! WHY ASK???? A small gesture of a bottle of wine in the room - something that would only cost them a fiver - but would have made me feel less disgruntled - that was all it would have taken.
The breakfast - for £19.50 was grim. I had poached eggs and the plate was swimming in water - resulting in wet soggy bread - yuk! We ordered a paper and got the wrong one, and the second breakfast - in the room this time - was cold and totally inedible.
This is not a Travel Lodge for goodness sake - so not what you expect for £225.00 per night.
If you're going to book a london Hotel give this one a miss and try The Haymarket - you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Brenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
The London EDITION
The London EDITION
#70 of 1,069 in London
1,190 reviews
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#19 of 1,069 in London
1,477 reviews
Fitzrovia
Sanderson London Hotel
Sanderson London Hotel
#54 of 1,069 in London
1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#16 of 1,069 in London
1,002 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#56 of 1,069 in London
3,247 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#35 of 1,069 in London
2,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlotte Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlotte Street Hotel

Property: Charlotte Street Hotel
Address: 15-17 Charlotte Street, London W1T 1RJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in London
#19 Business Hotel in London
#34 Luxury Hotel in London
#35 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Charlotte Street Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charlotte Street Hotel is situated in the media neighbourhood just north of Soho. It is a minute's walk from leafy Soho Square and the theatre district, within easy reach of the financial centre and is surrounded by some of London's best bars, restaurants and cafes. Designer Kit Kemp has used a 'Bloomsbury Group' theme throughout the hotel which features original art from the period and a mural in the brasserie reflecting scenes of 'contemporary London life'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Charlotte Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Street London
Hotel Charlotte Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing